How will I know when it's time to renew my license?
The license expiration date is shown on the front of the license. The California Department of Insurance (CDI) e-mails a renewal notice approximately 90 days before your license expires. If, for some reason, you do not receive a renewal notice, you may Check Your License Status online to review your license expiration date and continuing education credits. After reviewing your license status, you can link to CDI's Sircon.com - Renewal and Reinstatement service.
Will I still be able to continue transacting business if my license expires and I haven't received the renewed license?
Yes, provided that CDI has received your renewal fee was received, and the continuing education hours were completed before the expiration date of the license. If these conditions have been met, you may continue operating under the existed license for 60 days or until notified that the renewal application is deficient (Section 1720 of the California Insurance Code).
What if my renewal is late?
A renewal is considered late if the renewal date occurs after the expiration date on the license, or if any license renewal requirement such as the continuing education hours are completed after the expiration date listed on the license. A 50 percent penalty fee is required to late renew the license and all insurance company appointments must be reestablished with the appropriate forms and fees. There is no grace period. You have precisely one calendar year from the expiration date to late renew the license; after which time you must file a new application, appointment (s), fees, and, if required, complete prelicensing education and pass the qualifying examination.
CDI's online renewal service guides the licensee, step-by-step, through the renewal process by asking the same questions that are asked on the paper renewal application. The licensee is able to answer the questions online, update contact information (address, e-mail, etc.) and submit a credit card (American Express, VISA, or MasterCard) or debit card (with a VISA or MasterCard logo) payment. There is no additional charge for the use of this service. Credit and debit card transactions are encrypted and no one but the licensee and his or her credit or debit card company has access to the credit card number. Review the Requirements for Late Renewals link before late renewing your license.
CDI's Sircon.com - Renewal and Reinstatement service is available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who want to renew their licenses after the license expiration date has passed. Additionally, the Sircon.com - Renewal and Reinstatement service is available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who previously used the online renewal service as an on-time renewal but were not able to renew their license because not all of the requirements to renew were met prior to the license expiration date. The Sircon.com - Renewal and Reinstatement service allows these licensees, once their requirements has been met, to complete the renewal of their license by paying the 50 percent late penalty fee.
The Sircon.com - Renewal and Reinstatement service for late renewals is not available to bail agents, who by law must reapply as a new applicant if their license is not renewed prior to the expiration date. Please review the following link for Requirements for Late Renewals.
If my renewal is "late" and I have completed the required continuing education hours, how long does it take to process the "late" renewal?
If you use CDI's Sircon.com - Renewal and Reinstatement service and satisfy all of the renewal requirements, the licensing record is updated on the CDI's Web site and the renewed license can immediately be printed using CDI's Print or Download Your License service.
However, if you choose to use a paper license renewal form (e.g., Application to Renew Individual License, form 448-29A or Application to Renew Business Entity License, form 448-29B), all fees are received and the requirements are met, it takes approximately two to three weeks for the review process to take place, and this estimate can fluctuate based on the workload. As soon as the "late" renewal is processed it will be immediately reflected on CDI's Web site.
*These forms are in PDF format. To view these forms, your browser must have Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer. A free copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded from our Free Document Readers Web site.
Back to Top
General Licensing Information
- Annuity Training
- Certificate of License Status
- Continuing Education
- Duplicate License
- License Changes
- Licensing Fees
- Long-Term Care
- Prelicensing Education Certificate of Completion
- Variable Contract Authority
If you need further assistance, please call the California Department of Insurance's (CDI) Producer Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331 or send an e-mail to Producer Licensing Bureau.