Menu
Contact Us Search
CA Department of Insurance

Late Renewals

Are you renewing your license after the expiration date?

The California Department of Insurance is providing procedures to assist you on how to renew an expired license.

Choose from the following:

California Resident Individual Licensee

A renewal is considered late if all renewal requirements are not met on or before the expiration date of a license. An expired license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date. However, the licensee cannot transact insurance business until the license is renewed.

NEW! CDI's Online Renewal Service is now available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who want to renew their licenses after the license expiration date has passed.  Additionally, the Online Renewal Service is available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who previously used the online renewal service as an on-time renewal but were not able to renew their license because not all of the requirements to renew were met prior to the license expiration date.  The Online Renewal Service now allows these licensees, once their requirements has been met, to complete the renewal of their license by paying the 50 percent late penalty fee.

The Online Renewal Service for late renewals is not available to bail agents, who by law must reapply as a new applicant if their license is not renewed prior to the expiration date.  Please review the following link for Requirements for Late Renewals.

To submit a paper renewal, use the Application to Renew Individual License form LIC 448-29A and complete the following steps:

  • Complete all continuing education requirements (if applicable).
  • Answer the two questions stated on the renewal application.
  • Pay the original renewal fee  plus a 50 percent penalty fee.
  • Submit the completed and signed renewal application to the following address: California Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 311, Sacramento, CA 95812-0311.

In addition, individuals may, for good cause shown, request an exemption to the electronic filing requirements.  Such requests may be made by contacting the Toll-Free Producer Licensing Hotline (800) 967-9331.  These requests should be made several weeks prior to the license expiration date to ensure a timely renewal.

The licensee is not authorized to transact insurance business until after the license has been renewed.

Appointments

If a license is renewed after the expiration date, all insurance company appointments are cancelled. The appointments are not required to renew the license, but are required prior to transacting insurance business for an insurance company.

Renewing the License One Year after the License Expired

  • A license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date of the license. After one year, a new application will have to be filed. To apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and nonresident applicants. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, you may select the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application.
  • The Requirements link describes all of the necessary qualifications, requirements, fees, and form numbers for those license classes issued by the CDI.

Back to Top


Individual Nonresident licensee

A renewal is considered late if all renewal requirements are not met on or before the expiration date of a license. An expired license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date.  However, the nonresident licensee cannot transact insurance business until after the license is renewed.

NEW! CDI's Online Renewal Service is now available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who want to renew their licenses after the license expiration date has passed.  Additionally, the Online Renewal Service is available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who previously used the online renewal service as an on-time renewal but were not able to renew their license because not all of the requirements to renew were met prior to the license expiration date.  The Online Renewal Service now allows these licensees, once their requirements has been met, to complete the renewal of their license by paying the 50 percent late penalty fee.

The Online Renewal Service for late renewals is not available to bail agents, who by law must reapply as a new applicant if their license is not renewed prior to the expiration date.  Please review the following link for Requirements for Late Renewals.

To submit a paper renewal, use the Application to Renew Individual License form LIC 448-29A and complete the following steps:

  • Answer the two questions stated on the renewal application.
  • Pay the original renewal fee  plus a 50 percent penalty fee.
  • Submit the completed and signed renewal application to the following address: California Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 311, Sacramento, CA 95812-0311.

In addition, individuals may, for good cause shown, request an exemption to the electronic filing requirements.  Such requests may be made by contacting the Toll-Free Producer Licensing Hotline (800) 967-9331.  These requests should be made several weeks prior to the license expiration date to ensure a timely renewal.

The licensee is not authorized to transact insurance business until after the license has been renewed.

Appointments

If a license is renewed after the license expiration date, all insurance company appointments are cancelled. The appointments are not required to renew the license, but are required prior to transacting insurance business for an insurance company.

Renewing the License One Year after the License Expired

  • A license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date of the license. After one year, a new application will have to be filed. To apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and nonresident applicants. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, you may select the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application.
  • The Requirements link describes all of the necessary qualifications, requirements, fees, and form numbers for those license classes issued by the CDI.

Back to Top



California Resident Business Entity Licensee

A renewal is considered late if all renewal requirements are not met on or before the expiration date of a license. An expired license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date. However, the business entity licensee cannot transact insurance business until after the license is renewed.

NEW! CDI's Online Renewal Service is now available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who want to renew their licenses after the license expiration date has passed.  Additionally, the Online Renewal Service is available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who previously used the online renewal service as an on-time renewal but were not able to renew their license because not all of the requirements to renew were met prior to the license expiration date.  The Online Renewal Service now allows these licensees, once their requirements has been met, to complete the renewal of their license by paying the 50 percent late penalty fee.

The Online Renewal Service for late renewals is not available to bail agents, who by law must reapply as a new applicant if their license is not renewed prior to the expiration date.  Please review the following link for Requirements for Late Renewals.

To submit a paper renewal, use the Application to Renew Business Entity License form LIC 448-29B and complete the following steps.

  • Answer the two questions stated on the renewal form.
  • Pay the original renewal fee plus a 50 percent penalty fee.
  • Submit the completed and signed renewal notice to the following address: California Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 311, Sacramento, CA 95812-0311.

Business Entities may, for good cause shown, request an exemption to the electronic filing requirements.  Such requests may be made by contacting the Toll-Free Producer Licensing Hotline (800) 967-9331.  These requests should be made several weeks prior to the license expiration date to ensure a timely renewal.

The licensees are not authorized to transact insurance business until after their license has been renewed.

Appointments

If a license is renewed after the expiration date, all insurance company appointments are cancelled. The appointment(s) are not required to renew the license, but are required prior to transacting insurance business for an insurance company.

Renewing the License One Year after the License Expired

  • A license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date of the license. After one year, a new application will have to be filed.  To apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Business Entity Application for Insurance License form LIC 441-11.  This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online.  
  • The Requirements link describes all of the necessary qualifications, requirements, fees, and form numbers for those license classes issued by the CDI.

Back to Top


Nonresident Business Entity Licensee

A renewal is considered late if all renewal requirements are not met on or before the expiration date of a license. An expired license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date. However, the licensee cannot transact insurance business until after the license is renewed.

NEW! CDI's Online Renewal Service is now available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who want to renew their licenses after the license expiration date has passed.  Additionally, the Online Renewal Service is available to insurance agents, brokers, and adjusters who previously used the online renewal service as an on-time renewal but were not able to renew their license because not all of the requirements to renew were met prior to the license expiration date.  The Online Renewal Service now allows these licensees, once their requirements has been met, to complete the renewal of their license by paying the 50 percent late penalty fee.

The Online Renewal Service for late renewals is not available to bail agents, who by law must reapply as a new applicant if their license is not renewed prior to the expiration date.  Please review the following link for Requirements for Late Renewals.

To submit a paper renewal, use the Application to Renew Individual License form LIC 448-29A and complete the following steps:

  • Answer the two questions stated on the renewal application.
  • Pay the original renewal fee  plus a 50 percent penalty fee.
  • Submit the completed and signed renewal application to the following address: California Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 311, Sacramento, CA 95812-0311.

Business Entities may, for good cause shown, request an exemption to the electronic filing requirements.  Such requests may be made by contacting the Toll-Free Producer Licensing Hotline (800) 967-9331.  These requests should be made several weeks prior to the license expiration date to ensure a timely renewal.

The licensee is not authorized to transact insurance business until after the license has been renewed.

Appointments

If a license is renewed after the expiration date, all insurance company appointments are cancelled. The appointment(s) are not required to renew the license, but are required prior to transacting insurance business for an insurance company.
 
Renewing the License One Year after the License Expired
 
  • A license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date of the license. After one year, a new application will have to be filed.  To apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Business Entity Application for Insurance License form LIC 441-11.  This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online.  
  • The Requirements link describes all of the necessary qualifications, requirements, fees, and form numbers for those license classes issued by the CDI.


 
If you have any questions about this form or the license information you retrieved, please see the most commonly asked questions in our License Questions and Answers section. If you need further assistance, please call CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331. The Call Center is available Monday through Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., excluding State Holidays. You may also send an e-mail to Producer Licensing Bureau. Please be sure to include your name, telephone number, license number and e-mail address in all correspondence with the CDI.

Back to Top

 

Font Size: Translate: Español