- Application for Insurance License, form LIC 441-9.
Application for Business Entity License, form LIC 441-11
Candidate Information Bulletin
Section 1848 of the California Insurance Code (CIC) reads, in part:
A Life and Disability Insurance Analyst is a person who, for a fee or compensation of any kind, paid by or derived from any person or source other than an insurer, advises, purports to advise, or offers to advise any person insured under, named as beneficiary of, or having any interest in, a life or disability insurance contract, in any manner concerning that contract or his or her rights in respect thereto.
- Minimum Age: 23 years.
- Residency: California residency is required.
- Prelicensing Experience/Education: Section 1849 of the CIC was amended to clarify the eligibility requirements to qualify for the life and disability insurance analyst license. Specifically, to qualify to apply for this license, individuals must be licensed as both a life-only (LO) and accident and health (AH) licensee for five years prior to taking the qualifying examination.
- Continuing Education: Not required.
- Entity Types: Individual or Business Entity.
- Application: Application for Insurance License, form LIC 441-9.
- Fingerprint Impressions: Fingerprint impressions are required for unlicensed applicants. If an examination is required, fingerprint impressions may be taken at the California examination sites.
Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.
Back to Top
- License Filing - two year term: $426 (effective 6/15/2013 this fee will be $468).
- Examination: $105 (effective 6/15/2013 this fee will be $116) examination fee is paid at the time the license examination is scheduled. Please do not include the examination fee when you are submitting your life and disability insurance analyst application to CDI. The examination fee is to be paid when the examination is scheduled using PSI's examination services http://cdicms.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0010-producer-online-services/0200-exam-info/index.cfm.
- Fingerprint requirements: Review fingerprint processing link for fees.
- Renewal - two year term: $426 (effective 6/15/2013 this fee will be $468).
The applicant must pass the written examination prepared and administered by the Department.
Although the Department does not recommend any particular text, method or course of study, listed below is a study guide to assist in the preparation for the examination.
1) The life and disability laws of this state are contained in the California Insurance Code. Those sections on which an applicant might be tested are:
General Provisions Sections 1 - 46
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 1 Sections 100 - 123
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 2, Article 1 Sections 150 - 151
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 2, Article 3 Sections 250 - 252
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 2, Article 4 Sections 280 - 287
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 2, Article 5 Sections 300 - 305
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 3, Article 1 Sections 330 - 339
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 3, Article 2 Sections 350 - 361
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 4, Article 1 Sections 380 - 393
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 4, Article 3 Section 430
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 4, Article 4 Sections 440 - 449
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 4, Article 5 Section 460
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 5 Sections 480 - 489
Division 1, Part 1, Chapter 6, Article 3 Sections 550 - 557.5
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 1, Article 1 Section 680
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 1, Article 3 Sections 669 - 726
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 1, Article 5 Sections 750 - 767
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 1, Article 5.5 Sections 770 - 776
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 1, Article 5.7 Sections 777.1 - 777.3
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 1, Article 6 Sections 780 - 784
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 1, Article 6.5 Sections 790 - 790.10
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 1, Article 7.5 Sections 815 - 816
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 2, Article 5 Sections 1220 - 1221
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 4, Article 2 Sections 1580 - 1599
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 5 Sections 1621 - 1758.5
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 5A Sections 1759 - 1759.10
Division 1, Part 2, Chapter 8 Sections 1831 - 1849
Division 2, Part 2, Chapters 1-13 Sections 10110 - 11533
Division 2, Part 6.1 Sections 12670 - 12691
Division 3 Chapters 1 and 2 Sections 12900 - 12977
2) The provisions, terms and conditions of a life and disability insurance contract that might be tested are, but not limited to, the following:
Assignments of Transfers
Additionally, the applicants are expected to be thoroughly familiar with the types of contracts being issued in this state, including, but not necessarily limited to:
Limited Payment Life
Modified and Graded Premium
Level Term Life
Increasing Term Life
Decreasing Term Life
Re-entry Term Life
Basic Hospital Expense
Basic Medical-Surgical Expense
Basic Hospital and Medical-Surgical Expense
Hospital Confinement Indemnity
Major Medical Expense
Comprehensive Major Medical Expense
Disability Income Protection
3) A thorough and complete knowledge of life and disability insurance may include:
Back to Top
a. Application and consequences of various policies.
b. Applications and consequences of federal and estate taxes.
c. Interrelationship with other investment vehicles.
d. Interrelationship with other regulatory agencies including, but not limited to SEC, RIA, etc.
e. Interrelationship with contract, business, probate and investment laws in California.
f. Insurance company's financial and organization analysis.
g. Rate calculations and risk transfer.
Business Entity Application:
- Corporation, partnership, nonprofit corporation or unincorporated association applicants must submit the Application for Business Entity License, form LIC 441-11.
- Application for insurance license, form LIC 441-9, and Business Entity Endorsement, form LIC 411-8A, must be completed by each natural person who does not hold active California Life-Only and Accident and Health licenses (individual filing requirements must be met). Endorsees can be named on the Business Entity Application, during the initial business entity application filing.
- Business Entity Endorsement, form LIC 411-8A, must be completed for each natural person who holds active California Life-Only and Accident and Health licenses.
Fees - Business Entity
Fees are not required for the business entity license. Each natural person named on the business entity must pay individual fees.
- License filing - two year term: $426 (effective 6/15/2013 this fee will be $468).
- Renewal Fee - two year term: $426 (effective 6/15/2013 this fee will be $468).
Note: Natural persons filing form LIC 441-9, refer to individual filing fees.
Back to Top
Pursuant to Section 1630 of the California Insurance Code, licenses are issued for two year terms. Specifically, the term of the first license begins the date the license is issued and expires the last day of that same calendar month two years later. Any additional licenses issued at a later date will expire at the same time as the initial license.
Notice - Changes to License Renewals
Notice - Changes in Licensing Laws for 2010
Individual Life and Disability Insurance Analysts must submit their renewal filings to CDI electronically.
The California Department of Insurance (CDI) discontinued mailing renewal notices to individuals and business entities licensed through CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau. CDI now emails licensees a renewal notification to their email address on record. The email notification includes the license number, license term, license type, and information regarding any continuing education requirements. You can update your email address using CDI's Online Address Change service.
Individuals who do not receive the email notification must still renew their license online by following the prompts on CDI's Online Renewal Service at the following website link: Free Application Online Renewal Service (FLRS). Business Entities licensed as Life and Disability Insurance Analysts will continue to renew with form LIC 448-29B.
Note: You cannot use the online renewal service for a late renewal.
All licensees that renew their licenses late will be required to pay a 50 percent penalty fee. "Late" is defined as any renewal for which the requirements to renew are not met until after the expiration date of the previous license term. Use this link Late Renewal - What To Do to find out how to late renew your license.
Back to Top
Federal law (Title 18 United States Code Section 1033) prohibits anyone who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust from conducting the business of insurance unless they have obtained the written consent of the Insurance Commissioner. It is a violation of this statute to conduct business of insurance without the Commissioners written consent. If you have been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust then you must attach a copy of this consent. If you have not obtained this written consent you must do so by filing a 1033 Short Form Application for Written Consent prior to filing your application.
The following persons are exempt from the requirements of this license:
- a. Active members of the State Bar of California.
- b. Any person who has passed all of the qualifying examinations necessary to become an Associate of the Society of Actuaries.
- c. An officer or employee of any bank or trust company who receives no compensation from sources other than the bank or trust company for activities connected with his employment which would otherwise subject him to licensing requirements.
- d. Any person employed by an employer who on behalf of his or her employer or any employee of his or her employer transacts life or disability insurance with, but not on behalf of, an insurer; or advises his or her employer or any employee of his or her employer in any manner concerning life or disability insurance; if:
• the employer receives no compensation by reason of such transactions or advice; and
• such person receives no compensation from any source other than his or her employer for such transactions or advice.
- e. An investment advisor, as defined in Section 25009 of the Corporations Code, when acting in that capacity.
Note: An employee or officer of any insurer is not eligible for a license as a Life and Disability Insurance Analyst.
To obtain insurance licensing forms by mail, send an e-mail request to: Producer Licensing Bureau.
To obtain insurance licensing information, you may phone the Producer Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331.
All fees mailed to the Department must be addressed to:
Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139
All filing fees are not refundable, whether or not the application is acted upon or an examination is taken.
LIC 765A (Rev. 04/2013)
Back to Top