How will I know when it's time to renew my license?
The license expiration date is shown on the front of the license. The California Department of Insurance (CDI) e-mails a renewal notice about 90 days before your license expires. If, for some reason, you do not receive a renewal notice, you may Check Your License Status online to review your license expiration date and continuing education credits. After reviewing your license status, you would renew your license online by going to our Free Application Online Renewal Service.
Note: you cannot complete a late renewal online at this time.
Will I still be able to continue transacting business if my license expires and I haven't received the renewed license?
If the renewal fee was received, and the continuing education hours were completed before the expiration date of the license, you may continue operating under the existing license for 60 days or until notified that the renewal application is deficient (Insurance Code Section §1720).
What if my renewal is late?
A renewal is late if it is postmarked after the expiration date, or if the continuing education hours are completed after the expiration date. A 50% penalty fee is required to late renew the license and all appointments, must be reestablished with the appropriate forms and fees. There is no grace period. You have one year from the expiration date to late renew the license; after which time you must file a new application, appointment (s), fees, pre-licensing certificates and pass the qualifying examination.
If my renewal is "late" and I have completed the required continuing education hours, how long does it take to process the "late" renewal?
Once all fees are received and the requirements are met, it takes "approximately" two to three weeks for the review process to take place -- and this estimate can fluctuate based on the workload. As soon as the "late" renewal is processed, it will be immediately reflected on our Web site.
*These forms are in PDF format. To view these forms, your browser must have Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer. A free copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded from our Free Document Readers webpage.
General Licensing Information
- Annuity Training
- Certificate of License Status
- Continuing Education
- Duplicate License
- License Changes
- Licensing Fees
- Long-Term Care
- Prelicensing Education Certificate of Completion
- Variable Contract Authority
If you need further assistance, please call the California Department of Insurance's (CDI) Producer Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331 or send an e-mail to Producer Licensing Bureau.