Part Time Fraternal Agent
*These forms are in PDF format. You will need to have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer to view these forms. For information about obtaining a free copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader please view our Free Document Readers page.
Sections 11101-11103 of the California Insurance Code read, in part:
A Part Time Fraternal license holder is a person who is affiliated with a fraternal benefit society or association, selling the society's or association's insurance to the membership on a "substantially less than full- time basis", which is interpreted as 20 hours or less per week.
- Minimum Age: 18 years
- Residency: California residency is required
- Prelicensing Experience/Education: Not required
- Continuing Education: Not required
- Entity Type: Individual Only
- Application: Application for Insurance License, form LIC 441-9.
- Examination: Not required
- Fingerprint Requirements: Fingerprint impressions are required for unlicensed applicants.
Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.
A Part Time Fraternal Agent is no longer required to have an appointment to have the license issued. Upon application approval the license can be downloaded or printed by using the CDI's Print or Download Your License online service. However, the licensee may not transact, solicit, or negotiate the sale of insurance until an Action Notice of Appointment is filed. Pursuant to Section 2190.22 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations, the Action Notice of Appointment must be submitted electronically. To submit appointments electronically contact the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) and its authorized business partners for a list of approved partners.
- License filing - two year term: $154 (effective March1, 2015 this fee will be $170).
- Fingerprint Processing: Review fingerprint requirements link for fees.
- Renewal - two year term: $154 (effective March1, 2015 this fee will be $170).
Pursuant to Section 1630 of the California Insurance Code, licenses are issued for two year terms. Specifically, the term of the first license begins the date the license is issued and expires the last day of that same calendar month two years later. Any additional licenses issued at a later date will expire at the same time as the initial license.
Renewal of License:
Note: Part Time Fraternal Agents must submit their renewal filings to CDI electronically.
The California Department of Insurance (CDI) discontinued mailing renewal notices to individuals licensed through CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau. CDI now emails licensees a renewal notification to their email address on record. The email notification includes the license number, license term, license type, and information regarding any continuing education requirements. You can update your e-mail address using CDI's Online Address Change service.
Individuals who do not receive the email notification must still renew their license online by following the prompts on CDI's Online Renewal Service at the following website link: Free Application Online Renewal Service (FLRS).
Note: You cannot use the online renewal service for a late renewal at this time.
Any licensees that renew their licenses late will be required to pay a 50 percent penalty fee and file new company appointment(s). (Appointment(s) can be filed after license is renewed). "Late" is defined as any renewal for which the requirements to renew are not met until after the expiration date of the previous license term. Use this link Late Renewal - What To Do to find out how to late renew your license.
Federal law (Title 18 United States Code Section 1033) prohibits anyone who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust from conducting the business of insurance unless they have obtained the written consent of the Insurance Commissioner. It is a violation of this statute to conduct business of insurance without the Commissioners written consent. If you have been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust then you must attach a copy of this consent. If you have not obtained this written consent you must do so by filing a 1033 Short Form Application for Written Consent prior to filing your application.
If the licensee is terminated by the fraternal society or association, the license is automatically canceled and must be returned.
A licensee may not be appointed by more than ONE fraternal society or association at the same time.
To change from a Part Time Fraternal license to a full time Life-Only Agent and Accident and Health Agent (formally known as Life Agent) the following is required:
- Application for Insurance License, form LIC 441-9.
- Complete an approved 40-hour prelicensing classroom course or a 20 hour prelicensing classroom course for Life-Only and a 20 hour prelicensing classroom course for Accident and Health and take the life agent exam, and complete an approved 12-hour prelicensing classroom course on ethics and the California Insurance Code.
- Schedule and pass examination. This link will provide you with information on how to schedule your examination: Insurance License Examination Information.
To obtain insurance licensing forms by mail, send an e-mail request to: Producer Licensing Bureau.
To obtain insurance licensing information, you may phone the Producer Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331.
All fees mailed to the Department must be addressed to:
Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139
All filing fees submitted are not refundable, whether or not the application is acted upon or an examination taken.
LIC 665A (Rev. 04/2013)