Commissioner approves new program to streamline licensing process for independent insurance adjusters
News: 2018 Press Release
SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones announced today he has approved a Universal Claims Certification (UCC) program from Claims and Litigation Management Alliance (CLM) designed to streamline the licensing process for independent insurance adjusters.
The UCC makes the process of licensing independent insurance adjusters who wish to acquire and manage their independent insurance adjuster licenses in multiple states more efficient. The UCC does not replace an independent insurance adjuster license, but makes the process of securing a license more efficient. Both licensed and unlicensed individuals can acquire a UCC. However, unlicensed individuals must first go through an intensive training by completing a 40-hour online pre-certification education program and successfully pass an examination to earn the UCC.
"As Insurance Commissioner, one of my top priorities is making sure California's insurance market is healthy and vibrant," said Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones. "The Universal Claims Certification process is designed to streamline the independent insurance adjuster licensing process and reduce costs. Also, the UCC program sets requirements for licensees that exceed the requirements under current California law, meaning it requires licensees to complete more continuing education, which greatly benefits the independent insurance adjusters and consumers. When this program was filed, my department worked to expedite approval so independent insurance adjusters would benefit from the efficiency the UCC is designed to provide. I encourage more organizations to develop innovative programs and business models, like this one, to better serve the needs of the California insurance market."
Currently, independent insurance adjuster applicants are not required to complete any prelicensing education. California's applicants are only required to take and pass the independent insurance adjuster license examination and meet the license requirements to receive an independent insurance adjuster license. For a licensee to maintain the UCC, the independent insurance adjusters must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years including five hours of insurance law and ethics. The UCC program's insurance law and ethics requirement exceeds California's required three hours of law and ethics that is a part of and not in addition to the 24-hour continuing education requirement.
Once independent insurance adjusters acquire the UCC, they will be able to more quickly obtain a license in the states where the UCC is currently approved, including Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Texas, and now California. This will allow out-of-state adjusters to be more readily available when a natural disaster occurs.
"For years, the CLM membership has complained of the tedious state-by-state adjuster licensing process. We first worked to tackle the process of managing multiple licenses with our Tracker product, then we started to work with various states to actually change the licensing process," says CLM Founder and former CEO Adam Potter. "It's exciting to see this work come to life as we launch the UCC."
CLM is an insurance industry association with more than 45,000 members that focuses on education and resources. CLM offers over 300 live courses, events and conferences annually.
Led by Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara, the California Department of Insurance is the consumer protection agency for the nation's largest insurance marketplace and safeguards all of the state’s consumers by fairly regulating the insurance industry. Under the Commissioner’s direction, the Department uses its authority to protect Californians from insurance rates that are excessive, inadequate, or unfairly discriminatory, oversee insurer solvency to pay claims, set standards for agents and broker licensing, perform market conduct reviews of insurance companies, resolve consumer complaints, and investigate and prosecute insurance fraud. Consumers are urged to call 1-800-927-4357 with any questions or contact us at www.insurance.ca.gov via webform or online chat. Non-media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800-927-4357. Teletypewriter (TTY), please dial 800-482-4833.