Application Procedures Individual Non-Residents
As of January 1, 2017 California is now reciprocal with other states for non-resident licensing of public insurance adjusters. Consequently, non-resident applicants are no longer required to take the qualifying exam. Additionally, non-residents are not required to complete the new 20-hour prelicensing education requirement and continue to be exempt from completing the 24-hour CE course required of California residents.
Please follow the steps noted below to complete an application:
Step 1 - Fingerprint impressions are required for unlicensed applicants and can be submitted at any time prior to submitting the license application. Unlike insurance producer applicants, non-resident public insurance adjuster applicants must be fingerprinted regardless of whether they were fingerprinted in their resident state. Refer to our non-resident fingerprint page for instructions.
Step 2 - 1033 Application for Written Consent - Any person who has been convicted of felony crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust in a state or federal jurisdiction, or who has been convicted of any violation of Title 18 U.S.C. Section 1033 (the "Act"), must first obtain the written consent of the Commissioner prior to engaging or continuing to engage in the business of insurance in California.
Step 3 – Application: Apply for a public insurance adjuster license using the Individual Application – Public Adjuster and Apprentice License, form CDI-180.
Step 4 - Fees: License two year filing fee: $240.
All filing fees submitted are not refundable, whether or not the application is acted upon or an exam taken. (Section 1751.5 of the California Insurance Code)
Step 5 - Bond: Complete a Bond of Public Insurance Adjuster, form LIC 94A in the penal sum of $20,000, by a California admitted surety, in the name of the applicant and signed by the applicant authorizing the person to act as a public insurance adjuster.
Step 7 - Contract:
Pursuant to Section 15027 of the California Insurance Code (CIC), no licensee shall, directly or indirectly, act within this state as a public insurance adjuster without having first entered into a business contract, in writing, on a form approved by the insurance commissioner and executed in duplicate by the public adjuster and the insured or a duly authorized representative. One original contract shall be kept on file by the licensee, available at all times for inspection, without notice, by the commissioner or his or her duly authorized representative, and one original contract shall be given to the insured.
CDI has provided a sample contract for Public Insurance Adjusters to follow when developing their business contract. Please submit a new or revised business contract to the following address: California Department of Insurance, Attention: Adjuster Unit; 320 Capitol Mall, Sacramento, CA 95814. Using the sample contract will satisfy the requirements of Section 15027 of the CIC although the applicant or licensee is not required to use the sample contract. However, all contract forms must meet the requirements of CIC Section 15027 and must be approved by the CDI's legal division prior to use. Consequently, following the sample contract should expedite the approval process.
Note: Pursuant to Section 15027(v) of the CIC prior to the signing of the contract, the licensee shall provide the insured with a separate printed disclosure document that bears the name and license number of the licensee.
Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.
For specific questions regarding this license type, please e-mail the Producer Licensing Bureau at Producer Licensing Bureau E-Mail or call the CDI's Licensing Hotline at (800) 967-9331. Please be sure to include your name, telephone number, license number and e-mail address in all correspondence with the CDI.