Rescheduling & Retaking the Examination
License Examinations [Pursuant to Article 7, Sections 1675 through 1683 of the California Insurance Code]
1. You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment without forfeiting your fee if the scheduled examination is cancelled at least 48 hours before the scheduled examination date. For example, for a Monday appointment scheduled for 8 a.m., the cancellation needs to be submitted on the previous Saturday before 4 p.m.
To reschedule an examination you must use PSI's Examination Scheduling Service, or you may call PSI at (800) 733-9267 to speak with a Customer Service Representative. Please note that you may also use the automated system, using a touch-tone phone, 24 hours a day in order to cancel and reschedule your appointment.
Note: A voice mail message or email is not an acceptable form of cancellation. Please use the Internet, automated telephone system, or call PSI and speak to a Customer Service Representative.
2.An applicant who fails to appear at the examination site on the scheduled examination date must also use PSI's Examination Scheduling Service to reschedule an examination at CDI's examination sites or PSI's test centers. A rescheduling examination fee will be charged.
Failed ExaminationAn applicant who fails the examination site on the scheduled examination date must use PSI's Examination Scheduling Service to reschedule an examination at CDI's examination sites or PSI's test centers. A rescheduling examination fee will be charged.
Per Section 1681.5(b) of the California Insurance Code, willfully cheating or subverting a license examination is punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed one year.
If you have examination scheduling questions, please call PSI at (877) 392-6422 to speak with a Consumer Service Representative Monday through Friday between 4:30 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. and Saturday, between 8:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m., Pacific Time.