Menu
Contact Us Search
CA Department of Insurance

Surplus Line Broker

Licensing Information

Surplus Lines FAQ's

Applicable Forms

Individual Surplus Line Broker

  • Apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and non-resident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, you can use the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application
  • Surplus Line and/or Special Lines' Surplus Line Broker Certification, form LIC-050.
  • Bond of Surplus Line Broker, form LIC 447-31, if applicable (see "Bond" note below).

Business Entity Surplus Line License

  • Application for Business Entity license, form LIC 441-11.
  • Bond of Surplus Line Broker, form LIC 447-31.
  • Surplus Line and/or Special Lines' Surplus Line Broker Certification, form LIC-050.

Table of Contents


Authorizing Act:

Section 1761 of the California Insurance Code reads, in part:

A Surplus Line Broker is a person who places insurance with non-admitted insurers, covering risks other than aircraft and certain marine and transportation risks.


Qualifications

  • Minimum Age: 18 years
  • Residency: California residency is not required.
  • Experience: Must hold a Property Broker-Agent and a Casualty Broker-Agent (resident and nonresidents) and a Surplus Line Broker license in resident state (nonresidents).
  • Entity Types: Individual and Business Entity


Filing Requirements: Individual - Residents

  • Application: Apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here FLASH) for both resident and non-resident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, use the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application
  • Surplus Line and/or Special Lines' Surplus Line Certification, form LIC-050 is to be used to declare that the broker will be submitting a Surplus Line Broker $50,000 bond or that the broker will be transacting on behalf of a business entity or both.
  • Bond: Surplus line brokers who are only transacting on behalf of a licensed surplus line broker business entity are not required to file a $50,000 surplus line broker bond. All other surplus line brokers must comply with the $50,000 bond requirement.
  • A Bond of Surplus Line Broker, form LIC 447-31, in the penal sum of $50,000 executed in California, by a California admitted surety and accompanied by a jurat and a power of attorney for the attorney in-fact executing bond; completed in the name of the applicant and signed by the applicant.
  • Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.

Fees -Individual Residents:

  • License filing - two year term: $534, the fee for an individual surplus line broker who only transacts on behalf of a surplus line broker business entity. 
  • License filing - two year term: $1,070, the fee for an individual surplus line broker that has a $50,000 bond on file.
  • Renewal fee - two year term: $534, the fee for an individual surplus line broker who only transacts on behalf of a surplus line broker business entity. 
  • Renewal fee - two year term: $1,070, the fee for an individual surplus line broker that has a $50,000 bond on file.

Note: Applicants applying for both Surplus Line Broker and Special Lines' Surplus Line Broker need only submit one filing fee.


Filing Requirements: Business Entity - Residents
  • Application: Any legal entity, other than an individual, may qualify for a business entity license. Applicants must submit the Application for Business Entity license, form LIC 441-11.
  • Bond: A Bond of Surplus Line Broker, form LIC 447-31, in the penal sum of $50,000 executed in California, by a California admitted surety and accompanied by a jurat and a power of attorney for the attorney in-fact executing bond; completed in the name of the business entity and signed by an officer or partner.
  • Natural Person Named On Business Entity:  Apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and nonresident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an individual application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, use the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application. (individual filing requirements must be met). Note: We do not require a bond issued in the name of the natural person(s) named under the business entity.

Note: Pursuant to Section 1656 of the California Insurance Code the business entity must have at least one California resident endorsee for each license class to establish, maintain and renew the business entity license.

Fees: Business Entity - Residents:

  • License filing: - two year term: $1,070 the fee for a surplus line broker business entity license. 
  • Renewal Fee: - two year term: $1,070 the fee for a surplus line broker business entity renewal. 

Note: Applicants applying for both Surplus Line Broker and Special Lines' Surplus Line Broker need only submit one filing fee.

Return to Table of Contents 


Filing Requirements: Individual - Non-Residents

  • Application: Apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and nonresident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, you may select the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application.
  • Surplus Line and/or Special Lines' Surplus Line Certification, form LIC-050 is to be used to declare that the broker will be submitting a $50,000 bond or that the broker will be transacting on behalf a business entity or both.
  • Bond: Surplus line brokers who are only transacting on behalf of a licensed surplus line broker business entity will not be required to file a $50,000 surplus line broker bond. All other surplus line brokers must still comply with the $50,000 bond requirement.
  • A Bond of Surplus Line Broker, form LIC 447-31, in the penal sum of $50,000 executed in California, by a California admitted surety and accompanied by a jurat and a power of attorney for attorney in-fact executing bond; completed in the name of the applicant and signed by the applicant.
  • Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.

Fees: Individual Non-Residents:

  • License filing - two year term: $534 the fee for an individual surplus line broker who only transacts on behalf of a surplus line broker business entity.
  • License filing - two year term: $1,070 the fee for an individual surplus line broker that has a $50,000 bond on file.
  • Renewal fee - two year term: $534 the fee for an individual surplus line broker who only transacts on behalf of a surplus line broker business entity.
  • Renewal fee - two year term: $1,070 the fee for an individual surplus line broker that has a $50,000 bond on file.

Filing Requirements: Business Entity - Non-Resident Application:

  • Any legal entity, other than an individual, may qualify for a business entity license. Applicants must submit the Application for Business Entity license form LIC 441-11.
  • Bond: A Bond of Surplus Line Broker, form LIC 447-31, in the penal sum of $50,000 executed in California, by a California admitted surety and accompanied by a jurat and power of attorney for attorney in-fact executing bond; completed in the name of the applicant and signed by the applicant.
  • Natural Person Named On Business Entity: Apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and non-resident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an individual application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, use the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application. (individual filing requirements must be met). Note: We do not require a bond issued in the name of the natural persons named under the business entity.

Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.

Fees: Business Entity - Non-residents:

  • License Filing - two year term: $1,070 the fee for a non-resident surplus line broker business entity license.
  • Renewal Fee: - two year term: $1,070 the fee for a non-resident surplus line broker business entity renewal. 

Return to Table of Contents


License Term:

A license issued to a new California licensee begins on the date the license is issued and expires the last day of that same month two years later. Any additional licenses issued at a later date will expire at the same time as the initial license. 


Renewal of License:

The California Department of Insurance (CDI) discontinued mailing renewal notices to individuals and business entities licensed through CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau. CDI now emails licensees a renewal notification to their email address on record. The email notification includes the license number, license term, license type, and information regarding any continuing education requirements. You can update your email address using CDI's Online Address Change service.

Individuals and business entities who do not receive the email notification will need to complete and mail the applicable renewal forms included here. For individuals you may complete the Application to Renew Individual License form LIC 448-29A and for business entities the Application to Renew Business Entity License form LIC 448-29B.

Any licensees that renew their licenses late will be required to pay a 50 percent penalty fee and file new company appointments and/or business entity endorsements (if applicable). "Late" is defined as any renewal for which the requirements to renew (this includes completing the ethics and continuing education hours) are not met until after the expiration date of the previous license term. To late renew your license you may complete the Application to Renew Individual License, form LIC 448-29A, or the Application to Renew Business Entity License, form LIC 448-29B, and mail the completed form to the California Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 311, Sacramento, California 95812-0311.

Note: Pursuant to Section 1656 of the California Insurance Code the business entity must have at least one active endorsee from the resident state to renew the business entity license.

Return to Table of Contents


Additional Information:

Federal law (Title 18 United States Code Section 1033) prohibits anyone who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust from conducting the business of insurance unless they have obtained the written consent of the Insurance Commissioner. It is a violation of this statute to conduct business of insurance without the Commissioners written consent. If you have been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust then you must attach a copy of this consent. If you have not obtained this written consent you must do so by filing a 1033 Short Form Application for Written Consent prior to filing your application.

Financial Security Requirements for Limited Liability Companies Notice 
Limited liability companies (LLC's) are required to provide proof of satisfying the security requirements of Section 1647.5 of the California Insurance Code when applying for an insurance license and once licensed, must also file with the Commissioner an annual confirmation of coverage demonstrating continued compliance with the financial security requirements. Additional information regarding these requirements is contained in the public notice linked on this page. 

For additional LLC application filing information, annual certification of coverage information, and links to forms that can be used as proof of fulfilling the security requirements please go to this link: Business Entity Limited Liability Company Requirements.

To obtain insurance licensing forms by mail, send an e-mail request to: Producer Licensing Bureau.

To obtain insurance licensing information, you may phone the Producer Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331.

All Surplus Line Broker fees and documents must be mailed to: California Department of Insurance, Producer Licensing Bureau. Attention: SL Licensing, P.O. Box 1139, Sacramento, CA 95812-1139.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's)

Pursuant to Section 1751.5 of the California Insurance Code all fees submitted are not refundable, whether or not the application is acted upon or the examination taken.

LIC 655-A (Rev. 4/2013)

Return to Producer Licensing Bureau Forms Main Page

Font Size: Translate: Español