- Individual Application for Insurance License, form LIC 441-9.
- Application for Business Entity License, form LIC 441-11.
- LIC SSA 1 - Authorized Endorsees.
- LIC SSA 2 - Notice of Appointment.
- LIC SSA 3 - Outline of Required Training Elements.
Table of Contents
Section 1758.75 of the California Insurance Code reads, in part:
A licensed Self-Service Storage facility or it's franchisee may act as a Self-Service Storage agent authorized to offer or sell hazard insurance coverage to renters for the loss of, or damage to, tangible personal property in storage or in transit during the rental period. This coverage may be offered only with, and incidental to, self-service-storage rental agreements.
The applicant is required to complete an application. Applicants can be either individuals or business entities. If the applicant is a business entity, form LIC 441-11*, must be submitted. If the applicant is an individual, form LIC 441-9*, must be submitted.
- Residency: California residency is not required.
- Insurer certification
A Self-Service Agent Notice of Appointment LIC SSA 2 must be completed by an authorized insurer certifying that the insurer has satisfied itself that the named applicant is trustworthy and competent to act as its insurance agent limited to this purpose. The insurer will appoint the applicant to act as its agent to transact self-service storage insurance.
Requirements - Employer
- Provide a training program pursuant to Section 1758.72(a).
- Establish a list of trained endorsees, using form LIC SSA 1; update and maintain list annually, retain list for 3 years.
- Submit modifications to training materials 30 days in advance of implementation.
- Renew license on or before the 2 year expiration date.
- Pay any enforcement costs.
Requirements - Employee
- 18 Years of age or older.
- Must be listed as an authorized endorsee on form LIC SSA 1 maintained by the self-service storage company.
- Must complete mandatory training.
- Training: Employers must provide training pursuant to California Insurance Code Section 1758.72(a) and outlined in form LIC SSA 3.
- Fees: Resident individuals and business entities as well as non-resident individuals and business entities must submit a $243 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $267) filing fee.
The term of the first license begins the date the license is issued and ends the last day of that same calendar month two years later. All additional licenses are issued for the balance of the established term.
Back to Top
- The California Department of Insurance (CDI) discontinued mailing renewal notices to individuals and business entities licensed through CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau. CDI now emails licensees a renewal notification to their email address on record. The email notification includes the license number, license term, license type, and information regarding any continuing education requirements. You can update your email address using CDI's Online Address Change service.
- Individuals and business entities who do not receive the email notification will still be able to renew their license online by following the prompts on CDI's Online Renewal Service at the following website link: Free Application Online Renewal Service (FLRS).
- Note: You cannot use the online renewal service for a late renewal.
- Any licensees that renew their licenses late will be required to pay a 50 percent penalty fee and file new company appointments and/or business entity endorsements or solicitor appointment (if applicable). "Late" is defined as any renewal for which the requirements to renew (for CA residents this includes completing the ethics and continuing education hours) are not met until after the expiration date of the previous license term. Use this link Late Renewal - What to Do to find out how to late renew your license.
Back to Top
Federal law (Title 18 United States Code Section 1033) prohibits anyone who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust from conducting the business of insurance unless they have obtained the written consent of the Insurance Commissioner. It is a violation of this statute to conduct business of insurance without the Commissioners written consent. If you have been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust then you must attach a copy of this consent. If you have not obtained this written consent you must do so by filing a 1033 Short Form Application for Written Consent prior to filing your application.
If currently licensed as a resident of another state, upon becoming a California resident, a clearance letter from the former state of residence is required.
To obtain insurance licensing forms by mail, send an e-mail request to: Producer Licensing Bureau.
To obtain Self Storage Agent insurance licensing information, you may phone the Producer Licensing Bureau's Business Entity unit at (916) 492-3069.
All fees mailed to the department must be addressed to:
Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139
All filing fees submitted are not refundable or transferable, whether or not the application is acted upon.
Back to Top