Application Procedures-Individual Non-Residents
Please follow the steps noted below to complete an application:
The California Department of Insurance (CDI) does not require fingerprints from applicants who were previously fingerprinted as a condition of obtaining an insurance producer license in their resident state. This exemption applies to individuals who currently hold a resident license in the following states: Alabama (effective January 1, 2015), Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, District of Columbia (effective August 9, 2010), Florida, Georgia, Hawaii (effective November 1, 2010), Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota (effective July 1,2010), Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico (effective January 1, 2014), Nevada, North Carolina (effective October 1, 2010), North Dakota (effective September1, 2013), Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin (effective July 6, 2010).
Step 1 - Fingerprint Processing: For those non-resident applicants who do not meet the fingerprint exemption noted above and who submit a non-resident individual application for an insurance license will be required to file fingerprint impressions prior to submitting their application to the CDI. The Non-Resident Applicants to File Fingerprint Impressions web page lists the procedures on how to submit the fingerprint impressions.
Step 2 - 1033 Application for Written Consent: Any person who has been convicted of felony crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust in a state or federal jurisdiction, or who has been convicted of any violation of Title 18 U.S.C. Section 1033 (the "Act"), must first obtain the written consent of the Commissioner prior to engaging or continuing to engage in the business of insurance in California.
Step 3 - Apply for a property broker-agent insurance license. Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and non-resident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the viewer to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, you may select the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application.
Step 4 - License filing fee: $154 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $170).
Note: When an application is made to the California Department of Insurance, applicants may apply for what was known as a "property and casualty broker-agent license" by selecting both the property broker-agent and casualty broker-agent license types on their application. Applicants checking both the property broker-agent and casualty broker-agent license types on the application will pay one filing fee.
- Non-Resident applicants will be issued a license that provides for the same line(s) of authority that he or she holds in the home state.
- The fee for limited lines licenses will be the same as the California resident Property Broker-Agent license fee.
Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.
A property broker-agent is not required to have an appointment with an insurance company to have the license issued. Upon application approval the license can be downloaded or printed by using the CDI's Print or Download Your License online service. However, the licensee may not transact, solicit, or negotiate the sale of insurance until after one of the following documents are completed and submitted to the California Department of Insurance.
- A $10,000 Bond of Insurance Broker, form LIC 417-5, executed in California by a California admitted surety, completed in the name of the applicant and signed by the applicant authorizes the person to act as an insurance broker.
- Action Notice of Appointment, with $26 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $29) filing fee, completed by the sponsoring insurance company admitted to California authorizes the person to act as an insurance agent. Pursuant to Section 2190.22 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations, the Action Notice of Appointment must be submitted electronically. To submit appointments electronically contact the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) and its authorized business partners for a list of approved partners.
- The sponsoring business entity licensed in California completes a Business Entity Endorsement, which must be submitted through the CDI's Business Entity Endorsement and Termination Online Service.
All filing fees submitted are not refundable, whether or not the application is acted upon or an examination taken.
For specific questions regarding this license type, please e-mail the Producer Licensing Bureau at Producer Licensing Bureau E-mail or call the CDI'sProducer Licensing Toll Free Hotline at (800) 967-9331. Please be sure to include your name, telephone number, license number and e-mail address in all correspondence with the CDI.