Non-Resident Applicants to File Fingerprint Impressions
CDI does not require fingerprints from applicants who were previously fingerprinted as a condition of obtaining an insurance producer license in their resident state. This exemption applies to individuals who currently hold a resident license in the following states: Alabama (effective January 1, 2015), Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, District of Columbia (effective August 9, 2010), Florida, Georgia, Hawaii (effective November 1, 2010), Idaho, Kansas (effective February 1, 2018), Louisiana, Minnesota (effective July 1, 2010), Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico (effective January 1, 2014), Nevada, North Carolina (effective October 1, 2010), North Dakota (effective September 1, 2013), Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina (effective January 1, 2017), Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington and Wisconsin (effective July 6, 2010).
All applicants who do not meet the fingerprint exemption noted above and who submit a non-resident individual application for an insurance license will be required to file fingerprint impressions prior to submitting their application to the California Department of Insurance (CDI).
The fingerprints will be submitted to the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) to ascertain whether or not the non-resident applicant has a criminal record that could prevent the applicant from holding a non-resident insurance producer's license in California.
Criminal background checks are an important safeguard to protect the insurance consumers from unscrupulous insurance producers. Fingerprinting is the most effective means to conduct an effective criminal background check.
What Steps Do I Need to Take to Secure a Producer License in the State of California?
What to do if your fingerprint results are delayed
- All unlicensed applicants who do not meet the criteria above will be required to file fingerprint impressions.*
- These fingerprint impressions must be taken by a law enforcement agency (police department, sheriff's office, etc.) on a standard FBI fingerprint card. The fingerprint card is usually available from the law enforcement agency that you contact to do the printing. To ensure that your fingerprint impressions are properly recorded, complete part 1 on the Live Scan Service Request, form 442-39A. In addition, on fingerprint card enter the number "A0042" in the space designated for the "ORI" number and in the space designated for the "OCA" you must enter the number "1000."
- To obtain a fingerprint card(s) form by mail, send an e-mail request to: Producer Licensing Bureau.
- The total processing fee for the fingerprint impressions taken by CDI's contracted vendor, Accurate Biometrics, is $58.30 ($59 effective May 1, 2018). This fee consists of the revised FBI processing fee of $17, DOJ processing fee of $32, and the contracted vendor's rolling fee of $9.30 ($10 effective May 1, 2018).
- The fingerprint card along with a completed credit card form that is attached to the Live Scan Service Request, form 442-39A or a check in the amount of $58.30 ($59 effective May 1, 2018) made payable to Accurate Biometrics must be mailed directly to Accurate Biometrics, 12777 W Jefferson Blvd. - Building D, Suite 3111, Los Angeles, CA 90066.
Back to Top
What to do if your fingerprints results are delayed
Checking on Status of Fingerprint Submission. Please allow a minimum of seven days from the date fingerprint impressions were taken before making a status inquiry. If you need to check the status of your fingerprints, below are the steps to follow:
- Applicants should check first with the California Department of Insurance (CDI) at (800) 967-9331 since the Department of Justice sends results directly to the CDI.
- The DOJ or FBI may need to manually process the fingerprint impressions. This process may delay the reporting of results.
If CDI does not have your fingerprint results, you must use the California Department of Justice's (DOJ) online Applicant Background Check Status to check the status of your fingerprint results.
Please have your date of birth (i.e., 01/01/1975); and, the10-digit Automated Transaction Identifier (ATI) number that appears at the bottom of the DOJ form requesting Live Scan fingerprint background checks available before you access DOJ's online Applicant Background Check Status service. The ATI number always appears in the following sequence: 1 letter; 3 numbers; 3 letters and 3 numbers. Your birth date and your ATI number will allow the DOJ"s online Applicant Background Check Status to provide you with your fingerprint status.
When your fingerprint impressions are processed the DOJ's recording will state the following, "The California level of services and/or FBI level of services were completed on [date]." The level of service is the request for a background check to be completed by both the DOJ and the FBI. However, if the recording states that the fingerprint results are "still in process," please continue to contact the DOJ's 24-hour Automated Telephone service at (916) 227-4557.
- Non-Resident Application: Apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for non-resident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, you may select the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application.
- Applicant Fees: The License Fee link provides the list of license types. Select the license type you are applying for and the link will take you to the appropriate filing fee.
- Renewal Fee: The renewal fees may vary according to the license type. Please review the Renewal Fees link for each license type.
- Where to File
California Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1437
Sacramento, CA 95812-1437
The CDI initiated a fingerprinting requirement for all producer applicants in 1980. However, the fingerprint check rarely revealed conviction information on non-resident applicants because the CDI was only able to check the fingerprints against the California Department of Justice database which consists of California reported convictions only. As a result, in 1988, the CDI discontinued the fingerprint requirement for non-residents.
In October 2000, the CDI expanded its resident fingerprint process to include a check with the FBI database. The FBI database is a nationwide database that captures criminal convictions emanating from all 50 states. This expanded access to criminal record information allows the CDI to conduct an effective criminal background check of nonresident applicants by reinstituting the fingerprint requirement.
A change Notice was distributed to update current fingerprint requirements: Changes to California's Non-Resident Fingerprint Requirement
If you have any questions about this form or the license information you retrieved, please see the most commonly asked questions in our License Questions and Answers section. You may also send an e-mail to Producer Licensing Bureau. Please be sure to include your name, telephone number, license number and e-mail address in all correspondence with the CDI. If you need further assistance, please call CDI's Licensing Hotline at (800) 967-9331. The Licensing Hotline is available Monday through Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., excluding State Holidays.