Menu
Contact Us Search
CA Department of Insurance

Risk Retention Group Annual Registration Renewal

The California Risk Retention Act of 1991, as amended by statute in 1995, includes a provision for renewal of risk retention group registrations. Specifically, Insurance Code section 132(j) provides that each risk retention group shall make its initial registration by filing the material specified in California Insurance Code section 132(a). The initial registration is valid until December 31 of the year in which it was made, as long as the risk retention group is in compliance with California Insurance Code sections 125 through 140, inclusive.

To maintain the registration in force, the risk retention group shall continue in compliance with California Insurance Code sections 125 through 140, inclusive, and shall file the following items with the Commissioner on or before December 31 of each year:

  1. An annual reporting statement on a form prescribed by the Commissioner.

  2. An annual renewal fee to be determined by the Commissioner, limited to the actual cost of administering this section, not to exceed $300.

  3. Any other information required by the Commissioner to determine whether the risk retention group is in compliance with the requirements of those code sections.

Each risk retention group should submit a completed Risk Retention Group Annual Renewal Statement with the renewal fee of $300 on or before December 31 of each year, either:

For technical assistance regarding OASIS, please contact OASIS@insurance.ca.gov.

In addition to the annual reporting statement, a risk retention group will need to file these additional items at the following times and places:

Date Document Address
First business day of March

Annual Statement and Statement of Actuarial Opinion

Quarterly statements do not need to be submitted unless specifically requested.

Electronically file with the NAIC. If not, submit electronically to:

California Department of Insurance
Financial Records Unit

Financial_Records@insurance.ca.gov
Questions? call (213) 346-6423

First business day of April Premium Tax Returns

California Department of Insurance
Tax Accounting Unit
300 Capitol Mall, Suite 14000
Sacramento, CA 95814
Attn: Merita Chung, Chief
Accounting Services Bureau

For Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
Information, call 916-492-3288 or
Email EFT@insurance.ca.gov

First business day of July Audited Financial Statement

Electronically file with the NAIC. If not, submit electronically to:

California Department of Insurance
Financial Records Unit

Financial_Records@insurance.ca.gov
Questions? call (213) 346-6423


If you have any questions regarding Risk Retention Group filings, please call Jill Jacobi at (415) 538-4426.

Font Size: Translate: Español