Schedule Your License Exam
First Schedule Your License Examination
PSI Services LLC, a California-based company providing state-based regulatory licensure services, handles the scheduling of examinations for individuals licensed by the California Department of Insurance's (CDI) Producer Licensing Bureau. Instructions for scheduling examinations are posted on PSI's Examination Scheduling Service. Individuals may schedule their examinations with PSI either online or by telephone.
On the day of the examination, you should arrive at least 30 minutes before your scheduled examination. This extra time is for sign-in and identification verification. If you arrive late, you will not be admitted to the examination site and you will forfeit your examination registration fee. Time waivers are not allowed.
Beware!! Cheating is a crime . . .
Willfully cheating or subverting a license examination is punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed one year per Section 1681.5(b) of the California Insurance Code.
New Applicants - Submitting an Electronic or Online Application
The California Department of Insurance (CDI) requires California resident applicants to first pass the qualifying license examination prior to submitting their license application.
After completing Sircon Apply for a License, the applicant will receive an e-mail from the CDI confirming receipt of the application. If you are not required to pass a qualifying license examination, California non-resident and other license applicants are to follow all on screen prompts to complete and submit the new license application at Sircon Apply for a License.
Your Social Security Number or Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) is required information. Your Social Security Number or ITIN is necessary to access your file within the California Department of Insurance's database. The database is a secure site and all information transferred is encrypted.
New Applicants - Mail-In Paper Application
If you are a California resident applicant and you are required to pass a qualifying license examination, you must first pass the license examination. If you are not required to pass a qualifying license examination, California non-resident and other license applicants and you cannot submit the online application, complete the current Individual Application, Form LIC 441-9. The completed application must be sent to the following address:
California Department of Insurance
Attention: Individual License Application, Form 441-9
300 Capitol Mall, 16th Floor
Sacramento, CA 95814-4313
Rescheduling Examination Date
- Rescheduling for a new date, time and location - You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment without forfeiting your fee if the schedule examination is canceled at least 48 hours before the scheduled examination date. For example, for a Monday appointment scheduled for 8 a.m., the cancellation needs to be submitted on the previous Saturday before 4 p.m. Examinations that need to be scheduled must use PSI's scheduling service, or you may call PSI at(833) 518-7456 to speak with a Customer Service Representative. Please note that you may also use PSI's automated system, using a touch-tone phone, 24 hours a day in order to cancel and reschedule your appointment.
Note: A voice mail message or email is not an acceptable form of cancellation. Please use the Internet, PSI's automated telephone system (IVR), or call PSI and speak to a Customer Service Representative.
- Rescheduling due to failing to appear at the examination site - An applicant who fails to appear at the examination site on the scheduled examination date must use PSI's Examination Scheduling Service to reschedule an examination at CDI's examination sites or PSI's test centers. Under these circumstances, a rescheduling examination fee will be charged.
An applicant who fails the examination on the scheduled examination date must use the PSI's Examination Scheduling Service to reschedule an examination at CDI's examination sites or PSI's test centers. Under these circumstances, a rescheduling examination fee will be charged.
If you have examination scheduling questions, please call PSI at (833) 518-7456 to speak with a Customer Service Representative Monday through Friday between 4:30 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. and Saturday, between 8:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m., Pacific Time.