Skip to Main Content
Contact Us Search
CA Department of Insurance
CA Department of Insurance
CA Department of Insurance

COIN Advisory Board

COIN has traditionally maintained an advisory board, and Assembly Bill 624 (2010) gave the Insurance Commissioner the discretion to formally establish this board. The COIN Advisory Board, consisting of the Insurance Commissioner and several leaders in the insurance industry and economic development sector, provides focus and guidance to COIN, ensuring that its policies and procedures are in keeping with its mission statement. The Board shall also advise COIN on the best methods of increasing insurance investments while providing fair returns to investors and social benefits to communities.


COIN Advisory Board Members:

Ophir Bruck is a representative with experience seeking investments that provide environmental benefits. Mr. Bruck is a Senior Specialist at Principles for Responsible Investments.
Doug Bystry is the current COIN Advisory Board Chair and represents a Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI). Mr. Bystry is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Clearinghouse CDFI.
Stephanie Chan is an insurance investment executive and is a Chief Investment Officer at the State Compensation Insurance Fund.
Rudy Espinoza is a consumer advocacy group representative and Executive Director of Inclusive Action for the City, a nonprofit Community Development Financial Institution.
Patricia GoPaul is a representative with experience seeking investment for low-to-moderate income and rural communities. Ms. GoPaul is General Counsel at Low Income Investment Fund.
Ginger Hitzke is a local economic development practitioner and President of Hitzke Development Corporation.
Maïté Irakoze Baur is an insurance investment executive and a Chief Investment Officer for Farmers Insurance Group.
Jennifer McElyea is an affordable housing practitioner and the Senior Managing Partner at Watts Investment Partners.
Nicholas Roxborough is a licensed attorney practicing insurance law and a partner at Roxborough, Roxborough, Nye & Pomerance, Adreani.
T. C. Wilson is an insurance investment executive and a Chief Investment Officer at The Doctors Company.
Heberto Sanchez is a member of the public appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly. Mr. Sanchez is the Founder and President of The Latino Educational Fund.
Sabrina Sanders is a member of the public appointed by the Senate Rules Committee. Dr. Sanders is the Director of Student Affairs, Projects and Initiatives at California State University’s Office of the Chancellor.

COIN Advisory Board Members: Detailed Biographies


COIN Advisory Board Handbook


December 10, 2021, COIN Advisory Board Notice of Meeting 


COIN e-mail and telephone number: (916) 492-3525


Google Translate