separator
Skip to Contentseparator HomeseparatorCheck License StatussepartorContact UssepartorRequest for Assistance
Welcome to the California Department of Insurance
Site tools
Decrease font size Increase font size Site map Help Print-friendly version
AGENTS & BROKERS: BAIL AGENT (BA)
Applicable Forms
  • Application for Bail License, form LIC 431-1
  • Application for a Bail Agent Corporation License, form LIC 431-2
  • Bond of Bail Agent, form LIC 437-9
  • Action Notice Statement of Employing Bail Agent or Permittee, form LIC 438
  • Bail Agent Action Notice, form LIC 437-23
  • Change of Stockholder, Officer, or Director, form LIC 437-25

Candidate Information Bulletin  

Authorizing Act:
Section 1802 of the California Insurance Code reads, in part:

A bail agent is a person permitted to solicit, negotiate, and effect undertakings of bail on behalf of any surety insurer.

Qualifications

  • Minimum Age: 18 years.
  • Residency: California residency is required.
  • Prelicensing Experience/Education: Require a minimum of 20 hours of approved prelicensing classroom study in subjects pertinent to the duties and responsibilities of a bail licensee, including, but not limited to, all laws and regulations related thereto, rights of the accused, and ethics.
  • Continuing Education: Require a minimum of 12 hours of approved continuing education classroom study prior to the renewal of his or her license.
  • Entity: Individual/Corporation

Filing Requirements - Individual:

  • Application: Application for Bail License, form LIC 431-1.
  • Bond: A Bond of Bail Agent, form LIC 437-9, in the penal sum of $1,000 executed by a California admitted surety, and signed by the principal.
  • Action Notice of Appointment: A Bail Agent Action Notice, form LIC 437-23, executed by a surety insurer or it's authorized representative.
  • Forms Filing List: A copy of the forms or documents which the bail agent intends to use regularly or frequently in connection with bail transactions.
  • Action Notice Statement of Employing Bail Agent Or Permittee: Form LIC 438, is required when employing or terminating the employment of another bail agent or permittee.

Fingerprint Impressions: Fingerprint impressions are required for all unlicensed bail applicants.

Fees - Individual:

  • First Time Applicants - two year term: $514 per surety company.  This fee does not include the examination fee.
  • Examination:Fingerprint:  Review Fingerprint Processing link for fees. 
  • Renewal - two year term: $154 per surety company.

Examination: Applicants must pass the examination prepared and administered by the Department. Examination is based on information and materials covered during the 20 hour prelicensing course.



Filing Requirements - Corporation:

  • Application: Application for Bail License, form LIC 431-2.
  • Bond: A Bond of Bail Agent, form LIC 437-9, in the penal sum of $1,000 executed by a California admitted surety, and signed by the principal.
  • Action Notice of Appointment: A Bail Agent Action Notice, form LIC 437-23, executed by a surety insurer or it's authorized representative.
  • Forms Filing List: A copy of the forms or documents which the corporation intends to use regularly or frequently in connection with bail transactions.
  • Action Notice Statement of Employing Bail Agent or Permittee: form LIC 438, is required when employing or terminating the employment of a natural person to act as a bail agent for the corporation.

Fees - Corporation:

  • License filing - two year term: $514 per surety company (two year term).
  • Renewal - two year term: $154 per surety company.


License Term:

Pursuant to Section 1807.7. of the California Insurance Code, licenses are issued for two year terms.  



Renewal of License

Note: Bail Agent Individual and Business Entity insurance producers must submit their renewal filings to CDI electronically.

The California Department of Insurance (CDI) discontinued mailing renewal notices to individuals and business entities licensed through CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau. CDI now emails licensees a renewal notification to their email address on record. The email notification includes the license number, license term, license type, and information regarding any continuing education requirements. You can update your e-mail address using CDI's Online Address Change service.

Individuals and business entities who do not receive the email notification must still renew their license online by following the prompts on CDI's Online Renewal Service at the following website link: Free Application Online Renewal Service (FLRS)

Any Bail licensees that do not renew their license by the license expiration date will be required to refile for the license with a new application, appointments and pay double the filing fee. "Late" is defined as any renewal for which the requirements to renew (including completing the continuing education hours) are not met until after the expiration date of the previous license term.



Additional Information
Federal law (Title 18 United States Code Section 1033) prohibits anyone who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust from conducting the business of insurance unless they have obtained the written consent of the Insurance Commissioner. It is a violation of this statute to conduct business of insurance without the Commissioners written consent. If you have been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust then you must attach a copy of this consent. If you have not obtained this written consent you must do so by filing a 1033 Short Form Application for Written Consent prior to filing your application.

  • Licenses may be issued to corporations to act as bail agents. Each officer, director, stockholder, and employee must hold an individual bail agent license.
  • Any change in stockholders for the corporation shall require the prior approval of the department. Changes in stockholders, officers or directors may be submitted on form LIC 437-25.
  • Bail licenses are issued for two year terms.
  • A Bail Identification card will be issued for all individual licensees.
  • An individual Bail agent's and a permittee's license may be applied for at the same time, on the same application. Only a permittee's bond is required.
  • If a currently licensed bail permittee is now applying for an agent's license, the permittee's bond on file will cover both licenses.
  • If a bail solicitor applicant is to work for two or more bail licensees who are members of a partnership, a separate Action Notice Statement from each employer and an additional filing fee for each is required.
  • Note: A corporation may not employ a bail solicitor or permittee.
  • To obtain insurance licensing forms by mail, send an e-mail request to: Producer Licensing Bureau.
  • To obtain Bail licensing information, you may phone the Producer Licensing Bureau Bail unit at (916) 492-3035.

All fees mailed to the Department must be addressed to:

Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139

All filing fees submitted are not refundable, whether or not the application is acted upon or the examination taken.

LIC 651 (Rev. 04/2013)

Back to Top

separator