Application Procedures-Individual Residents
Application Procedures: Individual - Residents
Please follow the steps noted below to complete an application online and schedule your license examination:
Step 1 -Fingerprint impressions are required for unlicensed applicants and can be submitted at anytime prior to taking the license examination, even before submitting the license application. Please select the following link for instructions: California Resident Licensing Fingerprint Requirements.
Note:Fingerprint impressions may be taken at the California Department of Insurance examination sites. Failure to submit fingerprints in a timely manner may cause a delay in the issuance of your license.
Step 2 -1033 Application for Written Consent - Any person who has been convicted of felony crimes of dishonesty or breach of trust in a state or federal jurisdiction, or who has been convicted of any violation of Title 18 U.S.C.§ 1033 (the "Act"), must first obtain the written consent of the Commissioner prior to engaging or continuing to engage in the business of insurance in California.
Step 3 -Complete prelicensing requirements consisting of 20 hours of approved accident and health prelicensing study and 12 hours of approved prelicensing study on ethics and the California Insurance Code. When an applicant seeks both the property broker-agent and casualty broker-agent license and the accident and health agent license, the applicant shall only be required to complete one 12-hour course on ethics and the California Insurance Code.
Exemptions from general insurance prelicensing classroom courses:
- Applicants for a life-only agent license, accident and health license, personal lines broker-agent license, limited lines automobile insurance agent license, property broker-agent license and casualty broker-agent license, who are currently licensed as non-residents in California shall be required to complete only 12 hours of study on ethics and California Insurance Code. (Sections 1749 (g) and (h)), or;
- An applicant holding any of the following designations: a Life Underwriter Training Council Fellowship (LUTCF), Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU), Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC), Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS), Fellow, Life Management Institute (FLMI), Health Insurance Associate (HIA), Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC) or Registered Health Underwriter (RHU) is exempt from the 20 hours of prelicensing education.
Step 4 -Pass the accident and health agent license examination. The California Department of Insurance (CDI) requires California resident applicants to first pass the qualifying license examination prior to submitting their license application.
This change affects California residents applying for any license in which an examination is required (i.e., life, accident and health, property, casualty, personal lines, limited lines automobile, and life limited to funeral and burial expenses). CDI's online application service Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) now requires applicants to enter a unique 12-digit identification number which is located on the upper left corner of the passed examination letter. FLASH only allows the application to be submitted if the applicant enters the correct identification number and has passed the examination, not just scheduled the examination. Consequently, for an application to be accepted, the applicant's identification number entered must be identical to the identification number that is stated on the passed examination letter.
The identificationnumber consists of the applicant's last four digits of his or her social security number (e.g., 7777), followed by the two-digit birth month (e.g., 01), followed by the two-digit birth day (e.g., 02), and finally, the four-digit birth year (e.g., 1963). In this example, the 12-digit identification number would be 777701021963. The online application service will only allow the application to be submitted if the identification number is correct and you passed your license examination.
Step 5 - After passing the license examination, apply for an insurance license online - Go to the Fast Licensing Application Service is Here (FLASH) for both resident and nonresident applicants to apply for an insurance license online. This link takes the applicant to the procedures of how to file an application online. If you already know how to use the online application service, you may select the following link to go directly to the FLASH online application.
Step 6 -Fees:
- License two year filing fee: $154 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $170).
- Examination fee: $45 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $50) per scheduled exam date at a California Department of Insurance examination site or $78 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $83) per scheduled examination date at a PSI examination site.
Step 7 - Schedule and pass examination. This link will provide you with information on how to schedule your examination: Insurance License Examination Information
Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.
An Accident and Health Agent is not required to have an appointment or endorsement to have the license issued. Upon application approval the license can be downloaded or printed by using the CDI's Print or Download Your License service. However, the licensee may not transact, solicit, or negotiate the sale of insurance until after one of the following documents are completed and submitted to the California Department of Insurance.
- The sponsoring insurance company admitted to California completes an Action Notice of Appointment. Pursuant to Section 2190.22 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations, the Action Notice of Appointment must be submitted electronically. To submit appointments electronically contact the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) and its authorized business partners for a list of approved partners.
- Beginning January 1, 2010, Business Entities for Accident and Health Agent(s) must submit their agent endorsement(s) online at Business Entity Endorsement and Termination Online Service (i.e. adding or removing individual licensees who are to transact insurance under authority of its license)(CIC Section 1661).
Fees are $26 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $29) per action notice of appointment or business entity endorsement.
All filing fees submitted are not refundable, whether or not the application is acted upon or the examination taken.