The forms of identification that the applicant brings with them to the examination sites must meet certain qualifications. The links below describe the proper identification required and what to do if an applicant does not have these forms of identification.
What is Proper Identification?
Examples of Identification Not Accepted
What should I do if the identification I have is questionable?
BEWARE!! Cheating is a crime . . .
Pursuant to Section 1681.5(b) of the California Insurance Code, willfully cheating or subverting a license examination is punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed one year.
Listed below are examples of proper identification. At both CDI's and PSI's examination sites, you will need to have one of the following forms of identification.
Also listed below are two situations that frequently occur at examinations sites that relate to proper identification. Please read the information below to be informed on what is proper identification and what to do if you have identification that is not listed below.
- Current valid California driver's license
- California Identification Card
- A current valid out of state driver's license
- Passport Card
- Military Identification.
1) Identification must be in the same name as submitted on the application.
2) An applicant will not be admitted to the examination without one of the above types of identification. If you do not have proper identification, please follow the instruction on the following link, What should I do if I have questionable identification?
Back to Top
Listed below are two examples of identification scenarios that frequently occur at the license examination sites. Please review this information to see if either of these examples apply to you.
An applicant has an expired driver's license: the applicant is required to have a temporary driver's license that has been issued within 60 days of the expired license. The temporary driver's license must be current.
An applicant is recently married and does not have identification that shows the new married name: the applicant is required to re-schedule the examination, at least two days before the scheduled examination, for a date that allows time for the examinee to have the married name on the proper identification.
Back to Top
What should I do if I have questionable identification?
If the identification you have is not listed above or you question whether you have proper identification, please fax the identification items to the following fax number and label the fax with the following information:
California Department of Insurance
Producer Licensing Bureau
Examination Section, Forms of Identification
Fax Number: 916-323-6851
Please note: To ensure that you have proper identification for an examination, it is important that you fax this information to CDI at the number noted above at least seven business days prior to your scheduled examination. CDI previously allowed an individual to fax their identification five days before their license examination. However, the five days did not provide sufficient time for the review of the submitted identification. As a result, applicants are to submit their questionable identification to CDI at least seven days prior to their scheduled examination.
If you have examination scheduling questions, please call PSI at (877) 392-6422 to speak with a Consumer Service Representative Monday through Friday between 4:30 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. and Saturday, between 8:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m., Pacific Time. For all other license examination concerns, please call the CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau's Examination Section at (916) 492-3570.
Back to Top