California's Low Cost Auto Insurance Program
Consumers - Please visit www.mylowcostauto.com or call 1-866-602-8861 to see if you qualify and locate a certified agent in your local area.
Insurance Agents and Brokers (Producers) - Please visit www.aipso.com/PlanSites/CaliforniaLowCost.aspx for more information.
About California's Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program
California Law requires that all drivers of vehicles within the State maintain evidence of financial responsibility. California's Low Cost Automobile Program (CLCA) was established by the Legislature in 1999 and exists pursuant to California Insurance Code Section 11629.7 as a program designed to provide income eligible persons with liability insurance protection at affordable rates as a way to meet California's financial responsibility laws.
However, too many income eligible drivers remain uninsured because the costs of standard insurance premiums are beyond their financial reach. Learn about affordable solutions that may help protect you, your friends, family and other drivers on the road.
Effective January 01, 2015 a new law, SB 1273 passed by the Governor on September 19, 2014, provides an exception to the three-year continuously licensed requirement to allow drivers with less than 3 years verifiable driving experience to participate in the program and increased vehicle values from $20,000 to $25,000. For more information on the CLCA program please visit: www.mylowcostauto.com.