Drivers over age 55 eligible for savings on auto insurance
News: 2016 Press Release
SACRAMENTO, Calif. — May is Older Americans Month when we celebrate the continuing contributions of older adults to our country. Retailers and restaurants offer discounts when consumers reach milestone ages—turns out insurers do too. Statistically the safest on the road, drivers over 55 are often eligible for discounts on their auto coverage.
Under state law, older Californians can take a mature driver course and receive a discount on their auto insurance for three years. In California, that means as many as 5.5 million drivers over age 55 could benefit. According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, older drivers are keeping their licenses longer and driving more miles than ever before.
"Drivers should take advantage of any opportunity to sharpen their skills and make the most of discounts offered for a safe driving record," said Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones.
An additional discount for driving below a certain amount of miles per day may also be available. Mature Californians are encouraged to check out the many resources available to them to ensure they are receiving the assistance they want. The department provides numerous resources for seniors including informational guides, coverage options and other helpful tips.
The discounts offered by insurers may be labeled differently for each company so be sure to inquire with your insurance company or agent to see what discounts are available to you. In general, the discounts apply to liability coverages because they are most relevant, but consumers should check with their insurer.
# # #
- In California, there are more than 5.5 million drivers over the age of 55—and more than 2.5 million of them are 70 or older.
- Mature Driver Guide Infographic
- Senior Information Center: https://www.insurance.ca.gov/0150-seniors/
- DMV: http://www.dmv.org/safety-and-driving/elderly-drivers.php
The California Department of Insurance, established in 1868, is the largest consumer protection agency in California. Insurers collect $289 billion in premiums annually in California. Since 2011 the California Department of Insurance received more than 1,000,000 calls from consumers and helped recover over $394 million in claims and premiums. Please visit the Department of Insurance web site at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non-media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800.927.HELP or 213.897.8921. Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD), please dial 800.482.4833.