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State of  California   Department  of  Insurance  
Prelicensing/Continuing Education Program  
Course Approval Application  
LIC  446-3 (Rev.  03/2019)  

Curriculum and Officer Review Bureau - Education Unit 
300 CAPITOL MALL, 16th Floor, Room 16210 

SACRAMENTO, CA 95814-4344 
Information (916) 492-3064 

www.insurance.ca.gov 
Instructions: 
 This form must be completed for each course submitted for approval. 
 A completed application with the proper attachments and filing fee must be received 

by the Commissioner at least 30 days prior to the first course presentation. 
 The following course category types must include the specific checklist items noted 

on pages 2 through 4 of this application: Ethics Training, Annuity Training (e.g., 
eight-hour and four-hour courses), Independent and Public Adjuster, Life Settlement 
Broker, California Eight-Hour Long-Term Care, Homeowners’ Insurance Valuation, 
General, or Business Management. Please note that the course application will not 
be processed unless the checklist item is attached. 

Commissioner Use Only: 

Course #: _________________________________ 

Approval period: ____________________________ 

Credit Hours: ______ Category code: ______ 

First course presentation date: Provider Number: Phone Number: ( ) 
Provider Name: 
Address: 

Street City State Zip 

Course Title*: 

Check one course type: Prelicensing Education 
Continuing Education 

Statutory Requirement: If this application is for continuing education, 
is this course intended to meet any statutory requirements? 

No Yes (if yes, indicate requirement below) 
California Long-Term Care** 
24-Hour Care Coverage 
California Partnership for Long-Term Care 
Annuity** 
Homeowners’ Insurance Valuation** 
Ethics** 
Life Settlement** 

Number of Prelicensing Education hours requested: 

12-hour 20-hour 32-hour 40-hour 52-hour 
Code and 
Ethics 

Instruction Method:** 
Prelicensing Education Continuing Education Continuing Education 
Contact (Interactive): Contact (Interactive) Self-Directed (Non-Interactive) 

Classroom Seminar 
Workshop/Conference 

Correspondence/Hardcopy Text Book 
Portable Document Format (PDF) Text 

Non-Contact (Internet Delivery) Classroom/Lecture EBook 
Online Prelicensing Teleconference (monitored) 

Webinar (monitored)** 
Other__________________ 

Compact Disk (CD) 
Digital Versatile Disc (DVD) 
Audio File 
Video File 
Other: ________________________________ 

Online Continuing Education (Internet Delivery) 
Internet 
Other: ________________________________ 

Category type for course credit (check one): 
Property Casualty Property and Casualty Personal Lines Limited Lines Automobile 

Life-Only Accident and Health Life-Only and Accident and Health Life Settlement** 
Independent Insurance Adjuster** Public Insurance Adjuster** Independent and Public Insurance Adjuster** 

General** Business Management** 
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Is this course part of a designation program? Yes No If yes, which program? 

Number of continuing education course credit hours requested (Note: courses 
must be at least one hour and partial hours will not be accepted): 

Include on Commissioner’s list of courses open to public? 
Yes No 

CERTIFICATION: I certify under penalty of perjury that I have read and understand the information and requirements contained in this 
application, that all statements are true and nothing has been withheld which would influence a complete evaluation of this course. 

I Agree 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Print Name of Provider Director Date 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Email Address 
For Commissioner use only: ____ COURSE APPROVED ____ COURSE NOT APPROVED 
Comments/Calculations: 

By: ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Education Unit Staff 

*Advertising and course materials must use the exact title on this application. Courses based on another provider’s material must be approved by that 
provider and must use same name. 

** See Required Attachment Checklist on pages 2 through 4 of this application. 

REQUIRED ATTACHMENT CHECKLIST: 

Instruction Methods: 

A. Contact (Interactive) Course as defined in Section 2186.1(e)(1) of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR): 
1. ___ A detailed statement on how the course is relevant to insurance topics and insurance products. 
2. ___ A detailed outline of approximately one page per hour of instruction including the time each topic is being presented. 
3. ___ A copy of all materials presented to each student if a detailed outline is not submitted with application. 
4. ___ An agenda showing the beginning and ending times, breaks, and time allotted for examinations, if applicable. 
5. ___ A completed Class Presentation Schedule form for each presentation. 
6. ___ A current authorization letter from the author or publisher if using another vendor's source material as the basis for the course. 
7. ___ For a webinar, teleconference, or other similar technological medium, demonstrate how the instructor knows when a student has 

signed in and out of the course, how students are monitored and their active participation time tracked, and how communication 
between instructor and student is achieved. 

8. ___ For a prelicensing course only, California prelicensing educational objectives are to include the page and paragraph-references 
to the provider course material for every line topic. 

B. Non-Contact (Non-Interactive) – Self-Directed Continuing Education Course as defined in Section 2186.1(e)(2)(B) of Title 10 of the 
CCR:: 
1. ___ A detailed statement on how the course is relevant to insurance topics and insurance products. 
2. ___ A copy of the audio file, video file, computer diskette, DVD, CD, EBook or hardcopy or pdf text book for the course or a copy of the 

text book cover, copyright page and table of contents if using another vendor’s pre-approved material/book. 
3. ___ A final examination with at least three questions (not in chapter/section order) for each hour of credit. A detailed statement on how 

provider will ensure the student enrolled in the course is the same individual who is completing the final course examination as 
defined in Section 2188.2(j) of Title 10 of the CCR. 

4. ___ Answers to all examination questions with page and paragraph referencing to the source material. 
5. ___ A current authorization letter from the author or publisher if using another vendor's source material. 
6. ___ A copy of the course and examination instruction sheet sent to students detailing the length of time the student is allowed to 

complete the course, how the course completion date is determined, what constitutes a passing grade, and procedures in event 
student fails an examination. 

7. ___ A detailed statement on who maintains control of the answer key and how the integrity of the examination is maintained (see 
Section 2188.2(a)(7)). 

8. ___ A document listing the total word count (4,600 words for each hour of credit) for courses intended to be read or the run time for 
courses not intended to be read in audio and/or video format (see Section 2188.2(j)(1)). 
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C. 

D. 

E. 

F. 

G. 

Course Category Type(s): 

9. ___ Demonstrate that reasonable measures have been taken to prevent student from access to course examination before review of 
the course material as defined in Section 2186.1(e)(2)(B)1. and 2. of Title 10 of the CCR. Provide Internet address, log-on and 
password for course review. 

Non-Contact (Internet Delivery)  –  Online Continuing Education Course  as  defined  in Section 2186.1(e)(2)(C)  of  Title 10 of  the  CCR:  
1. ___ A detailed statement on how the course is relevant to insurance topics and insurance products. 
2. ___ A final examination with at least three questions (not in chapter/section order) for each hour of credit. A detailed statement on how 

provider will ensure student enrolled in the course is the same individual who is completing the final examination as defined in 
Section 2188.2(j) of Title 10 of the CCR. 

3. ___ Answers to all examination and review questions with section/chapter and screen referencing to the provider course material. 
4. ___ Internet address, log-on and password for course review. 
5. ___ Demonstrated compliance with Section 2188.2(k) of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations. 
6. ___ A document listing either the total word count (4,600 words for each hour of credit) or that the credit hour is based on the run time 

of the course as stated in (Section 2188.2(j)(2)). 
7. ___ A current authorization letter from the author or publisher if using another vendor's source material. 
8. ___ A copy of the course and examination instructions to students detailing the length of time the student is allowed to complete the 

course, how the course completion date is determined, what constitutes a passing grade, and procedures in the event a student 
fails an examination. 

9. ___ A detailed statement on who maintains control of the answer key and how the integrity of the examination is maintained. 
10. ___ Demonstrate that reasonable measures have been taken to prevent student access to the course examination before enrollment 

in and completion of the course materials as defined in Section 2186.1(e)(2)(C) of Title 10 of the CCR. 
11. ___ Internet courses must include the provider’s Internet address, security measures, log-on and password to allow for Commissioner 

to review the course(s). Answers to examination questions must reference Section/chapter and screen for answer source. 

Non-Contact (Internet Delivery) – Online Prelicensing Course as defined in Section 2186.1(e)(2)(A) of Title 10 of the CCR: 
1. ___ A detailed statement on how the course is relevant to insurance topics and insurance products. 
2 ___ A copy of the applicable California prelicensing educational objectives with section/chapter and screen references to the provider 

course material for every line topic. 
3. ___ Internet address, log-on and password for course review. 
4. ___ Demonstrated compliance with Sections 2188.2.5 and 2188.5.5 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations. 

Ethics Training Course as defined in Section 1749.1(a) of the California Insurance Code (CIC): 
Attach separate sheet with responses to each of the eight statements listed below: 
1. ___ Describe how this course contributes to an agent’s understanding of his/her ethical responsibilities. 
2. ___ Point out where in the course examples of “good” licensee conduct are given, as well as examples of “bad” licensee conduct. 
3. ___ Explain how this course contributes to an agent’s understanding of the complexities of ethical decision-making within the context of 

insurance transactions. 
4. ___ Describe where in the coursework an agent may find tools to help the agent identify, prevent, and resolve ethical dilemmas that 

arise in the course of conducting insurance business. 
5. ___ Explain how the content of this course contributes to the producers understanding of proper vs. improper, honest vs. dishonest 

behavior. 
6. ___ Provide two samples of licensee conduct you will use in this course to contrast ethical with unethical behavior and details 

supporting the judgment of ethical or unethical behavior. 
7. ___ Explain how this course demonstrates to whom the licensee “owes” an ethical responsibility in this course and how this course will 

help the licensee understand his or her ethical responsibilities to such an entity. 
8. ___ Explain how this course helps the licensee distinguish between legal and ethical behavior and legal but unethical behavior. 

Annuity Training Course as defined in Section 1749.8 of the CIC: 
Eight-Hour Annuity Training Course: 
1. ___ A copy of the Eight-Hour Annuity Training Outline, approved by the Commissioner, with page and paragraph-references to 

the provider course material for every line topic.  
Four-Hour Annuity Training Course: 
1. ___ A copy of the selected Four-Hour Annuity Training Course Specific Topic Outline, approved by the Commissioner, with 

page and paragraph-references to the provider’s course material for every line topic. 
Independent Adjuster and/or Public Adjuster Course (attach separate sheet with responses to each of the four statements listed below) 
as defined in Section 14090.1 and/or 15059.1, of the CIC: 
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1. ___ Describe how this course contributes to an independent/public insurance adjuster’s understanding of insurance coverage 
and claims, how the course relates to the adjusting of insurance claims, and how adjuster competence may be improved by 
completion of the course. 

2. ___ Describe how this course contributes to an independent/public insurance adjuster’s understanding of insurance statutes 
and rules, how the course relates to the adjusting of insurance claims, and how adjuster competence may be improved by 
completion of the course. 

3. ___ Describe how this course contributes to an independent/public insurance adjuster’s understanding of specific topics (i.e., 
construction, commercial, residential), how the course relates to the adjusting of insurance claims, and how adjuster 
competence may be improved by the completion of the course. 

4. ___ Describe how this course contributes to an independent/public insurance adjuster’s understanding of valuation, how the 
course relates to the adjusting of insurance claims, and how adjuster competence may be improved by completion of this 
course. 

H. Life Settlement Broker Course as defined in Section 10113.2 of the CIC: 
1. ___ A copy of the 15-Hour Life Settlement Broker Outline, approved by the Commissioner, with page and paragraph-references 

to the provider course material for every line topic. 
California Eight-Hour  Long-Term Care Course  as  defined  in Section 10234.93(a)(4)  of  the CIC:  
1. ___ A copy of the Eight-Hour Mandatory Long-Term Care Course Outline, approved by the Commissioner, with page and 

paragraph-references to the provider course material for every line topic. 
J. Homeowners’ Insurance Valuation Course as defined in Section 1749.85 of the CIC and Section 2188.65 of Title 10 of the CCR: 

1. ___ A copy of the Homeowners’ Insurance Valuation course curriculum, approved by the Commissioner, with page and 
paragraph-references to the provider course material for every line topic. 

K.  General Category Course:  
1. ___ A detailed statement on how the course is equally relevant to a combination of the following license types: property broker-agent 

(PR), casualty broker-agent (CA), personal lines broker-agent (PL), limited lines automobile agent (AU), life only agent (LO) and 
accident and health agent (AH). Specifically, the provider is to describe in the course outline or material how the licensee that holds 
the specific license types (e.g. a licensee that holds PR, CA and AH or a PR, CA, LO and AH or PL, LO and AH license types) is 
enriched and is provided a more thorough education by completing a general category type course. Please note that if the course 
topics are specific to one license type, the Commissioner will give the course the appropriate course category code. 

PLEASE SEND THIS COMPLETED APPLICATION ALONG WITH THE PROPER ATTACHMENTS AND FILING FEE TO: 

California Department of Insurance Filing fees: 
Curriculum and Officer Review Bureau - Education Unit $41 per Continuing Education Course 
P.O. Box 957   
Sacramento, CA  95812-0957                                                                 $83 per Prelicensing Education Course 

Make check payable to: California Department of Insurance 

Course applications must be received in this office at least 30 days prior to the first course presentation date. Course advertisements for pending 
courses must clearly state that the course has been submitted and is pending approval, if the course application is complete and submitted within the 
appropriate time frame. EDUCATION UNIT INQUIRIES: (916) 492-3064. 
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