Skip to Main Content
Menu
Contact Us Search
CA Department of Insurance
CA Department of Insurance
CA Department of Insurance

Insurance Commissioner Lara Calls for 60-Day Insurance Premium Grace Period Due to COVID-19 Outbreak

News: 2020 Press Release

For Release: March 18, 2020
Media Calls Only: 916-492-3566
Email Inquiries: cdipress@insurance.ca.gov
Insurance Commissioner Lara Calls for 60-Day Insurance Premium Grace Period Due to COVID-19 Outbreak
In separate action, auto insurers requested to maintain insurance coverage and driver discounts to consumers with expired licenses

En español below:

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara today issued a Notice requesting that all insurance companies provide their policyholders with at least a 60-day grace period to pay insurance premiums. The Commissioner made the request to ensure policies are not cancelled for nonpayment of premium due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) public health emergency. 

The Notice follows Governor Gavin Newsom's State of Emergency declaration to make additional resources available, formalize emergency actions already underway across multiple state agencies and departments, and help the state prepare and mitigate against the broader spread of COVID-19. The Commissioner's Notice is directed to all admitted and non-admitted insurance companies that provide any insurance coverage in California including, life, health, auto, property, casualty, and other types of insurance. 

“Now is the time to come together to help consumers weather this unprecedented period of uncertainty, and that includes helping policyholders maintain their insurance coverage if they are unable to pay their premiums,” said Commissioner Lara. “We must do everything we can to ensure that consumers and their families maintain insurance coverage protection during this public health pandemic.”

Commissioner Lara is also requesting that all insurance agents, brokers, and other licensees who accept premium payments on behalf of insurers take steps to ensure that customers have the ability to make prompt insurance payments, if and where possible. This includes alternate methods of payment, such as online payments, to eliminate the need for in-person payment methods in order to protect the health and safety of both workers and customers.

In addition, in a separate Notice, the Commissioner requested the assistance of all automobile insurers, producers, and other licensees transacting automobile insurance in California. The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) recently asked California law enforcement to exercise discretion for 60 days in their enforcement of driver license and vehicle registration expirations beginning March 16, 2020, in order to have at-risk populations, including seniors and those with underlying conditions, avoid required visits to DMV field offices. 

To achieve this important objective, Commissioner Lara called on auto insurers to refrain from using the expiration of policyholders’ drivers licenses or vehicle registrations for 60 days, from March 16, 2020, for any of the following reasons:

  • To affect a driver’s ability to secure and maintain auto insurance coverage;
  • To affect a driver’s eligibility for a Good Driver discount;
  • To determine eligibility for a California Low Cost Automobile policy;
  • To impact the rates charged to any driver.

“The evolving COVID-19 pandemic continues to test all segments of our communities, including motorists,” said Commissioner Lara. “While we address this evolving crisis, Californians should not have to worry about driving with an expired license or losing their insurance coverage and driver discounts during this extraordinarily challenging time.”

This second Notice regarding driver license and vehicle registration expirations will be reevaluated at the end of the 60-day period.


# # #


El comisionado de seguros Lara hace un llamado para un período de gracia de 60 días para pólizas de seguro debido al brote de COVID-19

En una acción por separado, pidió a las aseguradoras de automóviles mantener la cobertura del seguro y los descuentos para conductores con licencias vencidas


SACRAMENTO, Calif. - El Comisionado de Seguros, Ricardo Lara, emitió hoy un Aviso solicitando que todas las compañías de seguros brinden a sus asegurados un período de gracia de por lo menos 60 días para pagar las primas de seguro. El Comisionado hizo la solicitud para garantizar que no se cancelen pólizas por falta de pago de la prima, debido a la emergencia de salud pública por el coronavirus (COVID-19).

El Aviso sigue la declaración del Estado de Emergencia del Gobernador Gavin Newsom para poner a disposición recursos adicionales, formalizar acciones de emergencia que ya están en marcha en múltiples agencias y departamentos estatales, y ayudar al estado a prepararse y mitigar la propagación de COVID-19. El Aviso del Comisionado se dirige a todas las compañías de seguros admitidas y no admitidas que brindan cobertura de seguro en California, incluidos seguros de vida, salud, automóviles, propiedad, accidentes y otros tipos de seguros.

"Ahora es el momento de unirnos para ayudar a los consumidores a superar este período de incertidumbre sin precedentes, y eso incluye ayudar a los asegurados a mantener su cobertura de seguro si no pueden pagar sus primas", dijo el comisionado Lara. "Debemos hacer todo lo posible para garantizar que los consumidores y sus familias mantengan la protección de seguros durante esta pandemia".

El Comisionado Lara también solicitó que todos los agentes de seguros, representantes y otros licenciatarios que aceptan pagos de primas a nombre de las aseguradoras, tomen medidas para garantizar que los clientes tengan la capacidad de realizar pagos inmediatos de seguro, si es posible. Esto incluye métodos alternativos de pago, como pagos en línea, para eliminar la necesidad de métodos de pago en persona para proteger la salud y la seguridad de los trabajadores y los clientes.

Además, en un Aviso separado, el Comisionado solicitó la asistencia de todas las aseguradoras de automóviles, productores y otros licenciatarios que realizan transacciones de seguros de automóviles en California. El Departamento de Vehículos Motorizados de California (DMV, por sus siglas en inglés) solicitó recientemente que las fuerzas del orden público de California ejerzan su discreción durante 60 días para hacer cumplir la validez de licencias de conducir y los vencimientos del registro de vehículos a partir del 16 de marzo de 2020. Esto es a fin de que poblaciones en riesgo, incluyendo las personas mayores y las personas con condiciones subyacentes, eviten las visitas obligatorias a las oficinas del DMV.

Para lograr este importante objetivo, el Comisionado Lara pidió a las aseguradoras de automóviles que se abstengan de usar el vencimiento de las licencias de conducir de los asegurados o los registros de vehículos durante 60 días, a partir del 16 de marzo de 2020, por cualquiera de las siguientes razones:

  • Para afectar la capacidad del conductor para asegurar y mantener la cobertura de seguro de auto;
  • Para afectar la elegibilidad de un conductor para un descuento de Buen Conductor;
  • Para determinar la elegibilidad para una póliza de seguro de auto de bajo costo en California;
  • Para impactar las tarifas cobradas a cualquier conductor.

"La evolución de la pandemia COVID-19 continúa poniendo a prueba todos los segmentos de nuestras comunidades, incluyendo a los automovilistas", dijo el comisionado Lara. "A medida que enfrentamos esta crisis, los californianos no deberían tener que preocuparse por conducir con una licencia vencida o perder su cobertura de seguro y descuentos para conductores durante estos momentos extraordinariamente difíciles".

Este segundo Aviso sobre la caducidad de la licencia de conducir y el registro del vehículo se evaluará al final del período de 60 días.



The California Department of Insurance, established in 1868, is the largest consumer protection agency in California. Insurers collect $310 billion in premiums annually in California. Since 2011 the California Department of Insurance received more than 1,000,000 calls from consumers and helped recover over $469 million in claims and premiums. Please visit the Department of Insurance website at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non-media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800-927-4357. Teletypewriter (TTY), please dial 800-482-4833.

Google Translate