2013 Tax Return Information
January 13, 2014
TO:All Admitted Insurers, Medi-Cal Managed Care Plans, Surplus Line Brokers, and Other Interested Parties
SUBJECT: 2013 Tax Return Information
The 2013 tax filing for Surplus Line Brokers is due to the California Department of Insurance (CDI) on March 1, 2014, and the annual tax filing for Insurers and the Medi-Cal Managed Care Plans is due on April 1, 2014, except for the Ocean Marine insurance tax filing, which is due on June 15, 2014.
Important tax filing information is as follows:
For the purpose of this notice, "insurer" means both insurers and Medi-Cal Managed Care Plans.
Each insurer or surplus line broker is required to file a tax return for all business transacted during the preceding calendar year. Please note that if you had no business transacted in 2013 or you started your business in 2013, you are still required to file a tax return by the appropriate required due date. (California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 12302 and California Insurance Code Section 1774) Note: If you are a surplus line broker and have no taxable premiums to report, please use CDI's tax return CDI FS-006-0 (REVISED 09/2013).
Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar year was five thousand dollars ($5,000) or more is required to make quarterly prepayments or monthly installment payments for the current calendar year. Specifically, if your 2013 tax liability was $5,000 or more, you are required to make the quarterly prepayments or monthly installment payments for 2014. Please refer to this year's tax due dates. (
Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar year was more than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) is required to make payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (
Please provide your contact person's e-mail address on your tax return to ensure that CDI can provide your company with the latest tax updates.
Please file only one (1) original tax return form with CDI.
All 2013 tax return forms and instructions can be found on this website. To obtain the "California Tax on Insurers" Guide, please refer to www.boe.ca.gov and under "Forms & Publications", select "Business Tax Law Guide", then under "Table of Contents", access Volume 4, Tax on Insurers.
If you are unable to access the CDI website, prefer to obtain a hard copy of a tax form, or have any questions regarding tax payments, please contact us at (916)492-3288.
ADMINISTRATION AND LICENSING SERVICES BRANCH