separator
Skip to Contentseparator HomeseparatorCheck License StatussepartorContact UssepartorRequest for Assistance
Welcome to the California Department of Insurance
Site tools
Decrease font size Increase font size Site map Help Print-friendly version
AGENTS & BROKERS: REINSURANCE INTERMEDIARY-BROKER (RB)/REINSURANCE INTERMEDIARY-MANAGER (RM)

Licensing Information

Applicable Forms:

Individual Application for Reinsurance Intermediary, form LIC 441-14.
Application for Organization Reinsurance Intermediary, form LIC 441-15.

Authorizing Act:

Section 1781.2 of the California Insurance Code reads, in part: 

A Reinsurance Intermediary-broker means any person, other than an officer or employee of the ceding insurer, firm, association, or corporation that solicits, negotiates, or places reinsurance cessions or retrocessions on behalf of a ceding insurer without the authority or power to bind reinsurance on behalf of that insurer.

A Reinsurance Intermediary-manager means any person, firm, association, or corporation that has authority to bind, or manages all or part of the assumed reinsurance business of, a reinsurer (including the management of a separate division, department, or underwriting office) and acts as an agent for the reinsurer whether known as a reinsurance intermediary-manager, manager, or other similar term.


Qualifications:

  • Minimum Age: 18 years.
  • Residency: California residency is not required.
  • Prelicensing Experience/Education: Not required.
  • Continuing Education: Not required.
  • Entity Types: Individual and Business Entity.

Filing Requirements - Individual Residents:

  • Application: Individual Application for Reinsurance Intermediary, form LIC 441-14.
  • License Filing Fee: $309 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $340).
  • Examination: Not required.
  • Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.


Filing Requirements - Business Entity Residents:

  • Business Entity Application: Application for Organization Reinsurance Intermediary, form LIC 441-15.
  • Natural Person Named on Business Entity: Application for Individual Reinsurance Intermediary, form LIC 441-14, for each member or employee of a firm or association, or an officer, director, or employee of a corporation.
  • License Filing Fee: $309 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $340).
  • Examination: Not required.
  • Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.

Filing Requirements - Individual Non-Residents:

  • Application: Individual Application for Reinsurance Intermediary, form LIC 441-14.  
  • Certification of License Status from Resident State.
  • License Filing Fee: $309 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $340).
  • Examination: Not required.
  • Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.


Filing Requirements - Business Entity Non-Residents:

  • Business Entity Application: Application for Organization Reinsurance Intermediary, form LIC 441-15.
  • Natural Person Named on Business Entity: Application for individual reinsurance intermediary, form LIC 441-14, for each member or employee of a firm or association, or an officer, director, or employee of a corporation.
  • Certification of License Status from Resident State: Must be in the Business Entity name.
  • License Filing Fees:  $309 (effective 3/17/2014 this fee will be $340).
  • Examination: Not required.
  • Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such other documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.

License Term: Perpetual


Additional Information:

Federal law (Title 18 United States Code Section 1033) prohibits anyone who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust from conducting the business of insurance unless they have obtained the written consent of the Insurance Commissioner. It is a violation of this statute to conduct business of insurance without the Commissioners written consent. If you have been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or a breach of trust then you must attach a copy of this consent. If you have not obtained this written consent you must do so by filing a 1033 Short Form Application for Written Consent prior to filing your application.

If any officer, director, member or employee will not be acting as a Reinsurance Intermediary on behalf of the organization, we will require a letter signed by an officer stating such.

If filing for both the Reinsurance Intermediary-broker and the Reinsurance Intermediary-manager, only one application and fee are required.

To obtain insurance licensing information on Reinsurance Intermediaries, you may phone the Producer Licensing Bureau's Business Entity unit at (916) 492-3069.

To request insurance licensing forms via e-mail, send your request to: Producer Licensing Bureau.

All fees mailed to the Department must be addressed to:

Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95812-1139

All fees are filing fees and are not refundable, whether or not the application is acted upon or the examination taken.

Form 666-A (04/2013)

Return to Producer Licensing Bureau Forms Main Page

separator