Application Procedures-Business Entity Non-Residents (LOLP)
Application Procedures: Business Entity - Non-Residents
Please follow the steps noted below to file for a business entity license:
Step 1 - Applicants must submit an application form LIC 441-11.
Step 2 - Endorse an individual life-limited to the payment of funeral and burial expenses agent or life-only agent. Business entity must name at least one natural person who holds a California non-resident life-limited to the payment of funeral and burial expenses agent license and is licensed as a resident of the same state as the business entity to represent the business license.
Endorsees can be named on the Business Entity Application during the initial business entity application filing. However, once licensed, a Business entity endorsement form LIC 441-8A must be submitted for each new endorsee.
Note: Pursuant to Section 1656 of the California Insurance Code, a California resident cannot be endorsed on a non-resident business entity.
Each natural person who does not hold an active California non-resident life-limited to the payment of funeral and burial expenses agent license or California non-resident life-only agent license must file separately for an individual non-resident life-limited to the payment of funeral and burial expenses agent license or individual non-resident life-only agent license. These links will provide information on individual filing requirements: Individual Non-Resident Life-Limited to the Payment of Funeral and Burial Expenses Agent or Individual Non-Resident Life-Only Agent.
Step 3 - License two year filing fee: $154 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $170).
Business Entity Endorsement fee: $26 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $29) per endorsee.
Financial Security Requirements for Limited Liability Companies
Assembly Bill 729 (Koretz, Chapter 312, Statutes of 2005) was signed into law on September 22, 2005. Effective January 1, 2006, the bill requires limited liability companies (LLC's) to provide proof of satisfying the security requirements of Section 1647.5 of the California Insurance Code when applying for an insurance license and once licensed, must also file with the Commissioner an annual confirmation of coverage demonstrating continued compliance with the financial security requirements. Additional information regarding the new requirements is contained in the public notice linked on this page.
For additional LLC application filing information, annual certification of coverage information, and links to forms that can be used as proof of fulfilling the security requirements please go to the following link: Business Entity Limited Liability Company Requirements
Additional Documents: The Insurance Commissioner may require such documents as will aid in determining whether the applicant meets the qualifications for a license.
Upon application approval the license can be downloaded and printed by using the CDI's Print or Download Your License online service. However, the business entity may not transact, solicit, or negotiate the sale of insurance until an Action Notice of Appointment is filed, with $26 (effective March 1, 2015 this fee will be $29) filing fee, completed by the sponsoring insurance company admitted to California. Pursuant to Section 2190.22 of Title 10 of the California Code of Regulations, the Action Notice of Appointment must be submitted electronically. To submit appointments electronically contact the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) and its authorized business partners for a list of approved partners.
All fees mailed to the department must be addressed to:
Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 1139
Sacramento, CA 95912-1139
All filing fees submitted are not refundable or transferable, whether or not the application is acted upon or an examination taken.
To obtain insurance licensing information on Business Entities, you may phone the Producer Licensing Bureau's Business Entity unit at (916) 492-3069.