24-Hour Care Coverage
24-Hour Care Coverage Continuing Education
Pursuant to Section 1749.33(d) of the California Insurance Code, any accident and health agent who wishes to sell 24-hour care coverage, as defined in Section 1749.02, shall complete a course, program of instruction, or seminar of an approved continuing education provider on workers' compensation and general principles of employer liability, which shall be completed by examination approved by the Commissioner as part of the continuing education course, program of instruction, or seminar prior to selling this coverage. The required number of instruction hours shall be equal to but no greater than that required by the curriculum board for the prelicensing requirements of a fire and casualty broker-agent on these subjects. For resident licensees, this requirement shall count toward the licensee's continuing education requirement, but may still result in completing more than the minimum number of continuing education hours set forth in this section. Nothing in this section shall be deemed to allow an accident and health agent to satisfy the obligations set forth in this section by other than a proctored examination administered or approved by the California Department of Insurance.
The continuing education requirement is a four-hour course and will include the information on the following link: 24-hour care coverage