Warning to consumers of potential scams during AB 60 license process
News: 2014 Press Release
SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Implementation of Assembly Bill 60 (Alejo) has the potential to improve safety and decrease the number of uninsured motorists on California roads. Unfortunately, with this historic opportunity to license undocumented immigrants in California, it is also expected that criminals will attempt to scam these new drivers.
"It is essential that consumers take the time to educate themselves on what insurance is necessary and appropriate for them," said Commissioner Dave Jones. "The department's goal is to prevent anyone from receiving tickets and fines or deal with a suspended vehicle registration due to a lack of insurance or as a result of a scam."
Consumers are encouraged to check the license status of insurance agents or brokers on the California Department of Insurance website or call the consumer hotline at 800-927-4357 for assistance. Experts advise that if at any time you feel pressured to purchase an insurance policy, trust your instincts and do not sign anything. Scammers often rely on high-pressure sales tactics and consumers not asking trusted friends or family for advice or assistance.
Some income-eligible, good drivers may discover that for less than $38 a month the California Low Cost Auto Insurance program may be the most cost effective insurance option available. This program meets the requirements for California's mandatory auto insurance law and starting January 1, 2015 it is also available to drivers that are at least 19 years old with no previous driving experience.
To determine if you are eligible for the California Low Cost Auto Insurance program, call 866-602-8861 or visit www.mylowcostauto.com to learn more.
# # #
- What you need to know before you buy automobile insurance. http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0150-seniors/0200beforebuy/Shop4AutoIns.cfm
- Learn about the California Low Cost Automobile Insurance program. www.mylowcostauto.com
The California Department of Insurance, established in 1868, is the largest consumer protection agency in California. Insurers collect $289 billion in premiums annually in California. Since 2011 the California Department of Insurance received more than 1,000,000 calls from consumers and helped recover over $394 million in claims and premiums. Please visit the Department of Insurance web site at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non-media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800.927.HELP or 213.897.8921. Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD), please dial 800.482.4833.