Consumer Success Stories
Studies, Reports & Publications
News: 2013 Press Release
For Release: November 25, 2013
Media Calls Only: 916-492-3566
Insurance Commissioner recommends lower pure premium rate than suggested by workers comp rating bureau
SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones today adopted an advisory average pure premium rate of 2.70 dollars per 100 dollars of employer payroll for workers compensation rates effective January 1, 2014.
The adopted amount is lower than that proposed by the Workers' Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau of California's (WCIRB). The WCIRB's proposed advisory average rate was $2.75 per $100 of payroll. The WCIRB's proposed advisory average pure premium rate is 8.7% ($2.75 per $100 of payroll) above the industry's average filed rates as of July 1, 2013 and the adopted pure premium rate ($2.70 per $100 of payroll) is 6.7% above the industry's average filed rates as of July 1, 2013.
Commissioner Jones, the WCIRB and the public members' actuary all agree that the overall impact of SB 863 (2012) continues to result in savings for the workers' compensation system. The California Department of Insurance continues to observe that medical and indemnity losses are outpacing wage growth and consequently, the average advisory pure premium will increase in 2014.
- The commissioner's pure premium decision is advisory only. Pursuant to California law, the commissioner does not set or have authority over workers' compensation insurance rates. The commissioner's advisory pure premium rate is not predictive of what an individual insurance company may charge its policyholders because the review of pure premium rates is just one component of insurance pricing.
- Workers' Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau of California
The California Department of Insurance, established in 1868, is the largest consumer protection agency in California, regulating the $123 billion insurance marketplace. In 2012 the California Department of Insurance received more than 160,000 calls from consumers and helped recover over $64 million in claims and premiums. Please visit the Department of Insurance web site at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non-media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800.927.HELP. Out-of-state callers, please dial 213.897.8921. Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD), please dial 800.482.4833.
If you are a member of the public wishing information, please visit our Consumer Services.