separator
Skip to Contentseparator HomeseparatorCheck License StatussepartorContact UssepartorRequest for Assistance
Welcome to the California Department of Insurance
Site tools
Decrease font size Increase font size Site map Help Print-friendly version

News: 2011 Press Release

For Release: April 11, 2011
Media Calls Only: 916-492-3566
Insurance Commissioner Jones Applauds Signing of Health Conformity Legislation

Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones today issued the following statement, after Governor Jerry Brown signed into law AB 36, also known as the Health Care Conformity Bill, by Assembly Members Henry T. Perea and Bob Blumenfield:

"I would like to express my congratulations to Assembly Members Perea and Blumenfield for jointly authoring and securing the passage of this critical legislation and to Governor Brown for signing it into law. AB 36 removes a tax impediment to California parents eager to take advantage of the provision of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act that allows parents to keep their kids on their health insurance up to age 26. This is an important win for California's families, and I look forward to working with the Legislature and Governor Brown in the future to address the unresolved health care issues facing our state."

For more information about AB 36, please visit http://asmdc.org/members/a31/ or http://asmdc.org/members/a40/.

###
 

The California Department of Insurance, established in 1868, is the largest consumer protection agency in California, regulating the $123 billion insurance marketplace. In 2013 the California Department of Insurance received more than 170,000 calls from consumers and helped recover over $63 million in claims and premiums. Please visit the Department of Insurance web site at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non-media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800.927.HELP or 213.897.8921. Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD), please dial 800.482.4833.

separator