separator
Skip to Contentseparator HomeseparatorCheck License StatussepartorContact UssepartorRequest for Assistance
Welcome to the California Department of Insurance
Site tools
Decrease font size Increase font size Site map Help Print-friendly version

News: 2011 Press Release

For Release: February 3, 2011
Media Calls Only: 916-492-3566
Commissioner Jones Announces Open Enrollment For Children Regardless Of Pre-Existing Conditions
Open Enrollment Period ends March 1

Attached is a public service announcement audio file of Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones offering tips for parents regarding open enrollment for children with pre-existing conditions. (30 seconds)

Audio transcript:

This is Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones. The President's health care reform package now allows Children with pre-existing conditions to obtain health care insurance at a lower cost during open enrollment that ends on March 1.

For assistance, call the California Department of Insurance at 1-800-927-HELP. That's 800-927-HELP.

Commissioner Jones offers the following tips for parents as they seek to protect their children:

  •  Immediately seek coverage for their children
  •  Act fast, before the March 1 deadline
  •  After March 1 know that coverage is still available, but the premiums will be higher

Parents can obtain enrollment information for their children during and after the open enrollment period by going to the California Department of Insurance (CDI) web site at www.insurance.ca.gov or by contacting CDI's consumer hotline at 1-800-927-HELP.

Additionally, parents can go to http://finder.healthcare.gov/, a web site created to assist consumers in navigating their options under the Affordable Care Act.

 

###
 

The California Department of Insurance, established in 1868, is the largest consumer protection agency in California, regulating the $123 billion insurance marketplace. In 2012 the California Department of Insurance received more than 160,000 calls from consumers and helped recover over $64 million in claims and premiums. Please visit the Department of Insurance web site at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non-media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800.927.HELP. Out-of-state callers, please dial 213.897.8921. Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD), please dial 800.482.4833.

If you are a member of the public wishing information, please visit our Consumer Services.

separator