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NOTICE 
 
TO:   California Resident Insurance Producers, Insurers and all Interested Parties 
 
DATE: August 1, 2006 
 
SUBJECT:  Ethics Continuing Education Requirement 
 
The purpose of this notice is to inform resident insurance agents and brokers of a new continuing education 
requirement. Specifically, Section 2188.6 (h), (i), and (j) of the California Code of Regulations was 
amended effective June 24, 2006 to require Fire and Casualty broker-agents and Life agents to complete 
four hours of ethics continuing education every license term; and, to require Personal Lines broker-agents 
to complete two hours of ethics continuing education every license term. 
   
The new ethics requirement does not increase the total continuing education hours that must be completed 
every license term.  The Fire and Casualty broker-agents and Life agents who have been required to 
complete 30 hours of continuing education in the past, will continue to complete 30 hours in the future, but 
at least four of the hours must be in an approved ethics course(s).  The Personal Lines broker-agents who 
have been required to complete 20 hours to continuing education will continue to complete 20 hours in the 
future, but at least two of the hours must be in an approved ethics course(s). 
 
The ethics continuing education will be required for agents and brokers whose license term expires on or 
after January 31, 2007. Agents and brokers not completing the ethics continuing education prior to the 
expiration date of their license will not be allowed to renew their license until this requirement has been 
met. 
 
If the ethics continuing education is completed after the expiration date of the license, then the renewal will 
be considered a late renewal.  Please note that a 50 percent penalty fee is required to late renew the license; 
and, all endorsements, appointments, employee/employer relationships must be reestablished with the 
appropriate forms and fees. There is no grace period. Agents and brokers have one year from the expiration 
date to late renew the license; after which time they must file a new application, appointment (s), fees, pre-
licensing certificates and pass the qualifying examination. 
 
Approved ethics continuing education courses are shown on the California Department of Insurance’s 
(CDI) Web site at www.insurance.ca.gov.  To review these courses, please drop down the Quick Links 
menu, click on Producer Licensing, click on Current Licensee Information, then click on Continuing 
Education – Individual Licensee Information.  When the Continuing Education – Individual Licensee 
Information Web page opens, click on Education Provider and Course Search and fill-in the requested 
information. In addition, the Continuing Education – Individual Licensee Information Web page has a link 
to the ethics continuing education requirements that provides you with access to the amendments to 
Sections 2186 to 2188.9 of the California Code of Regulations.  This Web page highlights the changes to 
the regulations. 
 
If you have any questions concerning the ethics continuing education requirement, please contact the 
Producer Licensing Bureau Education Section at (916) 492-3064. 
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