Section 1749 of the California Insurance Code requires all new applicants for a license as a personal lines broker-agent to take a minimum of 20 hours of prelicensing classroom study as a prerequisite to qualify for a personal lines broker-agent license. In addition to the 20 hours of prelicensing education required to qualify for a license as a personal lines broker-agent, the applicant must complete 12 hours of classroom study on ethics and code. Due to these two requirements, an applicant for a personal lines broker-agent license must complete 32 hours of prelicensing classroom education.
The curriculum for satisfying this requirement can be found in the Educational Objectives for the California Personal Lines Broker-Agent Examination.*
Pursuant to Section 1749 (e) of the California Insurance Code, an applicant for a personal lines broker-agent license who is currently licensed as such in another state and who has completed 40 hours of prelicensing education as a requirement for licensing in that state shall be required to complete only the course of study on ethics and the insurance code. Additionally, any applicant for such a license holding one or more of the designations (AAI, CIC, and CPCU) shall be exempted from any requirement for courses in general insurance that would otherwise be a condition of issuance of the license.
The applicant is required to complete education from an approved prelicensing provider in the following areas:
Prelicensing Education on Ethics and the California Insurance Code requirements relating to:
Property and Liability (Fire and Casualty and Personal Lines only)
Excess and Surplus Lines
General Insurance relating to:
- Concepts and Principles
- Insurance Contract Law
- Contract Law
The Insurance Marketplace
- Distribution Systems
- Market Regulation
Basic Concepts of Property and Liability Insurance
Personal Lines Insurance
- Dwelling Insurance: General Concepts
- Dwelling Fire/Homeowners Section I
- Homeowners Section II/(Comprehensive Personal Liability)
- Selected Homeowners Endorsements
- Inland Marine: General Concepts
- Inland Marine: Personal Insurance
Government /Pools / Catastrophe - Property Insurance
- Earthquake Coverage
- FAIR Plan
- National Flood Insurance
- Personal Auto - General Concepts
- Personal Auto - Liability/Medical/Uninsured Motorist
- Personal Auto - Physical Damage/Miscellaneous
- California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan (CAARP)
- Recreational Vehicles
- GAP Coverage
Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance
- Insurance Products and Practices
The certificate of completion of the 32-hour pre-licensing course must be filed with the application for license Form LIC 441-9.*
The applicant is required to complete an application. There are two types of application forms: business entity and individual. If the applicant is a business entity, Form LIC 441-11 must be submitted. If the applicant is an individual, Form LIC 441-9 needs to be submitted with the Certificate of Completion for the 32-hour personal lines prelicensing classroom course.
The applicant is required to take the Personal Lines Broker-Agent examination after completing the 32-hour personal lines prelicensing classroom course.
License Term: Section 1625.5 of the CIC was amended to restructure the dates that initial licenses for Personal Lines Broker-Agents are effective so that renewals are staggered throughout the year rather than all due at the same time at the beginning of every odd year as it is at present. However, the renewal date for an existing Personal Lines Broker-Agent will remain the same. If a Personal Lines Broker-Agent also holds an additional license qualification (e.g. Life-Only Agent, Accident and Health Agent) the Personal Lines Broker-Agent's renewal date will be changed so that these licensees will have one renewal date instead of two renewal dates as it is at present.
Note: If a Personal Lines Broker-Agent license is issued to a licensee with an existing license term, the Personal Lines license will be issued with the same license term as the existing license.
Mail application with fees to: California Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 1139, Sacramento, CA 95812-1139.
*These forms are in PDF format. To view these forms, your browser must have Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer. A free copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded from our Free Document Readers website.
If you have any questions about the Personal Lines Broker-Agent License information you are reviewing, please read the most commonly asked questions in our Personal Lines Questions and Answers section. If you need further assistance, please call CDI's Producer Licensing Bureau at (800) 967-9331 or send an e-mail to Producer Licensing Bureau. Please be sure to include your name, telephone number, license number and e-mail address in all correspondence with the CDI.