CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 1 LEGAL DIVISION 300 Capitol Mall, 17<sup>th</sup> Floor 2 Sacramento, California 95814 Telephone: (916) 492-3500 3 Facsimile: (916) 324-1883 4 Attorneys for Dave Jones, **Insurance Commissioner** 5 6 7 BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 8 OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 9 10 In the Matter of the License and Licensing File No. DISP-2016-00221 11 Rights of: STIPULATION AND WAIVER 12 YOURPEOPLE, INC., 13 Doing business as ZENEFITS FTW INSURANCE 14 SERVICES, 15 Respondent. 16 17 18 TO THE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA: 19 20 YOURPEOPLE, Inc., doing business as ZENEFITS FTW INSURANCE SERVICES 21 ("Respondent"), does hereby enter this Stipulation and Waiver in the above-entitled matter and 22 stipulates as follows: 23 1. Respondent acknowledges receipt of the Order to Show Cause, Statement of 24 Charges, Accusation, and Notice of Monetary Penalty ("OSC") as well as a Notice of Defense 25 Form, and Statement to Respondent in the above-entitled matter. 26 2. Respondent, by entering into this Stipulation and Waiver, does not contest the 27 Commissioner's contention that the facts alleged in the OSC provide a basis for imposition of 28 discipline against Respondent's license and licensing rights pursuant to the California

#992286.1 -1-

Insurance Code provisions cited in said Order to Show Cause.

3. Respondent hereby waives Notice of Hearing and hearing, and all other rights that may be accorded pursuant to Chapter 5, Part 1, Division 3, Title 2 (Sections 15000-11528, inclusive) of the Government Code of the State of California, and by the California Insurance Code.

## RESPONDENT'S REMEDIATION EFFORTS

- 4. The parties acknowledge that the nature, scope and terms of the settlement in this matter as set forth herein, are, in large part, based on the steps taken by Respondent to report its past violations, remediate those violations, implement new controls to prevent the recurrence of violations, and to make fundamental changes in its corporate governance.
- 5. Respondent retained PricewaterhouseCoopers ("PwC") to provide independent reports of Respondent's violations. Respondent implemented new administrative and technical licensing controls to ensure that employees who transact insurance business with customers have appropriate resident and non-resident licenses. PwC tested the design of the new controls and determined that these controls are adequately designed to address the risk of sales activity being performed by agents without appropriate producer licensure. In the third quarter of 2016, PwC reviewed the operation of the licensing controls and found that the Respondent's new systemic controls work effectively to prevent licensing non-compliance. Respondent has provided these licensing controls as a free Salesforce application called Licensing+.
- 6. In addition, Respondent has obtained resident and non-resident California insurance producer licenses for all current employees that performed the transactions referenced in the Order to Show Cause. Furthermore, Respondent has mandated that all of its producers complete 52 hours of continuing education courses offered by the National Association of Health Underwriters ("NAHU"), including 12 hours of ethics training.
- 7. Further, Respondent made a series of fundamental changes. Respondent changed its top leadership by replacing its CEO and reconstituting its Board of Directors. Respondent created the position of Chief Compliance Officer and established a compliance team with 12 dedicated compliance personnel positions. Respondent changed its corporate values to values

more appropriate for a regulated company. Furthermore, Respondent has cooperated with the Department in the course of its investigation.

## IMPOSITION OF DISCIPLINE

- 8. Respondent agrees to pay a monetary penalty in the amount of three million dollars (\$3,000,000) for Respondent's licensing compliance violations described in paragraphs 12 through 16 of the Order to Show Cause. In recognition of the self reporting of these violations and the remedial measures taken by Respondent to prevent future licensing compliance violations, one million five hundred thousand dollars (\$1,500,000) of such monetary penalty shall be suspended for a period of not less than 24 months. Payment of the suspended portion of the monetary penalty shall be subject to paragraphs 11, 13 and 15, below.
- 9. Respondent agrees to pay a monetary penalty in the amount of four million dollars (\$4,000,000) for subverting pre-licensing education study-hour requirements as described in paragraphs 17 through 20 of the Order to Show Cause. In recognition of the self reporting of these violations and the remedial measures taken by Respondent to correct the potential harm from its wrongful acts and to ensure pre-licensing education study-hour requirements will be complied with in the future, two million dollars (\$2,000,000) of such monetary penalty shall be suspended for a period of not less than 24 months. Payment of the suspended portion of the monetary payment shall be subject to paragraphs 11, 14, and 16, below.
- 10. Respondent further agrees to pay one hundred sixty thousand dollars (\$160,000) to reimburse the Insurance Commissioner for his costs in examining Respondent's conduct in this matter. Respondent shall pay this amount within 30 days after receiving an invoice from the California Department of Insurance, Accounting Services Bureau.
- 11. Respondent further agrees that if the amounts set forth in paragraphs 8 and 9 that have not been suspended, and the Commissioner's costs set forth in paragraph 10, are not paid within 30 days, as specified in the Department's invoice, the Insurance Commissioner may revoke Respondent's license and licensing rights without further notice or hearing. Further, if the Commissioner finds, after notice and a hearing, that pursuant to paragraph 12, below, Respondent is obligated to pay the suspended portion of the monetary penalty, and Respondent fails to make

such payment within the time period required by a final order, the Insurance Commissioner may revoke Respondent's license and licensing rights without further notice or hearing.

- 12. Respondent also agrees to submit to an examination pursuant to Insurance Code section 730 by the Department of its licensing compliance and pre-licensing education compliance in 24 months after the date of the order adopting this stipulation. Respondent agrees to provide the Department with all materials and information necessary to complete its examination.
- 13. At the completion of the examination, Respondent agrees that it will immediately pay the suspended portion of the monetary penalty in paragraph 8 above, if the Commissioner determines, based on the results of the examination, and after notice, and a hearing if requested by Respondent, that Respondent, or any of its employees, contractors or officers, have committed further licensing violations. The Commissioner shall waive the imposition of this portion of the monetary penalty if the subsequent licensing violations are de minimis in nature. For purposes of this settlement only, licensing violations discovered by the examination will be considered de minimis if the total number of violations is less than one percent of the total number of policies issued in California during the twenty-four month period covered by the examination.
- 14. At the completion of the examination, Respondent agrees that it will immediately pay the suspended portion of the monetary penalty in paragraph 9 above, if the Commissioner determines, based on the results of the examination, and after notice, and a hearing if requested by Respondent, that Respondent, or any of its employees, contractors or officers, have committed further violations of the pre-licensing education requirements.
- 15. Upon a determination by the Commissioner at the completion of the examination required pursuant to paragraph 12 that Respondent has continued its remedial measures and committed no further licensing compliance violations, the suspended portion of the monetary penalty referenced in paragraph 8 above shall be waived.
- 16. Upon a determination by the Commissioner at the completion of the examination required pursuant to paragraph 12 that Respondent has continued its remedial measures and committed no further pre-licensing education violations, the suspended portion of the monetary

#992286.1

-5-