1 2 3 4	CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSUR LEGAL DIVISION Eugene Kalinsky (SBN: 256751) Brooke A. Fong (SBN: 271430) 300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1700 Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 492-3497	RANCE
5 6	Attorneys for CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE	
7	BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER	
8	OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA	
9		
10 11	In the Matter of	File No. OC201700492-AP
12 13	THE NATIONAL RIFLE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA,	ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST and NOTICE OF RIGHT TO HEARING
14		(Insurance Code § 12921.8)
15 16	Respondent.	
17		
18	JURISDICTION AND PARTIES	
19	California Insurance Code § 12921.8(a) authorizes the Insurance	
20	Commissioner to issue a Cease and Desist Order to a person who has acted in a	
21	capacity for which a license, registration, or Certificate of Authority from the Insurance	
22	Commissioner was required but not possessed.1	
23		
24	Respondent, The National I	Rifle Association of America ("NRA"), is a
25	nonprofit organization located in Fairfax, Virginia. It was founded in 1871 to "promote	
26	and encourage rifle shooting on a scientific basis." Over time, it has expanded its focus	
27	to include gun education and political lobbying related to gun ownership and use.	
28	¹ See Exhibit 1.	

1

7

8 9

10 11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22 23

24 25

26 27

28

FINDINGS & AUTHORITY

- 3. In approximately April 2017, the NRA introduced "Carry Guard," which it described as a "membership carry program" that offers "comprehensive coverage and training" for those who carry a gun. The "coverage" the NRA is referring to is the "Carry Guard Personal Firearms Liability Including Self Defense Insurance Policy." ("Policy")
- 4. The Policy covers legal damages from bodily injury or property damage arising out of use of a firearm, air gun, bow and arrow, or trapping equipment while engaged in the following activities:
 - Use of a legally possessed firearm by the policyholder while engaged in an "act of self-defense":
 - Use of a legally possessed firearm by a resident family member of the policyholder while engaged in an "act of self-defense" at the resident premises;
 - Hunting, trapping, or recreational shooting;
 - Shooting at competitions or for recreation at hunt clubs, gun clubs, or supervised commercial or private ranges;
 - An accidental discharge not prohibited or restricted by any local, state, federal, or provincial law.
- 5. The Policy defines an "act of self-defense" as "defending one's person, or other persons who may be threatened, or one's property when you use or threaten to use a 'legally possessed firearm' as may be authorized by any applicable local, state. federal, or provincial laws...."
- 6. Policy benefits include defense of a civil suit and reimbursement of costs of a criminal proceeding that does not result in a conviction or guilty plea. Such reimbursement includes costs for an attorney consultation and retainer, bail,

psychological counseling support, biohazard cleanup, and confiscated firearm replacement.

7. The Policy provides four levels of coverage, ranging from \$250,000 to \$1.5 million in civil defense benefits, and \$50,000 to \$250,000 in criminal defense benefits.

Annual premium varies from approximately \$155 to \$550 depending on the level of coverage.

8. To purchase the Policy, an individual must join Carry Guard and pay a membership fee. Carry Guard members are not required to be members of the NRA itself to purchase the Policy. New Carry Guard enrollees who are not already NRA members receive a one-year NRA membership. New Carry Guard enrollees who are existing NRA members may gift an NRA membership to someone else.

9. As of July 26, 2018, 2,397 California residents were active policyholders.

10. On June 1, 2017, the NRA sent an email to subscribers of its mailing list featuring national spokesperson Dana Loesch asking the recipient to "[s]ign up for NRA Carry Guard today!" The email stated that this product is "affordable for everyone! You can have this comprehensive protection, which also includes automatic coverage for your spouse, for just pennies a day!" The email also provides information on the specific benefits and coverages available under the Policy, including payments for "bail, bonds, legal retainer fees, lawful replacement of your legally possessed firearm, compensation while in court, psychological support and property restoration costs." The email also stated that "[e]ach NRA Carry Guard member has his or her own insurance limit ranging from \$250,000 to \$1,000,000 depending on the level of coverage you choose."²

² The increase in the available civil defense benefits to \$1.5 million occurred after the date of this email.

11. Another NRA email on October 16, 2017 from NRA CEO Wayne LaPierre asked the recipient to "[s]ign up for NRA Carry Guard today!" Like the June 1, 2017 email featuring Dana Loesch, this email listed the specific benefits available under the Policy. LaPierre ended by encouraging the recipient to "close this critical gap in your insurance coverage today, and I look forward to hearing that you've secured this important protection for you and your family."

12. The emails described in Paragraphs 10 and 11 constitute solicitation of insurance, as a reasonable observer could plausibly interpret the messages, which explained why the recipient should buy the Policy and provided specific Policy details, as soliciting his or her business.

13. Insurance Code § 1631 prohibits a person from soliciting, negotiating, or effecting contracts of insurance unless the person holds a valid license from the Insurance Commissioner authorizing the person to act in such a capacity. The NRA has never held a valid license to solicit, negotiate, or effect contracts of insurance in California.

 Insurance Code § 12921.8 does not require the Insurance Commissioner to hold a hearing prior to issuing a Cease and Desist Order.

ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST

15. The NRA is hereby ORDERED to immediately CEASE AND DESIST from transacting insurance in the State of California, defined in Insurance Code §§ 35 and 1631 as engaging in solicitation, negotiations preliminary to execution of a contract of insurance, execution of a contract of insurance, and transaction of matters subsequent to execution of the contract and arising out of it.

NOTICE OF FINE

16. The Insurance Commissioner may, pursuant to Insurance Code § 12921.8(a)(3)(B), impose a fine of up to \$5,000 for each day this Order is violated.

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO HEARING

17. Insurance Code § 12921.8(c), a copy of which is attached to this Order as Exhibit 1, provides in part, as follows:

"A person to whom a cease and desist order...has been issued, may, within <u>seven days</u> after service of the order...request a hearing by filing a request for the hearing with the commissioner."

If you desire a hearing in this matter, your written request for a hearing must be received within seven days after you are personally served with this Order. The sevenday period begins on the day after you are served with this Order, and if the seventh day falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline is extended to the next business day. Your written request for a hearing must be directed to Eugene Kalinsky, attorney for the California Department of Insurance, at the address at the top of the first page of this order.

IN WITNESS THEREOF, I have set my hand and affixed my official seal on September 11, 2018.



DAVE JONES
Insurance Commissioner

By:

DENISE YUPONCE Assistant Chief Counsel

EXHIBIT 1

California Insurance Code 12921.8

- (a) The commissioner may do the following:
 - (1) Issue a cease and desist order to a person who has acted in a capacity for which a license, registration, or certificate of authority from the commissioner was required but not possessed.
 - (2) Issue a cease and desist order to a person who has aided or abetted a person described in paragraph (1).
 - (3) Impose a monetary penalty, pursuant to an order to show cause, on a person described in paragraph (1) or (2). The monetary penalty shall be the greater of the following:
 - (A) Five times the amount of money received by the person for acting in the capacity for which the license, registration, or certificate of authority was required but not possessed.
 - (B) Five thousand dollars (\$5,000) for each day the person acted in the capacity for which the license, registration, or certificate of authority was required but not possessed. In the absence of contrary evidence, it shall be presumed that a person continuously acted in a capacity for which a license, registration, or certificate of authority was required on each day from the date of the earliest such act until the date those acts were discontinued, as proven by the person at a hearing.
- (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (3) of subdivision (a), the commissioner shall not impose a monetary penalty under this section on a person who has held a license or registration within the prior five years pursuant to Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 1621), Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 1760), Chapter 7 (commencing with Section 1800), or Chapter 8 (commencing with Section 1831) of Part 2 of Division 1.
- (c) A person to whom a cease and desist order or order to show cause has been issued, may, within seven days after service of the order, if a hearing has not already been scheduled by the commissioner, request a hearing by filing a request for the hearing with the commissioner. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340), Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 11370), Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 11400), and Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code), and the commissioner shall have all the powers granted therein.
- (d) A person who has a hearing pursuant to subdivision (c) shall be entitled to have the proceedings and the order of the commissioner reviewed by means of any remedy provided by the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340), Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 11370), Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 11400), and Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code).