
 

 

 
 

 

  

  

 

 

 

 

   

  

 

 

  

 

 

  

  

 

 

  

   

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

     

 

 

    

  

  

  

 

_________________________ 

_________________________ 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE  

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY SITUATION 

by the Insurance Commissioner of the State of California 

WHEREAS, on or about July 26-28, 2018, California Governor Jerry Brown proclaimed a state 

of emergency due to the numerous major wildfires burning in California, which fires continue to 

burn; and 

WHEREAS, the dwellings of hundreds of California residents have been destroyed or damaged, 

hundreds of business structures have been destroyed or damaged, and thousands of California 

residents have been evacuated from their homes; and 

WHEREAS the magnitude of these fires and the associated insurance claims are likely to create 

a shortage of qualified insurance adjusters; 

NOW, I, DAVE JONES, Insurance Commissioner of the State of California, in accordance with 

the authority vested in me by Section 14022.5(a) of the California Insurance Code, HEREBY 

DECLARE AN EMERGENCY SITUATION to exist with respect to the adjustment of insurance 

claims arising from the wildfires. 

THEREFORE, I AUTHORIZE insurers and licensed insurance adjusters to utilize nonlicensed 

adjusters to the extent such use is reasonably necessary to respond to the losses arising out of the 

wildfires if each of the following requirements are met: 

1. The work performed by nonlicensed adjusters is under the active direction, control, 

charge, or management of a licensed adjuster or an insurer authorized to do business 

in California. 

2. The nonlicensed adjusters register with the Insurance Commissioner within 15 days 

from the date on which the nonlicensed adjuster commences the claims adjusting 

activity in connection with the wildfires and re-register with the Insurance 

Commissioner, if necessary, in conformity with California Insurance Code section 

14022.5(c). Registration is valid for a period of 180 days from the date of the 

registration. 

3. All claims adjusters, whether California-licensed or not, who are assigned to wildfire 

claims must be properly trained on the California Unfair Practices Act, Fair Claims 

Settlement Practices Regulations, and all laws relating to property and casualty 

insurance claims handling. 



  

    

 

 

 

____________________ 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF I have hereunto set my hand and caused my official seal to be affixed 

this 1st day of August, 2018. 

DAVE JONES 

Insurance Commissioner 


