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NOTICE 
 
TO: All Admitted Property & Casualty Insurers, Licensed Independent Insurance 
Adjusters, Insurance Agent/Brokers, and other Interested Parties 
 
SUBJECT:  Important California Laws that Pertain to Property Insurance Policies 
after a Declared Disaster 
 
DATE:  August 1, 2018 
 
On July 26-28, 2018, California Governor Jerry Brown proclaimed a state of emergency 
in several counties in California due to the numerous wildfires that began in July 2018, 
and that continue to impact the state.  On August 1, 2018, California Insurance 
Commissioner Dave Jones declared an emergency situation in connection with those 
wildfires.  He therein authorized out-of-state non-California licensed claims adjusters to 
adjust claims in the fire areas as reasonably necessary and in conformity with the 
requirements of California Insurance Code section 14022.5 and all other insurance 
laws. Permitting out-of-state non-California licensed claims adjusters to adjust claims 
results in a more effective response by insurers to expedite initial payments to those 
impacted by the wildfires.   
 
Notice is hereby given that all claims adjusters, whether California-licensed or not, who 
are assigned to wildfire claims must be properly trained on the California Unfair 
Practices Act, Fair Claims Settlement Practices Regulations, and all laws relating to 
property and casualty insurance claims handling.  Some insurance laws are specifically 
triggered by a declared disaster and impact how claims are paid and the various 
timeframes for payment of claims that supersede policy provisions to the contrary.  
Further, insurance companies and agent-brokers should also take steps to ensure that 
underwriting transactions (i.e. cancellations, non-renewals), and representations made 
on underwriting issues, comply with laws in place to protect insureds after a total loss or 
declared disaster.  All property and casualty licensees must be knowledgeable about 
these laws and provide guidance to insureds that is consistent with these laws. The 
laws referenced include but are not limited to the following:  
 
 
 CLAIMS AND COVERAGE RELATED LAWS 

ISSUE INSURANCE 
CODE SECTION 

SUMMARY 

Time Limit to 
Collect Full 

§2051.5 (b)(1) No time limit of less than 12 months from 
the date that the first payment toward the 
actual cash value is made shall be placed 
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Replacement 
Cost 

upon an insured in order to collect the full 
replacement cost of the loss, subject to the 
policy limit. Additional extensions of six 
months shall be provided to policyholders 
for good cause. In the event of a loss 
relating to a “state of emergency,” as 
defined in Section 8558 of the Government 
Code, no time limit of less than 24 months 
from the date that the first payment toward 
the actual cash value is made shall be 
placed upon the insured in order to collect 
the full replacement cost of the loss, 
subject to the policy limit. Nothing in this 
section shall prohibit the insurer from 
allowing the insured additional time to 
collect the full replacement cost. 

Time Limit to 
Collect 
Additional 
Living 
Expenses 
(ALE) 

§2051.5 (b)(2) In the event of a covered loss relating to a state of 
emergency, as defined in Section 8558 of the 
Government Code, coverage for additional living 
expenses shall be for a period of 24 months, but shall 
be subject to other policy provisions, provided that 
any extension of time required by this paragraph 
beyond the period provided in the policy shall not act 
to increase the additional living expense policy limit in 
force at the time of the loss.  

Rebuilding in 
Current 
Location or 
Rebuilding or 
Replacing in 
a New 
Location 

§2051.5 (c) Homeowners may use their replacement cost 
insurance coverage to (1) rebuild at the current 
location, (2) rebuild on a new location, or (3) 
purchase an already built home at a new location. 
 
In the event of a total loss of the insured structure, no 
policy issued or delivered in this state may contain a 
provision that limits or denies payment of the 
replacement cost in the event the insured decides to 
rebuild or replace the property at a location other than 
the insured premises. However, the measure of 
indemnity shall be based upon the replacement cost 
of the insured property and shall not be based upon 
the cost to repair, rebuild, or replace at a location 
other than the insured premises. 
 
Homeowners are entitled to the "extended" or 
"guaranteed" portion of their replacement cost 
policies (if applicable) even if they rebuild or replace 
in a new location. 



 

 

 Consumer Hotline (800) 927-HELP  Producer Licensing (800) 967-9331 

Changing 
Claims 
Adjusters 

§2071 If, within a six-month period, the company assigns a 
third or subsequent adjuster to be primarily 
responsible for a claim, the insurer shall provide the 
insured with a written status report. The written status 
report must include a summary of any decisions or 
actions that are substantially related to the disposition 
of a claim, including, but not limited to, the amount of 
losses to structures or contents, the retention or 
consultation of design or construction professionals, 
the amount of coverage for losses to structures or 
contents and all items of dispute. 

Appraisal §2071 In the event of a government-declared disaster, as 
defined in the Government Code, appraisal may be 
requested by either the insured or the insurance 
company but shall not be compelled. 

Copy of 
Complete 
Policy After a 
Loss 

§2084 After a covered loss under a policy covered by 
Section 2071, an insurer shall provide to the insured, 
free of charge, a complete, current copy of his or her 
policy within 30 calendar days of receipt of a request 
from the insured.  

 
 
UNDERWRITING RELATED LAWS 

ISSUE INSURANCE 
CODE SECTION 

SUMMARY 

Cancellation 
after Total 
Loss to 
Primary 
Structure 

§675.1(b) The insurer shall not cancel coverage while the 
primary insured structure is being rebuilt, except for 
the reasons specified in subdivisions (a) to (e), 
inclusive, of Section 676. The insurer shall not use the 
fact that the primary insured structure is in damaged 
condition as a result of the total loss as the sole basis 
for a decision to cancel the policy pursuant to 
subdivision (e) of that section. 

Adjustment of 
Policy Limits 
on Renewal 

§675.1(a) If reconstruction of the primary insured structure has 
not been completed by the time of policy renewal, the 
insurer, prior to or at the time of renewal, and after 
consultation by the insurer or its representative with 
the insured as to what limits and coverages might or 
might not be needed, shall adjust the limits and 
coverages, write an additional policy, or attach an 
endorsement to the policy that reflects the change, if 
any, in the insured’s exposure to loss. The insurer 
shall adjust the premium charged to reflect any 
change in coverage. 

Non-Renewal 
After a 

§675.1(c)  Except for the reasons specified in subdivisions (a) to 
(e), inclusive, of Section 676, the insurer shall offer to, 
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Declared 
Disaster 

at least once, renew the policy in accordance with the 
provisions of subdivision (a) if the total loss to the 
primary insured structure was caused by a disaster, 
as defined in subdivision (b) of Section 1689.14 of the 
Civil Code, and the loss was not also due to the 
negligence of the insured. 

 
 
Questions regarding this Notice should be directed to: 
 
Risa Salat-Kolm, Attorney III 
California Department of Insurance 
(415) 538-4127 
Risa.Salat-Kolm@insurance.ca.gov 
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