Case Update Former Los Angeles broker charged in decade-long auto insurance scheme
News: 2017 Press Release
CASE UPDATE:On April 26, 2017, Rosie Villegas, 47, pleaded no contest to one misdemeanor count of providing a false or misleading statement. She was sentenced to two years' probation and 10 days of community labor. As a condition of her probation, Villegas is not allowed to transact insurance. The case was prosecuted by the Los Angeles City Attorney's office.
Original news release below:
LOS ANGELES, Calif. — Rosie Villegas, 46, of North Hills was charged with one misdemeanor count for transacting insurance without a license after an investigation by the California Department of Insurance revealed she allegedly misrepresented client information on insurance applications.
After receiving a complaint from one of Villegas' victims, the department's Investigation Division found that after her broker license expired in 2002, Villegas failed to renew her license and continued posing as a licensed broker. For over a decade she sold automobile policies to consumers and misrepresented their information on insurance applications.
Villegas used false birthdates and addresses for clients to offer lower premiums in order to secure more business and gain more commissions. Victims were unaware that she falsified their policy documents.
The department is requesting that anyone who purchased insurance from Villegas to contact the department's Investigation Division at (661) 253-7500.
Arraignment is scheduled for October 27, 2016. This case is being prosecuted by the Los Angeles City Attorney's Office.
- Business and Professions Code § 17500
- Villegas has been charged with one misdemeanor count of Penal Code § 1631, transacting insurance without a license.
- No photo is available and the suspect will appear based on a letter sent from the City Attorney's Office. Failure to appear will result in an arrest warrant.
- Victims are not facing any penalties for Villegas' actions.ase below:
The California Department of Insurance, established in 1868, is the largest consumer protection agency in California. Insurers collect $289 billion in premiums annually in California. Since 2011 the California Department of Insurance received more than 1,000,000 calls from consumers and helped recover over $469 million in claims and premiums. Please visit the Department of Insurance web site at www.insurance.ca.gov. Non-media inquiries should be directed to the Consumer Hotline at 800.927.HELP or 213.897.8921. Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD), please dial 800.482.4833.