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January 8, 2007 
NOTICE 

TO: All Admitted Insurers, Surplus Line Brokers, and Other Interested Parties 

SUBJECT:  2006 Tax Return Information 

The 2006 tax filing for Surplus Line Brokers is due to the California Department of Insurance (CDI) on March 1, 
2007 and the annual tax filing for Insurers is due on April 1, 2007 except for the ocean marine insurance tax 
filing, which is due on June 15, 2007. Key tax filing information is as follows: 

 Each insurer or surplus line broker is required to file a tax return of all business transacted during the preceding 
calendar year.  Please note that if you had no business transacted in 2006 or you started your business in 2006, 
you are still required to file the tax return by the appropriate required due date. (California Revenue and 
Taxation Code Section 12302 and California Insurance Code Section 1774) 

 Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar year was five thousand dollars 
($5,000) or more is required to make quarterly prepayments or monthly installment payments for the current 
calendar year.  Specifically, if your 2006 tax liability was $5,000 or more, you are required to make the 
quarterly prepayments or monthly installment payments for 2007.  Please refer to the CDI Web site at 
www.insurance.ca.gov for the tax due dates. (California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 12251 and 
California Insurance Code Section 1775.1) 

 Each insurer or surplus line broker whose preceding annual taxes exceed twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) is 
required to make payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).  Specifically, if your 2006 tax liability exceeded 
$20,000.00, you are required to make all 2007 tax payments (monthly, quarterly, and annual) by EFT.  To avoid 
delay in processing your EFT payments, it is critical to ensure that you provide the correct TIN, tax type code, 
and tax due date in your EFT transaction.  If you need assistance with establishing an EFT account or 
experience any problems with making your EFT payment or meeting the timelines requirement, please contact 
us at (916) 492-3288 prior to the payment due date to avoid any potential penalty assessment. (California 
Revenue and Taxation Code Section 12602 and California Insurance Code Sections 12976.5 and 1775.8) 

 Please provide your contact person’s e-mail address on your tax return to ensure that CDI can provide your 
company with the latest tax updates. 

Tax Forms 
All 2006 tax return forms and instructions are available for your convenience at the CDI Web site located at 
http://www.insurance.ca.gov . For example, once you log on to this Web site, click on “Insurers”, then click on 
“Insurer Information”, and please select the “Applications, Forms & Filings”.  Once you have accessed 
“Applications, Forms, & Filings”, then please select the appropriate tax return forms and related payment 
vouchers. To obtain the “California Tax on Insurers” Guide, please refer to www.boetaxes.ca.gov. 

If you are unable to access the CDI Web site and/or prefer to obtain a hard copy of a tax form or have questions 
regarding any tax payment, please contact us at (916) 492-3288 at your convenience.   
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