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NOTICE 

To:  All Admitted Property & Casualty Insurers, Licensed Independent Insurance 
  Adjusters, Insurance Agent/Brokers, and other Interested Parties 

Subject:  Important California Laws that Pertain to Property Insurance Policies 
 after a Declared Disaster 

Date:  November 14, 2018 

On November 8, 2018 and November 9, 2018, California Acting Governor Gavin 
Newsom proclaimed a state of emergency in several counties in California due to the 
numerous wildfires that began in November 2018, and that continue to impact the state. 
On November 14, 2018, California Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones declared an 
emergency situation in connection with those wildfires.  He therein authorized out-of-
state non-California licensed claims adjusters to adjust claims in the fire areas as 
reasonably necessary and in conformity with the requirements of California Insurance 
Code section 14022.5 and all other insurance laws. 

Permitting out-of-state non-California licensed claims adjusters to adjust claims has 
resulted in a more effective response by insurers to expedite initial payments to those 
impacted by the wildfires.   

Notice is hereby given that all claims adjusters, whether California-licensed or not, who 
are assigned to wildfire claims must be properly trained on the California Unfair 
Practices Act, Fair Claims Settlement Practices Regulations, and all laws relating to 
property and casualty insurance claims handling.  Some insurance laws are specifically 
triggered by a declared disaster and impact how claims are paid and the various 
timeframes for payment of claims that supersede policy provisions to the contrary.  
Further, insurance companies and agent-brokers should also take steps to ensure that 
underwriting transactions (i.e. cancellations, non-renewals), and representations made 
on underwriting issues, comply with laws in place to protect insureds after a total loss or 
declared disaster.  All property and casualty licensees must be knowledgeable about 
these laws and provide guidance to insureds that is consistent with these laws. The 
laws referenced include but are not limited to the following:  
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Important Note:  As stated below, a few new laws were enacted in 2018, as 
Urgency bills, and therefore are effective for claims that result from these recent 
wildfires.   

CLAIMS AND COVERAGE RELATED LAWS 

ISSUE INSURANCE 
CODE 
SECTION 

SUMMARY 

Time Limit to Collect 
Full Replacement 
Cost 

§2051.5
(b)(1) 

No time limit of less than 12 months from the 
date that the first payment toward the actual 
cash value is made shall be placed upon an 
insured in order to collect the full replacement 
cost of the loss, subject to the policy limit. 
Additional extensions of six months shall be 
provided to policyholders for good cause. In the 
event of a loss relating to a “state of 
emergency,” as defined in Section 8558 of the 
Government Code, no time limit of less than 36 
months from the date that the first payment 
toward the actual cash value is made shall be 
placed upon the insured in order to collect the 
full replacement cost of the loss, subject to the 
policy limit. Nothing in this section shall prohibit 
the insurer from allowing the insured additional 
time to collect the full replacement cost. Note: 
AB 1772 which extended the time to rebuild 
and collect full replacement cost from 24 to 
36 months after a declared disaster has an 
urgency clause and is currently in effect for 
the new fires. 

Time Limit to Collect 
Additional Living 
Expenses (ALE) 

§2051.5
(b)(2) 

In the event of a covered loss relating to a state 
of emergency, as defined in Section 8558 of the 
Government Code, coverage for additional 
living expenses shall be for a period of 36 
months, but shall be subject to other policy 
provisions, provided that any extension of time 
required by this paragraph beyond the period 
provided in the policy shall not act to increase 
the additional living expense policy limit in force 
at the time of the loss.  

Rebuilding in Current 
Location or Rebuilding 
or Replacing in a New 
Location 

§2051.5 (c) Homeowners may use their replacement cost 
insurance coverage to (1) rebuild at the current 
location, (2) rebuild on a new location, or (3) 
purchase an already built home at a new 
location. 
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In the event of a total loss of the insured 
structure, a policy issued or delivered in this 
state shall not contain a provision that limits or 
denies, on the basis that the insured has 
decided to rebuild at a new location or to 
purchase an already built home at a new 
location, payment of the building code upgrade 
cost or the replacement cost, including any 
extended replacement cost coverage, to the 
extent those costs are otherwise covered by the 
terms of the policy or any policy endorsement. 
However, the measure of indemnity shall not 
exceed the replacement cost, including the 
building code upgrade cost and any extended 
replacement cost coverage, if applicable, to 
repair, rebuild, or replace the insured structure 
at its original location.  

Homeowners are entitled to the "extended" or 
"guaranteed" portion of their replacement cost 
policies and any building code upgrade costs (if 
applicable) even if they rebuild or replace in a 
new location. 

Note: AB 1800 clarified an insured’s right to 
collect the full replacement cost of their 
home in the event of a total loss, whether 
they decide to rebuild, replace at another 
location, or purchase an already built home 
at a new location. This bill has an urgency 
clause and is currently in effect for the new 
fires. 

Changing Claims 
Adjusters 

§2071 If, within a six-month period, the company 
assigns a third or subsequent adjuster to be 
primarily responsible for a claim, the insurer 
shall provide the insured with a written status 
report. The written status report must include a 
summary of any decisions or actions that are 
substantially related to the disposition of a 
claim, including, but not limited to, the amount 
of losses to structures or contents, the retention 
or consultation of design or construction 
professionals, the amount of coverage for 
losses to structures or contents and all items of 
dispute. 
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Appraisal §2071 In the event of a government-declared disaster, 
as defined in the Government Code, appraisal 
may be requested by either the insured or the 
insurance company but shall not be compelled. 

Suits §2071 No suit or action on this policy for the recovery 
of any claim shall be sustainable in any court of 
law or equity unless all the requirements of this 
policy shall have been complied with, and 
unless commenced within 12 months next after 
inception of the loss. If the loss is related to a 
state of emergency, as defined in subdivision 
(b) of Section 8558 of the Government Code, 
the time limit to bring suit is extended to 24 
months after inception of the loss. Note: AB 
2594 which extended a consumer’s right to 
sue from 12 to 24 months has an urgency 
clause and is currently in effect for the new 
fires. 

Copy of Complete 
Policy After a Loss 

§2084 After a covered loss under a policy covered by 
Section 2071, an insurer shall provide to the 
insured, free of charge, a complete, current 
copy of his or her policy within 30 calendar 
days of receipt of a request from the insured.  

UNDERWRITING RELATED LAWS 

ISSUE INSURANC
E CODE 
SECTION 

SUMMARY 

Cancellation after 
Total Loss to Primary 
Structure 

§675.1(b) The insurer shall not cancel coverage while the 
primary insured structure is being rebuilt, except 
for the reasons specified in subdivisions (a) to (e), 
inclusive, of Section 676. The insurer shall not 
use the fact that the primary insured structure is 
in damaged condition as a result of the total loss 
as the sole basis for a decision to cancel the 
policy pursuant to subdivision (e) of that section. 

Adjustment of Policy 
Limits on Renewal 

§675.1(a) If reconstruction of the primary insured structure 
has not been completed by the time of policy 
renewal, the insurer, prior to or at the time of 
renewal, and after consultation by the insurer or 
its representative with the insured as to what 
limits and coverages might or might not be 
needed, shall adjust the limits and coverages, 
write an additional policy, or attach an 
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endorsement to the policy that reflects the 
change, if any, in the insured’s exposure to loss. 
The insurer shall adjust the premium charged to 
reflect any change in coverage. 

Non-Renewal After a 
Declared Disaster 

§675.1(c) Except for the reasons specified in subdivisions 
(a) to (e), inclusive, of Section 676, the insurer 
shall offer to, at least once, renew the policy in 
accordance with the provisions of subdivision (a) 
if the total loss to the primary insured structure 
was caused by a disaster, as defined in 
subdivision (b) of Section 1689.14 of the Civil 
Code, and the loss was not also due to the 
negligence of the insured. 

Questions regarding this Notice should be directed to: 

Risa Salat-Kolm, Attorney III 
California Department of Insurance 
(415) 538-4127 
Risa.Salat-Kolm@insurance.ca.gov 

mailto:Risa.Salat-Kolm@insurance.ca.gov



