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The purpose of this bulletin is to extend the relevant time period for Bulletin 2020-3 and 
also to provide additional clarification about that bulletin.  On April 13, 2020, Insurance 
Commissioner Ricardo Lara issued Bulletin 2020-3 acknowledging that the COVID-19 
pandemic caused an unprecedented challenge for California’s businesses and residents.  
Bulletin 2020-3 also recognized that the COVID-19 pandemic and the statewide and local 
“stay at home” orders have severely curtailed activities of policyholders in both personal 
and commercial lines and that projected loss exposures of many insurance policies have 
become overstated or misclassified.   

To protect consumers and to provide consistent direction to the insurance industry 
regarding misclassifications of risk resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, Bulletin 2020-
3 ordered all insurers engaged in the business of insurance in this state to make an initial 
partial premium refund for the months of March and April to all adversely impacted 
California policyholders in the lines of insurance identified in Bulletin 2020-3, as quickly 
as practicable, but in any event no later than 120 days after the date of that Bulletin. 
 
Bulletin 2020-3 does not require a refund of 100% of premium for the months of March 
and April.  An insurer that provides a partial refund of premium to policyholders, in a 
manner consistent with the premium refund approaches set forth in Bulletin 2020-3, that 
takes into account only that portion of premium for the months of March and April where 
projected loss exposures of many insurance policies may have become misclassified or 
overstated, would comply with the partial premium refund requirements of Bulletin 2020-
3 for the months of March and April. 
 
Bulletin 2020-3 also provided that if the COVID-19 pandemic continues into and beyond 
May, Commissioner Lara will send out a subsequent Bulletin to insurers and provide 
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appropriate instructions.  On May 8, 2020, Governor Gavin Newsom issued a 

 
Bulletin 2020-3 required insurers, no later than 120 days after the date of the Bulletin, to 
provide each affected policyholder, if applicable, with a notification of the amount of the 
partial refund, a check, premium credit, reduction, return of premium, or other appropriate 
premium adjustment.  In addition, insurers shall provide an explanation of the basis for 
the adjustment, including a description of the policy period that was the basis of the 
premium refund, and any changes to the classification or exposure basis of the affected 
policyholder.  
 
Bulletin 2020-3 also required every insurer writing any of the above-referenced lines of 
insurance in California to report to the California Department of Insurance (Department) 
within 60 days of the date of Bulletin 2020-3, all actions taken and contemplated future 
actions to refund partial premium in response to or consistent with this Bulletin.  The notice 
to affected policyholders and the report by insurers to the Department, as required by 
Bulletin 2020-3 and now Bulletin 2020-4, shall also include information with respect to 
any premium adjustments for May 2020.  

To aid in the submission of insurer reports and to ensure timely receipt of insurer 
submissions, the Department has provided an Excel workbook that can be downloaded 
at the following link: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0250-insurers/0300-insurers/0100-
applications/rsb-forms/2020/index.cfm. 

Reports shall be submitted to the Rate Specialist Bureau at the following email address: 
RSBCovid19PR@insurance.ca.gov.  All information provided to the Insurance 
Commissioner pursuant to this Bulletin shall be available for public inspection pursuant 
to Insurance Code section 1861.07. 

 

Public 
Health Order that permits the gradual easing of his March 19, 2020 “stay at home” order, 
but otherwise kept his March 19, 2020 order in full force and effect.  As a result, the 
directives set forth in Bulletin 2020-3 to reduce premium in the affected lines of insurance 
where the projected loss exposures have become overstated or misclassified are hereby 
extended through May 31, 2020.  Similar to Bulletin 2020-3, this Bulletin 2020-4 does not 
require a refund of 100% of premium for the month of May.  Additionally, if the “stay at 
home” order continues into June and beyond, Commissioner Lara will provide additional 
directives to ensure that the premium charged at the time accurately reflects the exposure 
to loss.  

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/CDPH%20Document%20Library/COVID-19/SHO%20Order%205-7-2020.pdf
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/CDPH%20Document%20Library/COVID-19/SHO%20Order%205-7-2020.pdf
http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0250-insurers/0300-insurers/0100-applications/rsb-forms/2020/index.cfm
http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0250-insurers/0300-insurers/0100-applications/rsb-forms/2020/index.cfm

