STATE OF CALIFORNIA John Garamendi, Insurance Commissioner

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
ADMINISTRATION & LICENSING SERVICES BRANCH
300CaPITOL MALL, SUITE 1600

SACrRAMENTO, CA 95814

(916) 492-3390

(916) 327-3482 (FAX)

WWW.insurance.ca.gov

Bulletin No. 2003-4

DATE: November 17, 2003
TO: All Admitted Insurers and Other Interested Parties
SUBJECT: California Department of Insurance Schedule of Fees and Charges — Fee Increase

Effective January 1, 2004

Thisistoremind all affected parties that the California Department of Insurance (CDI) hasissued new fees and charges for all
producers and companies operating in the State of California. Asindicated in Bulletin Number 2003-2, dated July 31, 2003,
the new fees are effective January 1, 2004 and reflect a 10 percent increase. Under Californialaw (Insurance Code Section
12978), the Department is authorized to increase the fees contained in the Insurance Code to provide sufficient revenue to fund
the appropriation authorized by the annual Budget Act. This action was initiated to allow the CDI to balance revenues and
expendituresin Fiscal Y ear 2004-05 and to allow the Department to continue its effortsto improve licensing services to
producers and insurers.

Attached is the Department’ s new fees and charges schedule as indicated in Bulletin 2003-2. To avoid processing delays,
please ensure that all documents are submitted with the correct fee.

This bulletin supercedes Bulletin 2002-7. Please call 1-800-967-9331 should you have any questions regarding licensure or
this fee announcement. For questions not related to licensing, please contact Brian Smith, Budget Officer, Budget and
Revenue Management Bureau, at (916) 492-3390.

PLEASE BE SURE THISINFORMATION ISDISSEMINATED TO ALL YOUR DISTRICT OFFICES AND GENERAL
AGENTSIN CALIFORNIA.

Dennis Ward
Deputy Commissioner, Administration & Licensing Services Branch

Consumer Hotline (800) 927-HELP - Producer Licensing (800) 967-9331


www.insurance.ca.gov

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

SCHEDULE OF FEES AND CHARGES
EFFECTIVE DATE: JANUARY 1, 2004

INSURANCE FEE CATEGORY CURRENT NEW
CODE SECTION FEE FEE
LICENSESAND PENALTIES
INSURANCE ADJUSTER LICENSES
14097(a) Original license application $ 55.00 $ 61.00
14097(b) QOrigina branch office certification 35.00 39.00
14097(c),(d)(1) Original license & renewal of license 219.00 241.00
14097(c),(d)(2) Branch office certificate renewal 44.00 48.00
14097(f) Delinquency, 50% of renewal, not to exceed 55.00 61.00
14097(g) Re-examination of applicant or applicants manager 22.00 24.00
14042 Additional fictitious business name or change 19.00 21.00
14042 License reissued in afictitious business name 22.00 24.00
PUBLIC INSURANCE ADJUSTER LICENSE
15016(3)(3) Interim License $ 185.00 $ 204.00
15060(a) Original license application 47.00 52.00
15060(b) QOrigina branch office certification 27.00 30.00
15060(c),(d)(1) Original license & renewal of license 185.00 204.00
15060(c),(d)(2) Branch office certificate renewal 37.00 41.00
15060(f) Delinquency, 50% of renewal, not to exceed 47.00 52.00
15060(g) Reexamination of applicant 19.00 21.00
15031 Additional Fictitious business name or change 19.00 21.00
BAIL LICENSE
1811(a) Agent, origina filing $ 219.00 $ 241.00
1811(e) Agent, renewal filing 65.00 72.00
1811(b) Salicitor, original filing 219.00 241.00
1811(f) Salicitor, renewal filing 65.00 72.00
1811(c) Permittee, original filing 437.00 481.00
1811(qg) Permittee, renewal filing 275.00 303.00
1808(c) License renewal penalty fee twice fee above twice fee above
1811(i) Approval of fictitious or other name 22.00 24.00
1811(j) Replace bail bond 19.00 21.00
1811(k) First amendment to application 12.00 13.00
1811(1) Subsequent amendments 22.00 24.00
PRODUCTION AGENCY LICENSE
1750(a) & 1718 Fire and Casualty broker-agent license and renewal, per year $ 65.00 $ 72.00
1751(c) First amendment to application 12.00 13.00
1751(c) Subsequent amendments 22.00 24.00
1750(c) & 1718 Life agent license, resident renewal, per year 65.00 72.00
1750(d) & 1718 Life agent license, nonresident renewal, per year 65.00 72.00
1751(c) First amendment to application 12.00 13.00
1751(c) Subsequent amendments 22.00 24.00
1842 Life and disability insurance analyst issuance or renewal, per year 219.00 241.00
1751.3 Notice of appointment 22.00 24.00
1751.3 Notice of termination of appointment 22.00 24.00
1751(n) Amended notice of appointment or termination 7.00 8.00
1751(i) Ratification of agency appointments by surviving insurer 143.00 157.00
1750 & 11101 Part-time Fraternal Agent, per year 65.00 72.00
1749.31 Personal Lines Broker Agent, per year 65.00 72.00
SURPLUSLINE BROKER AND/OR SPECIAL LINES SURPLUSLINE BROKER

1765(d) Naming up to two persons on the license, per year $ 545.00 $ 600.00
1765(d) Each additional person named on the license, per year 153.00 168.00
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND CHARGES
EFFECTIVE DATE: JANUARY 1, 2004

INSURANCE FEE CATEGORY CURRENT NEW
CODE SECTION FEE FEE
OTHER LICENSE
1755 Travel insurance agent license, per year 22.00 $ 24.00
1751(j)(2) Submission of training course for certificate of conveniences 143.00 157.00
1751.1(a) Certification as a prelicensing or continuing education provider 58.00 64.00
1751.1(b) Renewal as a provider 58.00 64.00
1751.1(c) Certification of a prelicensing course 58.00 64.00
1751.1(d) Renewal of a prelicensing course 29.00 32.00
1751.1(e) Certification of a continuing education course 29.00 32.00
1751.1(f) Renewal of a continuing education course 12.00 13.00
1751(j)(2) To qualify certificate of convenience holders 77.00 85.00
1751(h) Approval of fictitious or other name 42.00 46.00
1751(k) Filing producers license bond 22.00 24.00
1751(1) Duplicate License 22.00 24.00
1751(m) Clearance letters 22.00 24.00
1751(c) First amendment to application 12.00 13.00
1751(c) Subsequent amendments 22.00 24.00
1751(b) To delete name from license 22.00 24.00
1751(a) To register change in partnership sameas 1 year same as 1 year
license fee herein license fee herein
1759.10 Administrator, per year 65.00 72.00
Non-resident fees under retaliatory provision where
discrimination isinvolved may be higher than may be higher than
listed herein listed herein
1751(g) Certificate of convenience 27.00 30.00
1718(c) License renewal delinquent fee one year fee for one year fee for
respective license respective license
12280.2 Motor club agent 65.00 72.00
1751(c) First amendment to application 12.00 13.00
1751(c) Subsequent amendments 22.00 24.00
1757.2 Cargo Shipper's Agent, per year 22.00 24.00
1781.3(d)(3) Reinsurance Intermediary-Broker 289.00 318.00
1758.62(3) Title10,Ch5 Communications Equipment Insurance Agent 225.00 248.00
CCR Sec 2194.3
1758.92(3) Title10, Ch5 Credit Insurance Agent 315.00 347.00
CCR Sec 2192.5
1758.81(a)(3) Title 10, Ch5 Rental Car Agent 358.00 394.00
CCR Sec 2130.3
LICENSE EXAMINATION
1811(d) Bail, first examination 44.00 $ 48.00
1811(d) Bail, first re-examination 44.00 48.00
1842 Life and disability insurance analyst 108.00 119.00
1751(d),(e),(f) Fire and casualty, life agent first examination or re-examination 37.00 41.00
12973.5(b) Miscellaneous application for exams 55.00 61.00
FILING FOR BROKERS/AGENTS CERTIFICATE
859(a) Brokers (headquarters) 219.00 $ 241.00
859(a) Brokers (each additional location) 106.00 117.00
859(b) Agents 106.00 117.00
12973(a) Certificate of license status printed form 16.00 18.00
CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY
10493(d) Benefit and relief association (certification of exemption) 1,308.00 $ 1,439.00
5051 County mutual fireinsurer (declaration of intent to incorporate) 5,454.00 5,999.00
11401 Firefighters police officers, or peace officers benefit and
relief associations 1,090.00 1,199.00
11090 Fraternal benefit society 5,454.00 5,999.00
11520.5 Grants and annuities society 3,272.00 3,599.00
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND CHARGES
EFFECTIVE DATE: JANUARY 1, 2004

INSURANCE FEE CATEGORY CURRENT NEW
CODE SECTION FEE FEE
12161 Motor club 3,818.00 4,200.00
705.1 Mutual insurer 3,272.00 3,599.00
705.1 Reciprocal insurer 3,272.00 3,599.00
705.1 Stock insurer 3,272.00 3,599.00
10113.2(b)(2) Viatical settlements application fee 3,272.00 3,599.00
742.39 Multiple employer welfare arrangement (MEWA)

certificate of compliance application 4,043.00 4,447.00
12105 Certificate of authority for financial guaranty insurance 5,775.00 6,353.00

AMENDED CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY

705 For each amendment to certificate of authority $ 106.00 $ 117.00
709.5(d) Redomestication application to or from California 4,909.00 5,400.00
12105 Amended certificate of authority for financial guaranty insurance 5,775.00 6,353.00
11520.5(d)(1) Grants and annuities society name change 219.00 241.00
LICENSE
705.1 & 12743 Home protection $ 3,272.00 $ 3,599.00
12389(a)(3) Underwritten title company 656.00 722.00
11751 Workers compensation rating organization license 173.00 190.00

AMENDED LICENSES

12389(3)(3) Underwritten title company license each additional county $ 382.00 $ 420.00

12389(d) Underwritten title company name change 219.00 241.00

705 & 12743 Home protection name change 106.00 117.00
NAME APPROVAL/CHANGE

881 All except grants and annuities societies, and joint underwriters $ 106.00 $ 117.00

882 Joint underwriters name approval 55.00 61.00

884 Joint underwriters name renewal 19.00 21.00

WITHDRAWAL OF CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY HOLDER

1076 County mutua fire insurer, fraternal benefit society, mutual, $ 1,090.00 $ 1,199.00
stock, reciprocal
11520.5(d)(3) Grants and annuities society 656.00 722.00

AMENDMENTSTO ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION

714 All except grants and annuities and motor clubs $ 55.00 $ 61.00
11520.5(d)(2) Grants and annuities societies 164.00 180.00
12168 Motor clubs (amendments, if any, to be filed annually) 37.00 41.00
12973.9 Title 10, Fraternals 53.00 58.00

Ch. 5 CCR Sec. 2202(a)(15)
AMENDMENTSTO BY-LAWS
12168 Motor club (amendments, if any, to be filed annually) $ 37.00 $ 41.00
12973.9 Title 10, Fraternals 53.00 58.00
Ch. 5 CCR Sec. 2202(a8)(15)

RENEWAL FEE CERTIFICATESOF AUTHORITY/LICENSES

705 County mutual fire insurer $ 327.00 $ 360.00
11090 Fraternal benefit society 327.00 360.00
11520.5 Grants and annuities society 106.00 117.00
705 Mutual insurer 327.00 360.00
12162(c) Motor club 327.00 360.00
12166 Motor club 158.00 174.00
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND CHARGES
EFFECTIVE DATE: JANUARY 1, 2004

INSURANCE FEE CATEGORY CURRENT NEW
CODE SECTION FEE FEE
705 Stock insurer, including title insurer 327.00 360.00
12416 Title insurer (additional fee) 763.00 839.00
12416 Underwritten title company less than 50,000 documents filed 219.00 241.00
12416 Underwritten title company over 50,000 but less than 100,000
documents filed 277.00 305.00
12416 Underwritten title company over 100,000 documents filed 437.00 481.00
10113.2(b)(3) Viatical settlements annual license renewal fee 205.00 226.00
742.39 MEWA certificate of compliance renewal 327.00 360.00
11751.25 Workers compensation rating organization annual license fee 116.00 128.00
ANNUAL STATEMENTSAND OTHER REPORTS
900.5 & 10970 Filing annual statement (except fraternal benefit society) $ 324.00 $ 356.00
12389(a)(4) Filing audit report (underwritten title companies) 580.00 638.00
12389(a)(4) Failure to file audit report on time (underwritten title companies) 219.00 241.00
LATE FILING FEES
924 & 10970 Latefiling fee (except fraternal benefit society) 545.00 600.00
924 Additional late filing fee after first month (per month) 656.00 722.00
MERGER, REINSURANCE, ASSUMPTION, CONSOLIDATION, TRANSFORMATION
1011.5 All insurers except domestic/fraternal benefit society $ 4,909.00 $ 5,400.00
11019 Domestic/fraternal benefit society 299.00 329.00
9098 Commissioners consent to reinsurance by fraternal fire insurer 382.00 420.00
7045 Application for approval to transform county mutual fire insurer to genera
mutual insurer 382.00 420.00
1215.2(e) Application for holding company tender offers 4,362.00 4,798.00
1215.5(b) Prior approval-affiliate transaction of 2,182.00 2,400.00
1091 Filing fee for retiring insurer 1,386.00 1,525.00
4093 Mutual insurer merger approva 4,909.00 5,400.00
5.00 for each 5.00 for each
signed and sealed signed and sealed
or certified copy or certified copy
7042 Issuance of certificate approving transformation of County 239.00 263.00
mutual fireinsurer 6.00 for each 6.00 for each
signed and sealed signed and sealed
or certified copy or certified copy
HOLDING COMPANIES
1215.5(b)(1) Holding company sales transactions $ 2,182.00 $ 2,400.00
1215.5(b)(2) Holding company loan transactions 2,182.00 2,400.00
1215.5(b)(3) Holding company reinsurance agreements 2,182.00 2,400.00
1215.5(b)(4) Holding company management agreements 2,182.00 2,400.00
1215.5(b)(5) Holding company guarantees 2,182.00 2,400.00
1215.5(b)(6) Holding company investments 2,182.00 2,400.00
1215.5(b)(7) Holding company material transactions 2,182.00 2,400.00
VARIABLE LIFE AND ANNUITIES
10506.1 Determination of qualification foreign insurer $ 656.00 $ 722.00
10506.1 Determination of qualification domestic insurer 656.00 plus admin. 722.00 plus admin.
cost in excess of cost in excess of
656.00 722.00
10506.2(a) Changes to an application and qualifications 2,182.00 2,400.00
10506.2(b) Variable life review, examination and analysis of documents 561.00 617.00
10506.2(c) Variable life and annuities-transfer of assets 2,797.00 3,077.00
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND CHARGES
EFFECTIVE DATE: JANUARY 1, 2004

INSURANCE FEE CATEGORY CURRENT NEW
CODE SECTION FEE FEE
NONASSESSABLE POLICIES
4060 Certificate for domestic mutual 219.00 $ 241.00
7015.5 Certificate or amendment for county mutual fire company or 137.00 151.00
amended application
1401.5(a) Perpetual certificate for reciprocal 437.00 481.00
STOCK PERMITS
857(a) Original, supplemental or amended application for permit to
issue securities 3,272.00 $ 3,599.00
857(b) Application for permit to issue securities for change in rights,
preferences, privileges or restrictions 437.00 481.00
857(c) Application for permit to issue securities, evidencing share
dividend or share split 1,090.00 1,199.00
857(d) Application for any other kind of permit 219.00 241.00
GENERAL FILING
1601 Appointment of agent for service of process 55.00 $ 61.00
12973.9 Motor club initial filings of service contracts (CIC 12250) 240.00 240.00
Title 10, Ch. 5, CCR Sec. 2202(a)(11)
12168 Amendments to motor club membership certificate, identification
card, and service contract 37.00 41.00
1140.5 Proxy filing 106.00 117.00
12931 Service of process upon commissioner 22.00 24.00
12640.20 Mortgage guarantee insurer (pool insurance filing) 873.00 960.00
1599 Trusteed assets certificate 22.00 24.00
1401.5(a) Application for order pursuant to sec. 1401.5(a) 437.00 481.00
1101(b)(3) Application for exemption under sec. 1101(b)(3)(i) 545.00 600.00
1113 Permit for multiple insurer operation 82.00 90.00
7042 Certificate approving merger of county mutual fire insurer 12.00 13.00
11620 Approval of amendment of California assigned risk plan 1,090.00 1,199.00
11715(c) Initial filing and semi-annual review-letter of credit 327.00 360.00
11715(c) Annual fee for letter of credit 219.00 241.00
11715(d)-after 1/1/03 11691(d) Filing of a deposit agreement 219.00 241.00
11715(d)-after 1/1/03 11691(d) Filing of an amended deposit agreement 219.00 241.00
12973 Fee for issuing certificates where fee is not otherwise specified 37.00 41.00
12973 Legal and other certificates 15.00-38.00 16.00-42.00
12973.5 Fees for application for license permit or certificate of authority and
qualifying examination where no fee is specified 16.00 18.00
10479.5 Certificate of valuation 35.00 plus cost 39.00 plus cost
12973 Certificate of compliance 16.00 18.00
12973 Certificate pursuant to retaliation 16.00 18.00
132(a)(4) Filing fee for registering as risk retention group 924.00 1,016.00
134(b) Filing fee for registering as purchasing group 416.00 458.00
1192.8(d) Approval of investment trust or partnership 5,775.00 6,353.00
1194.85 Approval of real estate investment by domestic insurer Actua expense not Actua expense not
to exceed $578.00 to exceed $636.00
742.39 MEWA financial information filing 324.00 356.00
1107.1 Application for approval to deliver consideration other than securities 289.00 318.00
4030 Domestic mutual insurer contract approval 116.00 128.00
10507.1 Investment return assurance agpproval 289.00 plus admin 318.00 plus admin
cost in excess cost in excess
of 289.00 of 318.00
1104.9(a)(5) Qudlified custodian approval fee 1,733.00 1,906.00
1104.9(d) Qualified custodial agreement approval fee 578.00 636.00
12640.10(d) Permission to transact other classes (mortgage guaranty insurance) 1,733.00 1,906.00
U.S. CODE
18 U.S.C. Section 1033
Title 10, Sec. 2177.14 1033 Application for written consent 124.00 $ 136.00
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND CHARGES
EFFECTIVE DATE: JANUARY 1, 2004

INSURANCE FEE CATEGORY CURRENT NEW
CODE SECTION FEE FEE
LIST OF ELIGIBLE SURPLUSLINE INSURERS
1765.1 Title 10, Sec. 2174.2(a) Initial application 4,725.00 $ 5,198.00
1765.1 Title 10, Sec. 2174.2(b) Renewal application 2,363.00 2,599.00
1765.1 Title 10, Sec. 2174.2(c) Financia update 263.00 289.00
1765.1 Title 10, Sec. 2174.2(d) Non-financial update 37.00 41.00
SECURITIESDEPOSIT AND WITHDRAWAL
940.1 & 11715(d) after 1/1/03 11 Initial securities deposit 106.00 $ 117.00
940.1 & 11715(d) after 1/1/03 11 Securities withdrawal, substitution or any change 55.00 61.00
949 & 1589 Certificate of deposit 55.00 61.00
1590 Feefor filing certificate 34.00 37.00
11693.5 until 1/1/03* Failure to file workers' compensation bond or deposit penalty 545.00 600.00
11693.5 until 1/1/03* Additional penalty after first month (per month) 656.00 722.00
* On 1/1/03 11692.5 provides as follows: (@) if the deposit shortfall is outstanding for less than 31 days, 0.5 percent of the deposit shortfall,
but in no event not less than six hundred dollars ($600). (b) If the deposit shortfall is outstanding for more than 30 days but less than 61 days,
an additional late filing fee in the amount of 1 percent of the deposit shortfall, but in no event not less than one thousand two hundred
dollars ($1,200) shall be due. (c) An additional late filing fee of 1.5 percent of the deposit shortfall for every 30-day period thereafter,
or fraction thereof, that the amount is outstanding, but in no event shall the total |ate fee be less than three thousand dollars ($3,000).
MISCELLANEOUS
12970 Copying microfilm records, per page/frame 0.57 $ 0.63
12970.1 Postage or delivery charges actual actual
12972 Attaching commissioners sed of office 1.00 1.00
1751.6 Computer listing of producers licensed in California
Life & Disability 1,478.00 1,626.00
Fire & Casualty 1,297.00 1,427.00
Partial Listing 649.00 plus .01 per 714.00 plus .01 per
name name
12973.7 Computer listing of names/addresses of admitted companies 56.00 62.00
11509 Annual statement, hospital services corporation 0.13 for each indi- 0.14 for each indi-
vidua or family unit vidua or family unit
covered by a hospital covered by a hospital
service contract service contract
12973.6 Dishonor of checks 10.00 11.00
12973.7 Fingerprint handling fee 5.00 5.00
12975 Feeliens not to exceed 866.00 not to exceed 953.00
12973.7 Documents, transcripts or other materials which may be not to exceed not to exceed

furnished by the Commissioner where fee is not
otherwise specified
12921.2 & Government Code 62¢ Copies of public records

GOVERNMENT
CODE SECTION
11523 & Title 10,

CCR Sec. 2509.76(b)

Preparation & Certification of Record on Appeal

SUBPOENA
GOVERNMENT
CODE SECTION
68097.2 Witness Fees (per day) (for Government employees)
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND CHARGES
EFFECTIVE DATE: JANUARY 1, 2004

INSURANCE FEE CATEGORY CURRENT NEW
CODE SECTION FEE FEE
EVIDENCE
CODE SECTION
1563 Furnish Documents to Outside Photographer $ 15.00 $ 15.00
1563 Production of Documents (Other than above) 6.00 clerical cost per 6.00 clerical cost per
quarter hour quarter hour
1563 Copy Records 0.10 per page plus 0.10 per page plus

above clerical costs

UNLISTED FEES

above clerical costs

ThisBulletin supercedes any feesreferenced in the California Insurance Code. Any fee set forth in the California Insurance Code but not listed in this Bulletin

is nevertheless by this reference made subject to the provisions of this Bulletin, and accor dingly is deemed to be increased 10 per cent above the amount stated in
the code, rounded to the nearest whole dollar.
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