

NOTICE

TO: All Admitted Insurers, Surplus line Brokers, and Other Interested Persons

FROM: Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara

DATE: December 30, 2020

RE: Automatic Extension for Premium Tax Filing and Payment During COVID-19

State of Emergency

On December 14, 2020, in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, <u>Governor Gavin Newsom issued Emergency Order N-84-20</u> that, among other things, granted authority to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration to extend the time for filing tax returns and payment of taxes that it oversees for a period of up to three months after the due date of the return or payment **for individuals or businesses filing a return for less than \$1,000,000 in taxes** or fees.

Pursuant to the Governor's Emergency Order N-84-20, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration authorizes and grants an automatic three-month extension to file a tax return and to pay any required tax payments due during the **December 15**, **2020 through April 30**, **2021** authorized period. **Taxpayers reporting less than \$1 million in tax on a return originally due during this time frame** are not required to seek an extension from the Department of Insurance (CDI); relief will be provided automatically. Additionally, for these taxpayers, interest and penalties will not accrue on return amounts due, provided payments are made and returns are filed within three months of the original due date.

New Due Dates for Eligible Taxpayers:

Insurers – Premium Tax Filing and Payment	Original Due Date	Extension Due Date*
2020 Annual Tax	April 1, 2021	July 1, 2021
2020 Retaliatory Tax	April 1, 2021	July 1, 2021
2021 First Quarter Prepayment	April 1, 2021	July 1, 2021

Surplus Line Brokers – Premium Tax	Original Due	Extension Due
Filing and Payment	Date	Date*
Monthly payment for business transacted during the month of: October 2020	January 1, 2021	April 1, 2021
Monthly payment for business transacted during the month of: November 2020	February 1, 2021	May 1, 2021

Automatic Extension for Premium Tax Filing and Payment During COVID-19 State of Emergency Page 2 of 2 December 30, 2020

Monthly payment for business transacted during the month of: December 2020	March 1, 2021	June 1, 2021
2020 Annual Tax	March 1, 2021	June 1, 2021
Monthly payment for business transacted during the month of: January 2021	April 1, 2021	July 1, 2021

^{*}Taxpayers must select/enter the original due date when making payment.

Taxpayers that will be reporting an annual tax liability of \$1 million or more (based on the 2020 Annual Tax Return due March 1, 2021 or April 1, 2021) are not eligible for the automatic extension and must request an extension prior to the applicable filing deadline. These extension requests are evaluated on a case-by-case basis for a showing of good cause and taxpayers will be notified if their extension has been approved or denied.

IMPORTANT REMINDER: Unless an extension of time to file a premium tax return or to pay the required premium taxes is granted automatically pursuant to this Notice, or an individual extension request is approved in writing by the Department of Insurance, late payments are subject to interest and/or penalties.

For inquiries or to file a request for an extension, please contact the Department of Insurance's Premium Tax Audit Unit at premiumtaxaudit@insurance.ca.gov or by mail to:

California Department of Insurance Premium Tax Audit Unit 300 South Spring Street, 9th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90013

NOTE: During the period of the public health emergency, the 2020 annual tax return and payment vouchers may be filed electronically via e-mail submission to EFT@insurance.ca.gov. The required paper original of a properly executed tax return with wet signature must be submitted within 90 days of the lifting of the "shelter-in-place" order in California.

Insurers and surplus lines brokers may enroll in the CDI Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Program for Tax Payments. For questions regarding the EFT Program for Tax Payments, please contact the California Department of Insurance, Tax Accounting/EFT Unit at (916) 492-3288 or e-mail EFT@insurance.ca.gov.