
 

RICARDO LARA 
CALIFORNIA INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 

NOTICE 
TO: All Admitted Insurers, Surplus Line Brokers, and Other Interested Parties 

DATE: January 31, 2024 

SUBJECT: 2023 Insurance (Premium) Tax Filing Information 

Annual 
Premium Tax
Filing Due 
Dates 

• Surplus Line Broker Premium Tax Filings - Due March 1, 2024 
• Insurer Premium Tax Filings - Due April 1, 2024 
• Ocean Marine Insurance Premium Tax Filings - Due June 15, 2024 

Important 
Reminders 

Provide the Executive Officer contact email address on 2023 Premium Tax 
Filing forms to receive the 2024 online tax filing instructions and latest tax 
updates from the California Department of Insurance (CDI). 
Please file only one (1) Tax Return with CDI. 

Premium Tax 
Filing Process

Premium tax filings can be done 1) electronically or 2) by paper. It is 
important to note that only one method should be selected for the 2023 
Premium Tax Filing process. 

• File Electronically: Send a scanned copy of the physically signed 
2023 Tax Return form to PremiumTaxFiling@insurance.ca.gov. 

• File Paper Originals: Refer to “2023 Tax Forms, Instructions, and 
Information” within the Tax Forms section for the appropriate 
mailing address. 

CDI encourages taking advantage of electronic filing. 

Premium Tax 
Filing 
Requirements 

Each Insurer or Surplus Line Broker is required to file a Premium Tax 
return for all business transacted during the preceding calendar year. 
Please note that if there was no business transacted in calendar year 
2023, or the business was established in calendar year 2023, a tax filing 
is still required to be filed by the appropriate required due date noted 
above. (California Revenue and Taxation Code section 12302 and 
California Insurance Code section 1774) 

For Surplus Line Brokers with no taxable premiums to report, please use 
the CDI Tax Return form (CDI FS-006-0 [Revised 11/2023]). 
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Installment / 
Prepayment 
Requirements 

Each Insurer or Surplus Line Broker whose annual tax liability for the 
preceding calendar year 2023 was twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) or 
more is required to make prepayments/monthly installments as noted 
below: 

• Insurers – Quarterly prepayments for the current calendar year 
2024. 

• Surplus Line Brokers – Monthly installment payments for the 
current calendar year 2024. 

EFT 
Requirements 

Each Insurer or Surplus Line Broker whose annual tax for the preceding 
calendar year 2023 was more than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) is 
required to make payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). 
To avoid delays in processing the 2024 EFT payments, the following items 
are required in the EFT transaction: 

• Taxpayer Identification Number 
• Tax Type Code 

• Tax Amount Due Date 
Note: Payment timeliness will be determined by the settlement date. 
Please ensure to read and understand Appendix C – Glossary regarding 
Settlement Date for information on ensuring timeliness.  

Premium Tax 
Filing Forms 

All 2023 Tax Forms, Instructions, and Information are available on CDI’s 
website. 
For the “Tax on Insurers Law”, please refer to California Department of 
Tax and Fee Administration website. 
For Surplus Line Brokers, please refer to California Insurance Code 
Sections 1760-1780. 

EFT Hotline 
Assistance 

If assistance is needed with establishing an EFT account or experience 
any problems with making a payment by the required due dates, please 
contact the EFT Hotline prior to the payment due date to avoid any 
potential penalty assessment. (California Revenue and Taxation Code 
section 12602 and California Insurance Code sections 12976.5 and 
1775.8) 
If you are unable to access the CDI website, prefer to obtain a hard copy 
of a tax form, or have questions regarding tax payments, please contact 
the EFT Hotline: 

• By phone at (916) 492-3288 

• By email at EFT@insurance.ca.gov 

https://www.insurance.ca.gov/0250-insurers/0300-insurers/0300-programs/0100-eft/eft-appendix-toc/appendix-c-glossary.cfm
https://www.insurance.ca.gov/0250-insurers/0300-insurers/0100-applications/tax-forms-instruct-and-info/2023/index.cfm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol4/tinsl/tax-on-insurers-law.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol4/tinsl/tax-on-insurers-law.html
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=INS&division=1.&title&part=2.&chapter=6.&article
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=INS&division=1.&title&part=2.&chapter=6.&article
mailto:EFT@insurance.ca.gov



