

NOTICE

- TO: All Admitted Insurers, Surplus Line Brokers, and Other Interested Parties
- DATE: February 17, 2022

SUBJECT: 2021 Tax Return Information

2021 Filing Due Dates	 Surplus Line Broker tax filings - due March 1, 2022 Insurer annual tax filings - due April 1, 2022
	• Ocean Marine Insurance tax filings - due June 15, 2022
New Filing Process	Starting with the filings for the 2021 tax returns and vouchers for 2022, you may file them electronically or file paper originals via mail, not both.
	 To File electronically: send a scanned copy of the physically signed tax return form to <u>PremiumTaxFiling@insurance.ca.gov</u>
	 To File paper originals: refer to "2021 Tax Forms, Instructions, and Information" in the Tax Forms section below for the appropriate mailing address.
Filing Requirements	Each insurer or surplus line broker is required to file a tax return for all business transacted during the preceding calendar year.
	Please note that if you had no business transacted in 2021 or you started your business in 2021, you are still required to file a tax return by the appropriate required due date. <i>(California Revenue and Taxation Code section 12302 and California Insurance Code section 1774)</i>
	For surplus line brokers with no taxable premiums to report, please use the CDI tax return form CDI FS-006-0 (Revised 11/2021).
Installment / Prepayment Requirements	Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar year was twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) or more is required to make quarterly prepayments (for insurer) or monthly installment payments (for surplus line broker) for the current calendar year.
	Specifically, if your 2021 tax liability was \$20,000 or more, you are required to make the quarterly prepayments or monthly installment payments for 2022.
	CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

EFT Requirements	Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar year was more than twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) is required to make payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).
	Specifically, if your 2021 tax liability exceeded \$20,000, you are required to make all 2022 tax payments (monthly, quarterly, and annual) by EFT.
	To avoid delays in processing your 2022 EFT payments, it is critical that you provide the correct Taxpayer Identification Number, tax type code, and tax due date in your EFT transaction.
Tax Forms	All <u>2021 Tax Forms, Instructions, and Information</u> are available on CDI's website.
	To obtain "Tax on Insurers Law", please refer to <u>www.cdtfa.ca.gov</u> and under "Tax Resources", select "Forms & Publications", then select "Business Taxes Law Guide", then under "Table of Contents", access Volume 4 "Tax on Insurers".
Reminders	• Provide a contact email address on tax forms to receive the latest tax updates from CDI.
	• Please file only one (1) tax return form with CDI.
EFT Hotline Assistance	If you need assistance with establishing an EFT account or experience any problems with making your payment by the required due dates, please contact the EFT Hotline prior to the payment due date to avoid any potential penalty assessment . (<i>California Revenue and</i> <i>Taxation Code section 12602 and California Insurance Code sections</i> 12976.5 and 1775.8)
	If you are unable to access the CDI website, prefer to obtain a hard copy of a tax form, or have questions regarding tax payments, please contact the EFT Hotline:
	• By phone at (916) 492-3288
	By email at <u>EFT@insurance.ca.gov</u>