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NOTICE

January 14, 2019
To All Admitted Insurers, Surplus Line Brokers, and Other Interested Parties
2018 TAX RETURN INFORMATION

The 2018 tax filing for Surplus Line Brokers is due to the California Department of Insurance
(CDI) on March 1, 2019, and the annual tax filing for Insurers is due on April 1, 2019, except
for the Ocean Marine insurance tax filing, which is due on June 15, 2019. Important tax filing
information is as follows:

e Each insurer or surplus line broker is required to file a tax return for all business
transacted during the preceding calendar year. Please note that if you had no
business transacted in 2018 or you started your business in 2018, you are still required to
file a tax return by the appropriate required due date. (California Revenue and Taxation
Code section 12302 and California Insurance Code section 1774) For surplus line
brokers with no taxable premiums to report, please use CDI’s tax return CDI FS-006-0
(REVISED 10/2018). Note: Individually licensed and endorsed surplus line brokers
who transact or write business on behalf of a surplus line broker organization are no
longer required to file a Zero Premium Tax Return. For more details, please refer to
the Zero Premium Tax Returns and Reporting Requirements Notice posted on CDI’s
website.

e Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar
year was twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) or more is required to make quarterly
prepayments or monthly installment payments for the current calendar year.
Specifically, if your 2018 tax liability was $20,000 or more, you are required to make the
quarterly prepayments or monthly installment payments for 20109.

e Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar
year was more than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) is required to make payment
by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). Specifically, if your 2018 tax liability exceeded
$20,000, you are required to make all 2019 tax payments (monthly, quarterly, and
annual) by EFT. To avoid delay in processing your EFT payments, it is critical that you
provide the correct Taxpayer Identification Number, tax type code, and tax due date in
your EFT transaction. If you need assistance with establishing an EFT account or
experience any problems with making your EFT payment by the required due dates,
please call the EFT Hotline at (916) 492-3288 prior to the payment due date to avoid any
potential penalty assessment. (California Revenue and Taxation Code section 12602 and
California Insurance Code sections 12976.5 and 1775.8)
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e Please provide a contact person’s e-mail address on your tax return to ensure that your
company receives the latest tax updates from CDI.

e Please file only one (1) original tax return form with CDI.
Tax Forms
All 2018 Tax Forms, Instructions and Information are available on CDI’s website. To obtain

“Tax on Insurers Law,” please refer to www.boe.ca.gov and under “Forms & Pubs,” select
“Business Tax Law Guide,” then under “Table of Contents,” access VVolume 4, Tax on Insurers.

If you are unable to access the CDI website, prefer to obtain a hard copy of a tax form, or have
any questions regarding tax payments, please call the EFT Hotline at (916) 492-3288.

/s/ Julia B. Cross
JULIA B. CROSS, DEPUTY COMMISSIONER
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