
  

        

 

 
  

 

 

 

  

 

       

       

         

 

 

 

          

       

    

     

  

 

          

      

      

     

       

      

    

      

         

   

 

 

	  STATE  OF CALIFORNIA 

DEPARTMENT  OF  INSURANCE  

Dave Jones, Insurance Commissioner  

ADMINISTRATION  AND  LICENSING  SERVICES  BRANCH  

300  CAPITOL  MALL,  16TH   FLOOR  

SACRAMENTO,  CA   95814  

www.insurance.ca.gov 

NOTICE 

January 12, 2018 

To All Admitted Insurers, Surplus Line Brokers, and Other Interested Parties 

2017 TAX RETURN INFORMATION 

The 2017 tax filing for Surplus Line Brokers is due to the California Department of Insurance 

(CDI) on March 1, 2018, and the annual tax filing for Insurers is due on April 1, 2018, except 

for the Ocean Marine insurance tax filing, which is due on June 15, 2018. Important tax filing 

information is as follows: 

 	 Each  insurer  or  surplus line  broker  is  required  to file  a tax return  for  all  business  

transacted  during the  preceding calendar  year.  Please  note that if you had no 

business transacted in 2017  or you started your business in 2017, you are  still required to 

file  a  tax  return by  the  appropriate required due  date.  (California  Revenue  and  Taxation 

Code  section 12302 and California Insurance  Code  section 1774)   For surplus line  

brokers with no taxable premiums to report, please  use  CDI’s tax  return CDI  FS-006-0 

(REVISED 10/2017).  Note: Individually  licensed and endorsed surplus line  brokers  

who transact or write  business on  behalf of a  surplus line  broker organization  are  no  

longer  required to file  a  Zero Premium Tax Return.  For  more  details, please  refer to  

the  Zero Premium  Tax Returns and Reporting Requirements Notice  posted  on  CDI’s  

website.    

	 Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar 

year was twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) or more is required to make quarterly 

prepayments or monthly installment payments for the current calendar year. 

Specifically, if your 2017 tax liability was $20,000 or more, you are required to make the 

quarterly prepayments or monthly installment payments for 2018.  

	 Each insurer or surplus line broker whose annual tax for the preceding calendar 

year was more than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) is required to make payment 

by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). Specifically, if your 2017 tax liability exceeded 

$20,000, you are required to make all 2018 tax payments (monthly, quarterly, and 

annual) by EFT. To avoid delay in processing your EFT payments, it is critical that you 

provide the correct Taxpayer Identification Number, tax type code, and tax due date in 

your EFT transaction. If you need assistance with establishing an EFT account or 

experience any problems with making your EFT payment by the required due dates, 

please contact us at (916) 492-3288 prior to the payment due date to avoid any potential 

penalty assessment. (California Revenue and Taxation Code section 12602 and California 

Insurance Code sections 12976.5 and 1775.8) 

Insurance Protection for All Californians 

Consumer Hotline (800) 927-4357 (HELP) * Licensing Hotline (800) 967-9331 

http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0250-insurers/0300-insurers/0100-applications/tax-forms-instruct-and-info/2013/upload/2013SLBZeroPremiumNotice.doc
http://www.insurance.ca.gov
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January 12, 2018 

	 Please provide a contact person’s e-mail address on your tax return to ensure that your 

company receives the latest tax updates from CDI. 

	 Please file only one (1) original tax return form with CDI. 

Tax Forms  

All 2017  Tax  Forms, Instructions and Information  are  available on CDI’s  website.  To obtain 

“Tax  on Insurers  Law,”  please  refer to www.boe.ca.gov  and under “Forms  &  Pubs,”  select  

“Business Tax  Law Guide,”  then under “Table of  Contents,”  access Volume 4, Tax  on Insurers.   

If you are unable to access the CDI website, prefer to obtain a hard copy of a tax form, or have 

any questions regarding tax payments, please contact us at (916) 492-3288. 

/s/ Julia Cross 

JULIA B. CROSS, DEPUTY COMMISSIONER 

http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0250-insurers/0300-insurers/0100-applications/tax-forms-instruct-and-info/index.cfm
http://www.boe.ca.gov/



