State of California Department of Insurance

## **QUARTERLY TAX PREPAYMENT**

CIA T-4A (REV 10/03)

COMPANY NAME, ADDRESS			ERMANENT CAL NUMBER TELEPHONE NU	!		SEPTEMBER 15th for	PPROPRIAT SECOND QUAI THIRD QUAI FOURTH QU	JARTER RTER
METHOD OF PAYMENT:			PREPAYMENT DUE FOR YEAR 20					
Check	Electronic Funds Transfer	OR	Payment \ Only	Voucher	F	PRIOR YEAR TAX LIABILITY	\$	
Mail to: State of California Department of Insurance Tax Accounting Unit	Mail to: State of California Department of Insurance Tax Accounting Unit				_	PREPAYMENT DUE QUARTER, 20 (25% of Prior Year Tax Liability)	\$	
P.O. Box 1918 Sacramento, CA 95812-1918	300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1400 Sacramento, CA 95814			Make check payable to "CONTROLLER, STATE OF CALIFORNIA". I certify that the above is a true and correct declaration.				
					Sig	gnature of Officer		Date

## **CALIFORNIA REVENUE & TAXATION CODE PROVISIONS**

The amount of each prepayment shall be 25 percent of the amount of the annual insurance tax liability reported on the return of the insurer for the preceding calendar year.

In establishing the prepayment amount of an insurer who has acquired the business of another insurer, the amount of tax liability of the acquiring insurer reported for the preceding calendar year shall be deemed to include the amount of tax liability of the acquired insurer reported for that year.

The Commissioner may relieve an insurer of its obligation to make prepayments where the insurer establishes to the satisfaction of the Commissioner that either the insurer has ceased to transact insurance in this state, or the insurer's annual tax for the current year will be less than five thousand dollars (\$5,000).

## IMPORTANT INFORMATION

- \* It is the insurer's responsibility to compute and remit the amount of prepayment due. No other notification will be sent to the insurer as a reminder of the due date.
- \* Keep this voucher(s) and check(s) in a safe place and be mindful of the due dates.
- \* Every Insurer whose annual tax liability for the preceding calendar year was five thousand dollars (\$5,000) or more is required to make guarterly prepayments and submit this voucher to the current calendar year.
- \* Complete and send this voucher with your 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Quarter Prepayments only.
- \* Prepare separate voucher(s) and check(s) for each company of an insurance group.
- \* Please indicate company's current telephone number.
- \* If you are mandated or have voluntarily elected to pay by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), you must use the EFT method of payment. <u>EFT users are still required to submit this voucher.</u>
- \* Revenue and Taxation Code Section 12258: Any insurer who fails to pay any prepayment within the time required shall pay a penalty of 10 percent of the amount of the required prepayment, plus interest at the modified adjusted rate per month, or fraction thereof, established pursuant to Section 6591.5, from the due date of the prepayment until the date of payment but not for any period after the due date of the annual tax. Assessments of prepayment deficiencies may be made in the manner provided by deficiency assessments of the annual tax.
- \* The prepayment amount of the amended tax return will remain unchanged from the original amount, which is based on the original annual tax return as filed and processed by the Department of Insurance. Record the actual amount paid.