
 
 

   
   

   
 

  
    

 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
  

 

 

 
  

 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA Dave Jones, Insurance Commissioner 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION & LICENSING SERVICES BRANCH 

PRODUCER LICENSING BUREAU 

320 CAPITOL MALL 

SACRAMENTO, CA 95814 
(800) 967-9331 
FAX (916) 327-6907 
www.insurance.ca.gov 

NOTICE - Revised 

TO: Public Adjusters, Insurers and Other Interested Parties 

DATE: December 15, 2016 

SUBJECT: New Public Adjuster License Law 

Background 
On September 29, 2016, Governor Brown signed Senate Bill (SB) 488 (Chapter 833, Statutes of 
2016).  SB 488 becomes law on January 1, 2017.  SB 488 amends the Public Insurance 
Adjusters Act, Section 15000 et seq. of the California Insurance Code (CIC) to align California law with 
the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s model act for public adjusters and clarifies other 
provisions in the public adjuster statutes.  You may view SB 488 by accessing the following link:  
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB488.  

Specifically, the amendments to Section 15000 et seq. of the CIC consist of the following: 

For public adjuster license applicants: 
 Requires 20-hours of prelicensing education that must be met prior to the issuance of the 

license. 
 Exempts non-resident applicants from the prelicensing education and examination 

requirements if the non-resident applicant’s out-of-state license is current or was canceled 
within 90 calendar days. 

 Allows an applicant who resides in another state that does not license public adjusters to 
designate California as his or her home state.  

 Provides that applicants who were licensed as Apprentice Public Adjusters (formally known as 
Interim Public Adjusters) for 12 months can satisfy the two-year experience requirement. 

 Requires that the photographs submitted with the application cannot be older than six months. 
 Amends the public adjuster contract language (refer to first bullet under licensees). 

For licensees: 
 Makes minor revisions to the public adjuster contracts that must be approved by the California 

Department of Insurance (CDI). The revised contract and the instructions for submitting the 
revised contracts to CDI are shown on the following link:  https://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-
industry/0050-renew-license/0200-requirements/upload/Public_Insurance_Adjuster_Contract.pdf  
Failure to submit the revised contracts to CDI by the due date of March 31, 2017 will be referred 
to CDI’s Legal Branch. 

 Makes minor revisions to the disclosure document that must be provided to the insured 
prior to signing the public adjuster contract.  The revised language for the disclosure 
document is available at this link:  https://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0050-
renew-license/0200-requirements/upload/DISCLOSURE.pdf 

Licensing Hotline (800) 967-9331 

https://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0050
https://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB488
http:www.insurance.ca.gov
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 Prohibits a public adjuster from contacting/soliciting a consumer during a disaster if any of the 
following conditions exist: (a) the emergency is still present; (b) emergency responders are still 
present and/or (c) an evacuation order is still in effect. 

 Prohibits a public adjuster’s fee, commission, or other valuable consideration to cause 
the insured to receive less than any amount paid to the insured by the insurer prior to the 
date of the written contract between the insured and the public adjuster. 

 Changes the timeframe that a consumer may cancel a public adjuster contract, for claims 
involving a catastrophic disaster, from three business days to five calendar days.   

If you have any questions regarding this notice, please e-mail the Producer Licensing Bureau at 
https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/pli/servlet/InformationRequest or call CDI's Producer Licensing 
Adjuster Unit at (916) 492-3085. Please be sure to include your name, telephone number, license 
number and e-mail address in all correspondence with the CDI. 

https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/pli/servlet/InformationRequest

