

RICARDO LARA CALIFORNIA INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

NOTICE

- **TO:** Prelicensing Education Providers and Other Interested Parties
- **FROM:** Holly Kinney, Chief, Curriculum and Officer Review Bureau
- DATE: September 7, 2021
- RE: Revised Educational Objectives

The California Department of Insurance (CDI) recently approved the Commissioner-appointed Curriculum Board's revisions to the following Educational Objectives (EOs):

- Property
- Casualty
- Personal Lines
- Limited Lines Automobile Agent
- Commercial Insurance

The revised EOs include new curriculum on wildfire and pet insurance laws, which are available on CDI's <u>Prelicensing Educational and Examination Objectives</u> webpage.

On Monday, December 6, 2021, CDI will launch updated license examination questions based on the revised EOs. To prepare students for the updated questions, prelicensing education providers who have active property, casualty, personal lines, limited lines automobile agent, and/or commercial insurance prelicensing courses are required to update their training material and begin teaching from the revised EOs on or before **Monday**, **November 15, 2021**.

Instructions for Renewing an Existing Prelicensing Course to Meet the New Eos

Due to the substantial revisions made to these EOs, prelicensing education providers must submit their updated course curriculum at the time they renew these courses.

The following are the required items to be submitted to CDI:

- 1) A completed provider course renewal letter;
- 2) A renewal filing fee of \$41 for each course;
- 3) Updated prelicensing course materials; and,
- 4) A document that cross references your updated training material to the revised EOs to ensure the course renewal can be processed in a timely manner.

Instructions for Submitting a New Prelicensing Course

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE PROTECT • PREVENT • PRESERVE Curriculum and Officer Review Bureau 320 Capitol Mall Sacramento, California 95814 (916) 492-3064 Revised Educational Objectives Page 2 September 7, 2021

Effective immediately, prelicensing education providers submitting a new property, casualty, personal lines, limited lines automobile, and/or commercial insurance prelicensing course or courses must submit the following items to CDI:

- 1) A completed Prelicensing/Continuing Education Program Course Approval Application, <u>LIC 446-3</u>, for each course;
- 2) A filing fee of \$83 for each course;
- 3) Prelicensing course materials; and,
- 4) A document that cross references your training material to the revised EOs for a timely review of your new prelicensing course.

For any questions regarding this Notice or to receive a copy of the edited versions of the revised EOs, please email CDI's Curriculum and Officer Review Bureau at <u>CDI.Education@insurance.ca.gov</u> or contact the Curriculum and Officer Review Bureau's Education Unit at (916)492-3064.