## **Eight-Hour Annuity Training Outline**

## **Attachment III**

## Penalties Defined (Section 782, 786, 789.3, 1738.5, 10509.910 et seq. of the CIC)

California Insurance Code	Violation	Penalty	
Section 782 Establishes penalties for violation of section 780 and section 781	Section 780 - Prohibited Misrepresentation Section 781 - Twisting (see page 3 for actual language)	Punishable by fine not to exceed \$25,000, or if victim loss exceeds \$10,000, the fine not to exceed 3 times the loss suffered by the victim, by imprisonment not to exceed 1 year or by both a fine and imprisonment  Restitution to victim pursuant to Section 1202.4 of the Penal Code shall be satisfied before any fine imposed by this section is collected	
Section 786 Provides for an examination period of 30 days after the receipt of the policy or certificate for purposes of review of the contract	no violations or penalties cited in the (see page 3 for actual language)	nis section	
Section 789.3 Administrative penalties; amounts; rescission of contracts	Section 789.3:  (a) and (b) by broker, agent, or other person engaged in the transactions of insurance other than an insurer (see page 4 for actual language)  (d) and (e) by insurer	789.3(a) minimum \$1,000 for the first violation  789.3(b) minimum \$5,000 and no more than \$50,000 each subsequent violation  789.3(c) Commissioner may suspend or revoke license  789.3(d) \$10,000 for the first violation  789.3(e) minimum \$30,000 and no more than \$300,000 each violation thereafter  789.3(f) Commissioner may require rescission of contract	

Section 1668.1 Acts that constitute cause to suspend re revoke any permanent license issued pursuant to this chapter	no violations or penalties cited in the (see page 5 for actual language)	his section			
Section 1738.5 A proceeding held pursuant to section 1668, 1668.5, 1738, 1739, or 12921.8	no violations or penalties cited in this section (see page 5 for actual language)				
Section 10509.9 Administrative penalties:	Section 10509.9:  (a) and (b) by any agent or other person or entity engaged in the business of insurance other than an insurer (see page 6 for actual language)  (c) and (d) by insurer (see page 6 for actual language)  (e) by person or entity after a hearing (see page 6 for actual language)	10509.9 (a) \$1,000 for the first violation  10509.9 (b) minimum \$5,000 and no more than \$50,000 each subsequent violation  10509.9 (c) \$10,000 for the first violation  10509.9 (d) minimum \$30,000 and no more than \$300,000 each violation thereafter  10509.9 (e) the Commissioner may suspend or revoke the license			
Section 10509.916 Insurer responsibilities	violations and penalties to be deter (see page 7 for actual language)	rmined			

## **Current Law**

This list includes the statutes stated in SB 618 and the penalty statute from AB 689 (Chapter 295, Statutes of 2011) Insurance: annuity transactions, Section 10509.914 of the California Insurance Code, which will take effect on January 1, 2012.

**Section 780:** An insurer or officer or agent thereof, or an insurance broker or solicitor shall not cause or permit to be issued, circulated or used, any statement that is known, or should have been known, to be a misrepresentation of the following:

- (a) The terms of a policy issued by the insurer or sought to be negotiated by the person making or permitting the misrepresentation.
- (b) The benefits or privileges promised thereunder.
- (c) The future dividends payable thereunder.

**Section 781:** (a) A person shall not make any statement that is known, or should have been known, to be a misrepresentation (1) to any other person for the purpose of inducing, or tending to induce, such other person either to take out a policy of insurance, or to refuse to accept a policy issued upon an application therefor and instead take out any policy in another insurer, or (2) to a policyholder in any insurer for the purpose of inducing or tending to induce him or her to lapse, forfeit or surrender his or her insurance therein.

(b)A person shall not make any representation or comparison of insurers or policies to an insured which is misleading, for the purpose of inducing or tending to induce him or her to lapse, forfeit, change or surrender his or her insurance, whether on a temporary or permanent plan.

**Section 782:** Any person who violates the provisions of Section 780 or 781 is punishable by a fine not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars (\$25,000), or in a case in which the loss of the victim exceeds ten thousand dollars (\$10,000), by a fine not exceeding three times the amount of the loss suffered by the victim, by imprisonment in a county jail for a period not to exceed one year, or by both a fine and imprisonment. Restitution to the victim ordered pursuant to Section 1202.4 of the Penal Code shall be satisfied before any fine imposed by this section is collected.

**Section 786**: All disability insurance and life insurance policies and certificates offered for sale to individuals age 65 or older in California shall provide an examination period of 30 days after the receipt of the policy or certificate for purposes of review of the contract, at which time the applicant may return the contract. The return shall void the policy or certificate from the beginning, and the parties shall be in the same position as if no contract had been issued. All premiums paid and any policy or membership fee shall be fully refunded to the applicant by the insurer or entity in a timely manner.

- a) For the purposes of this section a timely manner shall be no later than 30 days after the insurer or entity issuing the policy or certificate receives the returned policy or certificate.
- b) If the insurer or entity issuing the policy or certificate fails to refund all of the premiums paid, in a timely manner, then the applicant shall receive interest on the paid premium at the legal rate of interest on judgments as provided in Section 685.010 of the Code of Civil Procedure. The interest shall be paid from the date the insurer or entity received the returned policy or certificate.

- (c) Each policy or certificate shall have a notice prominently printed in no less than 10-point uppercase type, on the cover page of the policy or certificate and the outline of coverage, stating that the applicant has the right to return the policy or certificate within 30 days after its receipt via regular mail, and to have the full premium refunded.
- (d) In the event of any conflict between this section and Section 10127.10 with respect to life insurance, the provisions of Section 10127.10 shall prevail.
- **Section 789.3:** (a) Any broker, agent, or other person or other entity engaged in the transactions of insurance, other than an insurer, who violates this article is liable for an administrative penalty of no less than one thousand dollars (\$1,000) for the first violation.
- (b) Any broker, agent, other person, or other entity engaged in the business of insurance, other than an insurer, who engages in practices prohibited by this article a second or subsequent time or who commits a knowing violation of this article, is liable for an administrative penalty of no less than five thousand dollars (\$5,000) and no more than fifty thousand dollars (\$50,000) for each violation.
- (c) If the commissioner brings an action against a licensee pursuant to subdivision (a) or (b) and determines that the licensee may reasonably be expected to cause significant harm to seniors, the commissioner may suspend his or her license pending the outcome of the hearing described in subdivision (c) of Section 789.
- (d) Any insurer who violates this article is liable for an administrative penalty of ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) for the first violation.
- (e) Any insurer who violates this article with a frequency as to indicate a general business practice or commits a knowing violation of this article, is liable for an administrative penalty of no less than thirty thousand dollars (\$30,000) and no more than three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) for each violation.
- (f) The commissioner may require rescission of any contract found to have been marketed, offered, or issued in violation of this article.
- **Section 1668.1**: (a) The licensee has induced a client, whether directly or indirectly, to cosign or make a loan, make an investment, make a gift, including a testamentary gift, or provide any future benefit through a right of survivorship to the licensee, or to any of the persons listed in subdivision (e).
- (b) The licensee has induced a client, whether directly or indirectly, to make the licensee or any of the persons listed in subdivision (e) a beneficiary under the terms of any intervivos or testamentary trust or the owner or beneficiary of a life insurance policy or an annuity policy.
- (c) The licensee has induced a client, whether directly or indirectly, to make the licensee, or a person who is registered as a domestic partner of the licensee, or is related to the licensee by birth, marriage, or adoption, a trustee under the terms of any intervivos or testamentary trust. However, if the licensee is also licensed as an attorney in any state, the licensee may be made

a trustee under the terms of any intervivos or testamentary trust, provided that the licensee is not a seller of insurance to the trustor of the trust.

- (d) The licensee, who has a power of attorney for a client has sold to the client or has used the power of attorney to purchase an insurance product on behalf of the client for which the licensee has received a commission.
- (e) Subdivisions (a) and (b) shall also apply if the licensee induces the client to provide the benefits in those subdivisions to the following people:
- (1) A person who is related to the licensee by birth, marriage, or adoption.
- (2) A person who is a friend or business acquaintance of the licensee.
- (3) A person who is registered as a domestic partner of the licensee.
- (f) This section shall not apply to situations in which the client is:
- (1) A person related to the licensee by birth, marriage, or adoption.
- (2) A person who is registered as a domestic partner of the licensee.

**Section 1738.5:** A proceeding held pursuant to Section 1668, 1668.5, 1738, 1739, or 12921.8 that involves allegations of misconduct perpetrated against a person age 65 or over shall be held within 90 days after receipt by the department of the notice of defense, unless a continuance of the hearing is granted by the department or the administrative law judge. When the matter has been set for hearing, only the administrative law judge may grant a continuance of the hearing. The administrative law judge may, but need not, grant a continuance of the hearing, only upon finding the existence of one or more of the following:

- (a) The death or incapacitating illness of a party, a representative or attorney of a party, a witness to an essential fact, or of the parent, child, or member of the household of any of these persons, when it is not feasible to substitute another representative, attorney, or witness because of the proximity of the hearing date.
- (b) Lack of notice of hearing as provided in Section 11509 of the Government Code.
- (c) A material change in the status of the case where a change in the parties or pleadings requires postponement, or an executed settlement or stipulated findings of fact obviate the need for hearing. A partial amendment of the pleadings shall not be good cause for continuance to the extent that the un-amended portion of the pleadings is ready to be heard.
- (d) A stipulation for continuance signed by all parties, or their authorized representatives, that is communicated with the request for continuance to the administrative law judge no later than 25 business days before the hearing.
- (e) The substitution of the representative or attorney of a party upon showing that the substitution is required.
- (f) The unavailability of a party, representative, or attorney of a party, or witness to an essential fact, due to a conflicting and required appearance in a judicial matter if, when the hearing date was set, the person did not know and could neither anticipate nor at any time avoid the conflict,

and the conflict, with the request for continuance, is immediately communicated to the administrative law judge.

- (g) The unavailability of a party, a representative or attorney of a party, or a material witness due to an unavoidable emergency.
- (h) Failure by a party to comply with a timely discovery request if the continuance request is made by the party who requested the discovery.

**Section 10509.9:** (a) Any agent or other person or entity engaged in the business of **insurance**, other than an insurer, who violates this article is liable for an administrative penalty of no less than one thousand dollars (\$1,000) for the first violation.

- (b) Any agent or other person or entity engaged in the business of insurance, other than an insurer, who engages in practices prohibited by this chapter a second or subsequent time or who commits a knowing violation of this article, is liable for an administrative penalty of no less than five thousand dollars (\$5,000) and no more than fifty thousand dollars (\$50,000) for each violation.
- (c) Any insurer who violates this article is liable for an administrative penalty of ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) for the first violation.
- (d) Any insurer who violates this article with a frequency as to indicate a general business practice or commits a knowing violation of this article, is liable for an administrative penalty of no less than thirty thousand dollars (\$30,000) and no more than three hundred thousand dollars (\$300,000) for each violation.
- (e) After a hearing conducted in accordance with Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 11400) and Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code, the commissioner may suspend or revoke the license of any person or entity that violates this article.
- (f) Nothing in this section shall be deemed to affect any other authority provided by law to the commissioner.

**Section 10509.916:** (a) An insurer is responsible for compliance with this article. If a violation occurs, either because of the action or inaction of the insurer or its insurance producer, the commissioner may, in addition to any other available penalties, remedies, or administrative actions, order any or all of the following:

- (1) An insurer to take reasonably appropriate corrective action for any consumer harmed by the insurer's, or by its insurance producer's, violation of this article.
- (2) A managing general agent or an insurance producer to take reasonably appropriate corrective action for any consumer harmed by the insurance producer's violation of this article.
- (3) Penalties and sanctions pursuant to Section 10509.9. For purposes of Section 10509.9, this article shall be deemed to be part of Article 8 (commencing with Section 10509), and the

commissioner may in a single of subsequent violation.	enforcement action s	seek penalties for a	first and a second	or